We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful resort, beautiful location, excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful resort, beautiful location, excellent facilities”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed September 7th for one week in a top floor 2 bedroom villa (suite/apartment) in the 4700 building. Arrived at 6.00pm and check in was very quick and smoothly handled by Adam. Had requested a top floor villa/room with ocean view, and was offered top floor, canyon view prior to my arrival. There were no ocean views available. This was perfect. There are a lot of negative comments on TripAdvisor about NOT getting an ocean view. I think there are so few of the rooms built high enough to actually get an ocean view, it really isn't worth fretting over whether you get one or not. The gardens and landscaping are amazing, and absolutely beautiful. The lush trees are tall enough to 'block' ocean views from lower rooms. The resort is built on a hillside NEAR the ocean, and is not ocean front, so if you do manage to get an ocean view room, the ocean is way off in the distance anyways.
Typical Marriott Timeshare Vacation Club Resort with plenty of activities for children and teens and adults, if you want to participate in them.
The resort was fully booked when we stayed and the 3 pools were busy. However you are a few minutes walk or drive to some of SoCal best beaches.
Excellent location on the Newport Coast, literally 5 minutes drive from Laguna Beach, Corona del Mar, Newport Beach, Balboa Island, Fashion Island Mall, 15 minutes to Aliso Viejo shops and 25 minutes to The District at Tustin Mall.
The 2 bed, 2 bath villa/apartments are fully furnished to a very high standard, with washer and dryer, dishwasher, fully equipped kitchen and large balcony with table and 4 chairs.
Top floor room was very quiet, heard no noise during our stay.
Housekeeping staff helpful and pleasant.
Front Office and Concierge staff very friendly and helpful.
No high pressure selling techniques.
Overall a wonderful upmarket resort in a beautiful location. The style, architecture, grounds, landscaping, location and staff can not be faulted.
Highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing, apartment style accommodation on the Newport Coast area.

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting an ocean view room. Simply decide if you want to be close to the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    508
    151
    61
    46
See reviews for
1,059
391
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First of all this is a very large and expansive resort. The Villas feel like a community more than a hotel. If you are very heavy-set or physically unable to walk you will want to ensure your rooms are near the area of the resort you want to stay.

We enjoyed everything about this resort. They have daily activities for kiddos—fish feeding, root beer floats at the pool, s'mores at one of the many fire pits, ect. There are daily welcome drinks for the adults and they have a free shuttle that takes you to Crystal Cove and Laguna beach on the hour. Service was top notch and were treated very well.

We requested a room on the first floor near the Tide pool. The Tide pool has the kids pool. No problems at check-in and our room was ready when we got there. Great rooms—top of the line bedding, very comfortable living spaces and large bathrooms. The rooms are all 2 bedroom villas that sleep 6-8. We found the room updated and in very good shape. We read some reviews about the property being dated but we did not see that with any of the finishings in our villa. The appliances were all newer, stainless steel and the beds and carpet looked very new.

We enjoyed the size of the property. We walked all over the grounds and highly recommend doing this a few times when staying here. The views are outstanding and the hills give you good exercise. We also took advantage of the location and walked to Crystal Cove State Park. This will take you about 10 minutes-- 20 minutes if you have a 2 year-old :) Southern California is an overpopulated mess-- Crystal Cove is a nice break from that! The beach is a state park and there are no homes other than a few at the very southern point that are historic (1970s ish.) The water right off the beach can be rocky so swimming is not the best, but there are areas where you can get into the water. The walk down to the beach from the to of the cliffs can be intense and steep, so again, if you have mobility issues you may want to use the shuttle service.

The resort has an amazing main pool with a small food and drink bar. The main pool has amazing views of the pacific and many activities for families-- billiards, Ping-Pong, human sized chess and some days pool activities as well. Lounge chairs can be a premium so get there early. Daily Happy hour with great specials are nightly at the bar, but regular prices are very steep... Blender in the room :)

The villas all have kitchens and there is no restaurant on the property for dinner. Make sure to shoot up the hill to the Vons or to the Trader Joes (towards Laguna Beach) before arrival. There are tons of BBQ grills on property as well. There is a marketplace store that is open late that has pizza, breakfast, deserts, beer, movie rentals and snacks as well. The pools are open fairly late but the spas get crowded fast!

This property may be the best value in Southern California-- no parking fees, no cost for WiFi and no Resort fees. Compare that with anything from Huntington to San Clemente—it can’t be beat. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kinzCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the best family resort I have ever stayed in.
The location is nice in Newport area, which is a nice and upscale area in southern Los Angeles, although it is quite far from the tourist attractions, but if you have a car, this will not be a real issue.
The villas (apartments) are nice and spacious, all the apartments are the same, it have 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen with washing machine, and a living room.
There are a lot of activities, like some sports (mini golf, basketball, table tennis, tennis, and much more).
The kids will really like it, specially with the kids playground, the arcade room, and the swimming pools.
The only disadvantage is the all the rooms have a king size bed, no twin beds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khalid606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Really great resort. Very convenient, with all the facilities. Huge condos, fully equipped. Very clean, handled by an efficient and courteous staff. Perfect location, minutes from beach cities. Easily reachable with the PCH. Without any hesitations we will come back here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axel-Severine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Loved the room and the resort. We wish they would be more descriptive about shuttle service. We drove to Crystal Cove but once we parked and paid for shuttle service we found out Marriott Provided complimentary service. Otherwise the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_Eddie_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location of this Marriott Resort Apartments is amazing and a beautiful setting. Being a Marriott Vacation Club owner in Spain, I can't but compare it with the one in Spain. The location of the newport Beach Villas is great, The resort lacked the feeling of a gate Community as the ones in Spain, which is a bit less secure when you have kids. The main pool was way too crowded upper pool was a bit dirty with stuff floating around! the lower pool was awesome! A lack of on resort Market (one available was way to limited in what it offered), so you will have to depend on local newport store to get your things!

Service of staff was below what I expected form a Marriott resort, too busy to care about giving the top level service one would expect. Was surprised the cleaning service were not provided on daily bases, and if requested they would be chargeable. Asked for cleaning services a few times and asked for confirmation from three staff all said it is in the system and will be provided at an extra charge, but nothing happened, and had to ask again!

If you are looking for the convenience of an apartment in a great location, not bothered about staff service, and can accept on demand cleaning service that this is a great place.

Room Tip: Avoid ground level apartments as they are dark, and try to get ocean view next to lower pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your experience is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We own a Marriott Time Share and spend several days each year at this Marriott situated on the Pacific Ocean at Newport Coast.

You do not have to own a time share to rent a unit at this Marriott.

Each unit is 2 bedroom/2bath fully furnished including a washer and dryer. The units we have used all have a balcony overlooking the Pacific. There are several pools, shuffle board and other areas including a workout center and a golf course.

Nearby is Laguna Beach, down the road is San Juan Capistrano and so many other places to visit too numerous to mention. About 2 hours South is San Diego.

If we win the lotto we are moving to Newport Coast - it is to die for! Moderate Weather Year Round.

Room Tip: If you can afford to rent this vacaton villa do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,525 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,446 reviews
5.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing