We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still a good place for a S Cal vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“still a good place for a S Cal vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for a few days with friends at the Marriott Newport Coast Villas just this past week. We had stayed here four years ago and had enjoyed the experience. A few things have changed, namely that there are additional buildings that have added units, some with great ocean views. We stayed in the 4600 building on the third floor, and these units really have wonderful views, of the golf course and of the ocean. The setting of this place is the star of the show.

All of the units are basically double master suite condo's with full kitchens and include sofabeds in the living room, so this is a great place for a family vacation or for friends to join up for a vacation and still have some privacy in the unit. The kitchens make it possible to do breakfasts & lunches (& dinners if you want)there to save some $$, which is a great thing since the surrounding area is not known for bargain restaurants. The kitchens are equipped with plates, silverware, glasses, cutlery, a blender, toaster, and full appliances for cooking and refrigerator. There are also very nice bbq pavilions outside each building which have been upgraded since the last time we stayed here. They each have several tables with chairs, large patio umbrellas, and multiple gas barbecues.

The inside of the units is ok, I wouldn't call these luxury--but they're nice enough and generally kept in good condition, although these get enough use that the wear does begin to show. They were steam cleaning the carpet in the unit next door once the folks checked out so they do make a good effort to keep them up.

There is a main pool by the lobby which is nice and has a couple of spas and entertainment (dj, dancing with the staff, etc), and a couple of other pools nearby other buildings (this is a huge property). The main pool is the only one with food/drink service as far as I know. There are tennis courts and basketball courts, and some lawn type sports activities available.

Crystal Cove is just across the PCH from this property, with a nice beach and the venerable Beachcomber restaurant on the beach. Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, Balboa Island/Bay and even Huntington Beach are not far and are all worth checking out. There is a ton to do within easy commuting distance from the Newport Coast Villas.

This is a timeshare resort so you have to either buy weeks from current owners on one of the resale sites, reserve rooms through Marriott by the night, or if you're really in love with it you can buy a timeshare here. If you stay here you will no doubt get that opportunity.

All in all, this is still a great place as a base for a wonderful Southern California vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View, buildings 4500, 4600, 4700 are great for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    448
    131
    55
    43
See reviews for
899
334
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were here for a week in mid-July. We had a two bedroom, two bath unit on the fourth floor of the 3800 building. The property is beautiful and well maintained, with fabulous views out to the ocean and overlooking Crystal Cove.

As expected the staff at Marriott was great. The rooms are attractive and nicely decorated, with a TV in the living room and both bedrooms.

The pool area is nice, but can get busy so if you want a good location with shade and sun get out to the pool by 10 AM. Casual dining at the pool, and pizza delivery to the room, but not much else on property for dining options.

They have shuttles to a number of locations such as beaches shopping etc. if you do not want to drive.

Overall a great family vacation at a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: The 3800 and 3900 buildings are great with easy access to pool, shuttles, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I checked in late on Saturday night so didn't get any of the choice rooms and got a room in the building 1900. It is a great location for peace and quiet if you don't have any kids, but I have 4 little kids under 7 and walking up and down the staircase to go anywhere was so hard that I moved my family out of the property into a friend's house until Marriott can find me another room, at least, with an elevator access. I am getting a new room tomorrow so hopefully the new location will help.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if you can get it. If you have kids, ask for the room by the pool. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Awesome resort! Location to the main building with the pool, food and shuttle is key for people who want the resort feel. We booked last minute during high season and took the best deal we could find, which was $500-1000 less than many of the deals out on the web. This is a 700 unit property and is bigger than many of the Marriott vacation properties I've stayed at. We were in the 4600 and a big hill back from the pool....not popular with small kids or an ex runner like me who had foot surgery this year. Just look at the property Map and go for a unit near the main registration building.

We have come to So Cal many times and to book a property on the beach that is nice is very expensive and usually small. This Newport villa is not on the beach, but is spacious, clean and comfortable Marriott beds. Book immediately, because it's gorgeous in in Newport and in between my favorite US cities..Laguna and Newport Beach!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ATXhome512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Husband & I went kid free week after the 4th of July. Stunning views of ocean & property from main bldg. We were in bldg 2000 & on bottom level so had no view but we were never in room during day so no problem. We stayed for $499 on timeshare invite, presentation was just over 2 hrs & was pretty low pressure. It is a great deal for a family traveling every yr. Close to beaches & shopping/restaurants. Wish there was more breakfast/healthy food options on site. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasgal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at one of the busiest times of the year- over the July 4th holiday. The place was packed, yet we never felt uncomfortably crowded and the staff was able to remain friendly & helpful the entire stay! Not sure how they did that.
We stayed in the 3500 bldg. so that we could be close to the pool & still have some ocean view. We loved the location of the villas( away from all the town activity) & we loved the location of our room. Our room seemed a little dated & tired, but was clean & had everything we needed. It was also quiet even though it was across from the registration area.
The only disappointment was the pool bar. It was advertised in the elevator as a romantic setting overlooking the ocean. It was far from romantic. It was a loud busy pool bar, filled with crying, screaming children craving chicken nuggets and very little seating. We found it was a much more romantic setting to take our drinks over to the other side of the registration area by the fountains & enjoy the great panoramic views without the kids & the noise. Beautiful & peaceful even over the 4th.
Anyway, we enjoyed our stay here. They have a great staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The resort is amazing. There is plenty to do for all ages. The two bedroom suite that we were in was spacious and clean. We were in the 1900 building and we had a view of the ocean and the golf course (Pelican Hill). The grounds of the property were all well manicured, staff were all very friendly and very eager to help. Overall the facilities were great. Pools were perfect temp and not over crowded, grills were clean, and the kids park and tennis courts were perfect. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing