We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOM DREAMY ocean breezy DEAL”
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doryman's Inn
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AWESOM DREAMY ocean breezy DEAL”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room #5 was great, actually all the rooms are wonderful and most have awesom ocean views, laying on my bed gazing at the blue ocean, early afternoon sun twinkling on the horizon, sailboats cruzing, a PERFECT slight cool breeze hitting my face, ahhhhhhhhh, if not for a palm tree I woulda thought I was on a private yacht ! MaryAnn was great, her European accent added to the Victorian ambiance. ok now, you have to understand this is a HISTORIC VICTORIAN HOTEL, so some things are going to be old but this adds to the charm , the antique books smell old...hmm cause their old ! everything is very very clean which surprised me, bed was very comfy , small rooms but that's what they had back in the day, fireplace was romantic... our first nite we actually went to sleep bout 930 pm , we NEVER sleep that early,and slept like babies listening to waves crash, every so often we could hear people near the street but no biggie, fri or sat nite might be different though. free parking is great...free breakfast was yum, quiche etc. sooooo many restaurants to choose :) heres our secrets.. rocknbaja lobster downstairs get one of their seafood buckets, we get the shrimp bucket $19 enough for 3 people, killer tacos.. Oceanfront21 is superb if you want gormet YUM. down the street BlueWaterGrill saltnpepper shrimp deal ! rent bikes 2 hours and go catch ferry over to the candy store. anyways back to hotel, nothing like it ANYWHERE in so cal, I felt like the movie Somewhere In Time with Christopher Reeve/ Jane Seymour , cept MY wife is more beautiful ! we toured a few other popular hotels and I would NEVER stay at some. cant wait to come back

Room Tip: actually allllll the ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodyNews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We took advantage of the special room/dinner package for our anniversary. We have previously dined at 21 Oceanfront and it is always great. The hotel is on top of the restaurant. It is very quaint and the rooms we viewed were very nice. I recommend the rooms in the front (1-7?) with an ocean view - it is spectacular. Front desk was very helpful and nice. One issue this hotel has on occasion is noise from the street when the bars let out. Our room was great except for the kids that parked under our window at 3 AM and hung out for an hour or two. Closing the windows helped a lot but it was still annoying. All in all it was a great romantic getaway. Being right on the beach we could walk for miles in either direction. I expect the Fall/Winter is the best time because there are less people (this beach is popular in summer). Breakfast is not that great but that was not one of our criteria.

Room Tip: Chose ocean view rooms in front. 1-3 are probably best because no one can park underneath your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdgirl_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Perhaps my husband and I didn't understand the charm that others have found in this B&B. The location was great, only steps to the beach, and there are many places to eat and drink close. The front desk person was welcoming but the overall decor both in the public spaces and in the rooms are several decades past their prime. The room rate did include free parking, wi-fi and breakfast which made the victorian explosion decor more acceptable. We had drinks in the bar below the hotel and had a terrific time there...Katie the bartender was a local and provided much information about old Newport Beach and the Inn. Apparently it is "always" full and people return year after year to stay here. I will say it was a unique experience and we may bring other back just to share it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Bellagio" room....it was large and the bed was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The purpose of our trip was relaxation. The Inn has an old Otis elevator, which opens to a lovely reception area. They had put us in a beach front room. It was extremely charming with antique furniture, a very romantic comfortable canopy bed, and wonderful Italian marble shower. Our three windows overlooked their 5 star restaurant, 21 Oceanfront, and the beach. We loved the cool ocean breeze which blew into our windows every day. I worked in the room a few hours every day and found it refreshing to have such a beautiful view to look at. Despite all of the warnings of previous guests, we left the windows open the first night. Between the traffic, loud bars, shouting bar patrons and horns honking...we got very little sleep. The next two nights we closed the windows, the shades and the curtains. And we wore earplugs. Voila! Perfectly peaceful nights of sleep. The in-room gas fireplace was very cozy. Our room had a flat screen tv. We ate the complimentary expanded continental breakfast one morning. They served assorted bagels, cream cheese, coffee, orange juice, hard boiled eggs, and even brought up some freshly made mini quiches for us late comers. We ate on the small outdoor patio with an ocean view. They also have a small indoor eating area. The rooftop deck was locked most of the time. Not sure why. The view is great up there. This is a really convenient location as we could walk to the ocean, the pier, restaurants, shopping and never leave the free parking lot that Doryman's provides. Andrea and Marion were friendly and helpful. There are some spirits here. So it is good for paranormal investigations, if you enjoy that. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Best views are ocean front rooms. Quiet nights are best had in the alley facing rooms. The front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Doryman's this past Labor Day weekend (Aug 31- Sept 3) and from the moment we arrived until the very last second we were there - our experience was great!! Maryann (hope I am spelling it correctly) greeted us at the front desk and was such a nice friendly lady. I'm sorry i did not get the chance to say good bye to her (that's how sweet she was). Our check-in was smooth and fast and in a few minutes we were downstairs having a few cold ones at Blackie's with some of my fiance's friends. We had Room #3 which was a great room and the view.....amazing to wake up to every morning!!! I truly loved the service at the Doryman's because they accommodated on every aspect, especially upon our check out. We had a 9pm flight that Tuesday, but as you know hotel check outs are usually 11am/12pm. Doryman's worked with us and let us use another room that was not booked to store our luggage while we took advantage of the last hours we had in Newport AND so we could shower. Even if the room they let us use was booked, they still would have provided a guest room/shower with no problem. I would highly recommend Doryman's for its service, quaint rooms, their balconies/rooftop and last but not least...their location!!! They are located exactly where you want to be....unless you were to rent a house or something, but we're talking hotels here. If I ever return to Newport, I would definitely stay at Doryman's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We celebrated one of the decade anniversaries and the Doryman's Inn is a fabulous place with great appeal, ambiance, service and location in Newport Beach. Great area for dining, wining, beaching, local shopping and snacking.

The Doryman's Inn is attached to the restaurant "21" that is superb with access to your room and a quaint patio for evening sipping and a quick breakfast (comp).
We loved the experience and service. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and great. Key is if you want direct access to the patio for the early par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My best friend Kim and I spent tuesday through friday here for our annual birthday trip. I don't know why some people are never satisfied from other reviews. We had room 5 and it has 2 windows overlooking the ocean and pier. The staff bent over backwards if we needed anything like ice. The bed was sooo comfy and sheets were soft as a baby's butt! Great people watching! We slept fine despite life going on outside. Close to everything. I will def be back. I live in yorba linda ca but its nice to spend time at the beach. With houses on oceanfront charging 5 grand a week why not just stay here?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BELVEDEREGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.2 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little inn By The Bay
Little inn By The Bay
#16 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Property: Doryman's Inn
Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing