We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior Living Community at it's finest!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
BeachBum143
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Senior Living Community at it's finest!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This hotel is for old people... there is nothing fun to do without driving 20 minutes down the road. You can not go out and enjoy yourselves if you are young. There is a state beach across the street that is nothing special and you must pay to go to. There are no restaraunts or bars nearby or even at this hotel. They have a lousy pool side bar that closes at 5 pm! They claim to have HDTV's in all the rooms, but this is not the case. It feels like an apartment in the middle of nowhere. If you are under the age of 64 I reccomend you DO NOT STAY HERE. Oh and they promise you a $150 gift card if you attend a stupid timeshare presentation and that is a LIE... they give you $50. What a waste of time...

  • Liked — Nice and Clean
  • Disliked — LOCATION
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    508
    151
    61
    46
See reviews for
1,059
391
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles California USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This is a time-share property.
They call it a resort...but
It is nothing more than a Motel 6 with a kitchen and a view.
There is no restaurant or lounge.
No place for adults to relax and have a drink, or get served a meal.
Better off going to a motel in Monarch Beach or Dana Point or anywhere.
What a disappointment.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no restaurant or lounge
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler91324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

This is a great resort. Location is awesome. Views are great. Great part of town. Balboa Island is really close. The Beach is right there. They have several shopping miles within a few miles. The location and views can't be beat. The rooms are large and updated. They are clean and well decorated. The main pool is large but the hot tub for kids is tiny. I don't get that part. They have these huge pools and then this tiny hot tub. It didn't make any sense. The excersice rooms were a joke. This resort is huge and they could have a couple thousand people staying at the sametime and they have two tiny workout rooms, good luck trying to find a treadmill or some free weights. Plus, you do have to walk around the resort. It's is large but it's nice to have some grass to play on. Our kids loved the fire pit, the basketball court and the golfing area. It is fun to BBQ outside as well. The free shuttle to the beach was great. We went on Labor Day weekend and didn't have trouble getting on the bus. It seemed to work well. The beach in the area is great and if you want you can drive to several beaches in about 15 minutes. We had a good time and would go back. The parking is by far the worst part of the resort. It's hard to find a parking spot. I don't know what they can do about this problem because there is no more land to put cars. Still a fun place.

  • Liked — Location and service shuttle to beach
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blitz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Marriott Newport Coast Villas sits on 76 acres above the Newport Coast with magnificent coast views and lovely, spacious guest "villas." This is a vacation ownership property. There are four pools, each pool has a hot tub. There is one grill at the main pool; the property does not have a restaurant at this time. Cool stuff: frequent, free shuttle service to Crystal Cove state beach, Fashion Island Mall and Laguna Beach. I cannot recommend this stretch of the California coast more highly; it is exactly like the French Riviera. Perfect beach weather. At the property there is also a koi pond and a park. The landscaping is very appealing. It is, however, a rather expensive place to stay.

  • Liked — 2 bedroom, 2 bath villa; awesome coast views.
  • Disliked — It was all good.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FritziLareau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed for a week at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas in April. While we own a Marriott timeshare, and exchange for travel all over the world, we had not been to this location before. Here are a few tips.

Resort: Very large resort with buildings that are a long way from the main action at the pool and clubhouse. Recommend that you ask for a villa near the main building if you are going to be using facilities. Pools were very nice, with an adults-only pool that made it quieter for us, since we didn't have the kids with us. Villas were done in a mediterranean motif in good Marriott style, but little things like extra towels had a fee.

Newport area: You definitely need a car to get around, as the resort does not have any access to local restaurants or beach within walking distance. We had some great dining experiences in Laguna Beach, Bilbao Island and Newport Beach. We also had a convertible, which made the drives enjoyable -- highly recommended for Southern california.

Sites to see: Since we didn't have the kids, we weren't interested in Disneyland or Knott's Berry Farm. Attended the taping of some TV shows, such as Tonight Show, 2 1/2 Men. Also went to San Juan Capistrano to see the Mission -- a historical site worth seeing. Malibu and Venice Beach were surprisingly unimpressive.

While this resort and it's location are quite popular, now that we have see it, we will be going to other MVCI locations. Too many resorts, too little time!

  • Liked — Large villa, views ot the Pacific.
  • Disliked — Location was isolated, had to drive everywhere.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The Marriott villas were clean and comfortable. We had a villa close to one of the outer pools, which was very pleasant. The pool was lovely and usually fairly quiet.
The villa was well equipped and it was great to have a washer/dryer.
Loved the Newport beach area and the neighbouring Laguna Beach and Dana Point.
We had a nice stay, but for some reason the Marriott Villas felt slightly impersonal. It would probably have been great if we had been travelling with family or friends. It was a bit of a hike and a steep one at that to the beach, but it was worth the trip, quiet and beautiful.

  • Liked — Home from home comfort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toton-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Just got back from a long weekend at this resort. Located on a hillside overlooking the ocean, our villa was extremely clean and comfortable, with tons of amenities that cater to families with children both very small, and teens. Our villa had two very nicely appointed bedroom and bathrooms, with a full kitchen and living room area. The resort is very large, but regular shuttle service runs every twenty minutes to the main reception area, where you will find a marketplace complete with a full service Starbucks, two large swimming pools (though there are other pools located elsewhere on the property) an arcade, a Teens Only club, and many other amenities. The hotel provides a shuttle service on the hour to many spots of interest in Newport Beach, such as Crystal Cove and Fashion Island. They also provide shuttle service to Laguna Beach and other locations in Orange County. Large Lawns surround many of the villas, and outdoor BBQ's are shared by every 4 units. There is a large basketball court and putting green for use by kids and adults near the reception area. Overall we thought the resort was a great family destination, and very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmig222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,525 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,446 reviews
5.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing