We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doryman's Inn
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a fabulous retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights at the beach on the way to another destination. i was definitely in awe. This is a beautiful Inn a stone's throw from the beach. I have a fetish for everything antique (and my husband knows this), so I was in total bliss. The service was great, the breakfast was perfect. The only thing amiss for me was a fluffy bathrobe. I don't usually pack one knowing most hotels will have one for me. This would have been greatly appreciated.

Thank you for the fabulous two days!

Oh, and parking for unloading is right in front of the hotel. They will direct you to a safe parking lot just a block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
5
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I stayed here with my wife for an overnight getaway. I grew up in the area and was never even aware it was here! However we were extremely happy with our visit. The room was extremely well decorated, the views were awsome, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom shower (always a biggie with me!) had plenty of pressure and hot water. The manager (?) who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, even showing us some of the other rooms available as each room is individual and decorated with a different motif.

The 'breakfast' was definitly European style (basically toast, bagels and cereal) but it was just fine with us, as it was located in a tastefully decorated breakfast room and balcony overlooking the pier.

The night club across the way did make it noisy, but if you want a room on the boardwalk at a popular beach, you should be willing to take the noise that is sure to go with it. We certainly didn't mind, even enjoyed listening to the crowds, but if that sort of thing bothers you they have rooms on the inside that are larger and more soundproof.

The only downside I can bring up is the price. It seemed a wee high, but you also have to consider the location.

Room Tip: Room 1 has probably the best view in the house as it is right on the corner so has about 6 windows f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My 8 yr old, my husband & I stayed here for 2 night (Sat & Sun). We went through Expedia and got a great deal. Knocked off $30 on the room rate. Upon inquring, I spoke with Andrea & she recommended room #4 bec it had a door to a semi-private balcony. She reported that room 8 is the noisiest. This golden information made our trip memorable ( in a good way). The sitting room has a fireplace, a table for two, a mirrored dresser and a day bed w/ add'al pull out matress. The king bed is open to the sitting room and this is the only room for tv access. The bay window serves as a seat but not comfy. The balcony access is shared by another room. Breakfast was easier access bec of this. Open view of parking lot, partial ocean and across from a busy bar. Ear plugs helps! Our fav part about brkfst was the quiche. Great vacation. Wifi worked just fine for us.

Room Tip: Suite #4 is highly recommended. Antique-style but not in a creepy. We saw #8 - large suite, has ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azpam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the Doryman's Inn and we just loved it!! We stayed in room 9, it was small for the amount payed per night but, it had a door that opened to the balcony where we were able to sit at any time to relax and enjoy the sites of Newport Beach. It also allowed us to have friends over to sit, get reacquainted and not feel shut in the room!!! Staff very helpful and friendly and location was great and if you are lite sleeper ask for another room away from the street!!! Though I enjoyed the atmosphere!! Go and eat at the Il Faro restaurant quint and good service...and after go to the Blue Beet Bar a few doors down for live music, dancing and drinks!!!
Down side the wifi is bad!!!! But the fireplace in the room made it worth while putting up with it!!!

Room Tip: Room 9 has a privet door that opens to balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynicCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and had a great time. We took advantage of the 'deal' that was offered in conjunction with a very special dinner at 21 Oceanfront which is located directly below the hotel. We had the corner room and had an amazing view of the pier as well as the beach. The noise from the street was a little loud, but you have to expect that when staying on the beach in Newport. It's kind of a party atmosphere. There are a lot of nice restaurants as well as beach bars nearby, so it's a great place to come and relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the beach.

Room Tip: The corner room was a bit small due to it's location at the 'point' of the hotel, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Having a window to relax in makes a big difference in Newport Beach. You can relax and look out at the ocean. We've been staying here for years and love it. Friendly staff, nearby ammenities, reserved parking all make it a great experience. Eat at Sol or Crab Cooker. BreaKfast is lacking, but go down the sidewalk to Mutt Lynches.

Room Tip: Room 8 is best. Away from noise of street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dangerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

An ideal location for enjoying the open window beach breeze and sounds. The rooms are immaculately furnished in early US antiques. In addition the beds are well kept and very comfortable. My stay was a bit out of season so most of the hotel was empty. The Continental breakfast we decent and severed near the balcony. There is complementary WiFi and decent for business work. The value is just ok based on price, but very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stratacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.2 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little inn By The Bay
Little inn By The Bay
#16 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Property: Doryman's Inn
Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing