We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with Newport Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dickinson, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fell in love with Newport Coast”
Reviewed December 4, 2005

I agree with the above post that guests need to understand this is an extended stay timeshare property not a hotel. There are amenties offered here that regular hotels don't have. There are tons of activities planned throughout the week for adults and kids, which proved to spread a community atmosphere throughout the property. The property is VERY large and layed out over quite a few acres. Depending on where you are staying it may be a bit of a hike to the pool but from everywhere on the property you are graced with beautiful views of the mountains and the ocean. Our rooms were more than adequate (very similar to all other Marriott Vacation Club properties). We enjoyed getting to cook breakfast together in the morning and bring it out to the patio as we looked over the ocean. This is a WONDERFUL place to come with some friends or a family looking to spend some quality time together in a luxiurious beautiful location. The luxury is in the accomodations and the views not the service. If you are looking to be waited on don't stay here, but the service they provide is more than comperable for those looking to enjoy their vacation.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank ladybug206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    502
    149
    60
    46
See reviews for
1,046
391
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2005

It's a timeshare NOT a hotel and only inexperienced travlers would criticize this place. Can't get better views, service and overall facility. December will be my 8th visit.

Helpful?
20 Thank DaisySpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2005

There is no service at this hotel; it's "self-serve" like a motel. For the price you pay ($300+), you should get real maid service and not have to put your garbage outside your door to be collected. Oh, and room service would be nice as oppose to being limited to stale pizza in their store lobby. The sheets and towels are old. No valet parking and limited convenient parking. Potential guests beware!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IAMPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

Stayed a week in October through a timeshare trade. This is definitely a timeshare. If you're expecting hotel-level service, you may not be happy. For those familiar with timeshare condos, this is towards the top level of timeshares.

The villas are wonderful - tastefully decorated with a good layout. The beds are comfortable. I felt as if I could live in this place. I really enjoyed being able to watch TV from the oversized bathtub. A small disappointment - the tub does not have jets so it is just a large soaking tub. I'm not sure why there isn't a whirlpool.

The full kitchen came in handy. Trader Joe's is nearby (south on PCH) and we don't have one back home, so we tried a lot of food from Trader Joes for dinners. I rarely have time to cook at home, so I didn't mind cooking on vacation. Trader Joe's has a lot of great fresh and frozen foods. There are a number of good restaurants nearby in Laguna Beach (try Las Brisas!) and Newport Beach. You definitely need a car, but you won't go hungry.

Check-in was OK but they couldn't accommodate an early check-in. Based on the turnover of villas and the time it must take to clean a two bedroom villa with full kitchen, I'm not surprised the villas aren't ready early.

A disappointment was the "ocean view" from the villa to which we were assigned. It was in building 1500 on the top floor. The only ocean view was a small glimpse out the bedroom window. The balcony only had a view of the trees lining the golf course. If you don't get one of the ocean view rooms in the 2XXX buildings, you probably won't see much of the ocean.

Don't think you're staying in LA - the drive from LAX to the villas is an hour without traffic delays. If you can fly into John Wayne/Orange County you'll be much, much closer. A tip - if you follow the property's directions and take the toll road, you'll need $1.50 in quarters to take the exit. There is no one on duty and the bill changer wasn't working. I quickly learned to take a different route through Newport Beach with no toll.

This is an exceptional property but it is a timeshare community. If you have the correct expectations, you'll have a comfortable stay in a beautiful villa.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Bippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

My wife and I along with our two kids (9yrs & 7yrs)spent 5 terrific nights here (Oct 9-14). The landscaping is absolutely beautiful. All rooms are 2br 2ba with 3 tv's. It's location is great. You are only 5 mins to Laguna and 10 mins to Balboa beach. The front desk has boogie boards ($10) and beach chairs ($3) that you can rent. We rented 3 boards and the lady at the front desk thought it was too much money so she only charged us for two. All staff members were great. The front desk has 3X5 index cards that they can give you with pre-printed directions to any destination you can imagine. A previuos reviewer stated that there was a $50 charge for towels and room cleaning. Not true (unless you are a time-share owner). We had fresh towels and complete room cleaning daily. We usually left $5 on the bed for our cleaning person. They do not have a restaraunt but they do have a small market with Pizza Hut and fresh Starbucks. You can also purchase items such as milk, soda, and icecream. The bathrooms had a two person tub and an oversized shower with a shower head on the front and back wall (kind of cool). Feel free to e-mail me for additional info.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank SCOTT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2005

From the minute we entered the resort we had concerns. At the desk several customers where having problems with the bill or were unhappy with there rooms. When we were finally helped the person who checked us in needed some additional training in customer service. We were so tired after traveling with a baby we overlooked these problems anxious to go to our room with a view of the ocean. After we found our room we realized that we had nothing but a view of the highway. And the noise was unreal. We had to keep our windows closed to be able to hear the TV. The bed in the master was broken. The heat did not work just blew constant cold air. We tried to make reservations to the SPA and they took 5 hours to return our call. We never did get SPA treatments. After I complained and asked for a new room they were of course all booked and did nothing for us. They told us that they would give us additional gift certificates to nearby shopping to our troubles and that never happened. We will not be returning to this Marriott. The room was nice, but the service was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2005

Our family stayed here for a week at the beginning of September. The grounds are gorgeous and the suites are very spacious and new. The master suite is nice, complete with a large tub and double shower. The location is ideal as it is close to Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, the beach, Laguna Beach, etc. They let us check in about 1/2 hour early. They brought us a gift for our baby (baby wash, lotion, etc.) which was a nice touch. They provided a crib, as well as laundry and dishwasher detergent. Our son loved the chess pieces and the koi pond, as well as the pools (there were 3 of them). You will definitely need a car if you stay here. It isn't within walking distance to anything.

Our biggest complaint is that they seem to be tremendously understaffed, and the staff they do have sounds very young, inexperienced and unprofessional. As another member noted, they only have a button for the front desk, and we always had to hold for someone. After staying at Four Seasons timeshares, the service here just did not compare. We finally called the front desk for new towels on day 4 and after an hour of waiting, we found out that the message had never reached housekeeping. It would have been easier to let it go if they had apologized.

There is currently a $50 charge for them to even come and change your sheets. Just a note - they do not empty your garbage. You put it outside your door in the morning and they come to get it.

The on-site food was lacking. There is no room service (maybe that is why they are working on a restaurant) and the Mexican food by the pool was the worst we'd ever had. Thankfully, they have real Pizza Hut pizza there. Overall, it worked for why we stayed there which was the location.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mrsjar97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,527 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,366 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing