We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay On The Top Floor Or You're Doomed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay On The Top Floor Or You're Doomed!”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This is a beautiful property at a great location (although NOT on the beach or within walking distance of the beach). There is however, one major problem. Unless your on the top floor the noise above you is simply unbearable! It sounds like an 800 pound gorilla is above you and the noise is terrible. After several calls to the front desks they assured us that they would "send someone to investigate" but that never happened. The noise persisted and we got very little sleep the whole week (we requested a top floor several times but none were available according to the staff). Unless you're guaranteed the top floor NEVER stay at this property!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TroonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    498
    147
    60
    46
See reviews for
1,031
387
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We got there around 2:30 and they let us check in early, which was great! The room was HUGE! It was a two bedroom, two bath, with a living room, dining room and full kitchen. The grounds are huge. There are two pools, basketball court, putting green, store and small bar/restaraunt. There is also a gym, a kids room and a seperate arcade. They even have activites for kids! The location was close in driving distance to the beach, golf, dining, shopping and even Disneyland and the Angels Stadium. The thing that we liked best was the the full kitchen and the thing we liked the least is that there isn't much within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdkbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We loved this hotel! It is so close to the beach and the views are gorgeous! Several different swimming pools and beautiful walking paths make for plenty of activities right on the grounds of the hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was a very nice hotel and since they had a two bedroom to two bathroom set up it was very comfortable traveling with another friend. We had plenty of room and an amazing view of the ocean. Good location as well and if your a golfer the course is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExpert0852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The rooms were not exactly what I would expect from a Marriot experience but the resort had a lot of nice amenities and the staff seemed helpful and friendly. The cons: the sofa in the living room was not at all comfortable and the master bedroom's size and layout were lacking. I also missed having a fireplace in the unit. It would have been nice to have both bedrooms with the blackout curtains. We naturally put our children in the smaller bedroom but with the noise from upstairs and the light coming in from the drawn shades, the kids were up by 7am every morning- not my idea of a relaxing vacation unless you bring the nanny. I enjoyed the double shower and the overall decore and as I mentioned previously, the resort had a lot of nice amenities and best of all it was close to the beaches.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for 7 days and had the best time! It is less than a mile from the beach with tide pools, hiking trails, big rocks to have a picnic on. You are close to everything, Fashion Island, Upscale resteraunts, Family freindly ones as well, the Supermarket. Anything and everything you might needs is just a short distance away. The Villas have heated pools, Tennis, BBQ's, Kids Arcade and much, much more. We will be going again very soon. Enjoy

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My family stayed at this property for 3 nights on a timeshare "preview package." We had a beautiful, large villa -- 2 Bedroom, 2 baths, 3 tvs, full kitchen, dining area, living area and balcony. The kids had a bedroom with a queen (maybe full?) bed and pullout sofa, TV & dresser as well as their own bathroom with tub/shower. Fully equipped kitchen was stocked with paper towels, dish soap, and dishwasher detergent. Living area had a TV and DVD player (kids/family movies are available to checkout for free - 2 per night from the activity center). Master bedroom had a king bed, tv, whirlpool tub, 2 sinks, with adjoining restroom and large glass door shower with 2 shower heads. The mini clothes washer and dryer was fantastic as we went home with clean clothes in our suitcase! (You can request extra single-load boxes of detergent from housekeeping.) We only saw 3 of the 5 swimming pools while there. There are pool tables and ping pong tables poolside as well as a giant chess/checker set.

The view of the ocean is breathtaking - especially the sunset. The beaches are not walking distance but are only about a half a mile away. We went to Crystal Cove (to park you must pay $15 - or check out a parking pass from the resort activity center for a small donation of $2-5.) It is still a bit of a walk to the beach. We enjoyed Corona del Mar more (it may have been Little Corona). We parked for free on the street and walked down the hill.

The timeshare presentation only lasted about an hour and we also received a $50 AmEx gift card to the nearby mall - Fashion Island.

There are computers available but it looked like there was a fee to use them. A free computer and printer were provided, however, to print airline boarding passes.

If you have visitors be sure to meet them at the front desk with id and purchase parking passes for them (I believe it was $2) or they can be towed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NEMVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,498 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,463 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,275 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing