We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been Marriott Vacation Club owners for about nine years. We just came back from Newport Coast Villas. It is a beautiful location but we were disappointed. It did not measure up to our experiences at other Marriott vacation club villas. There is no concierge available on the weekends and the vacation club staff are not as knowledgeable and don't seem to care. You have to pay for housekeeping services. At every other villa we've stayed at owners have mid week housekeeping with no cost. There is no welcome breakfast so no opportunity to meet with venders to see what local activities are available. They have a number of brochures available but it's not as helpful as meeting with the venders. The setting is beautiful however when you walk into the lobby the stark, cold decor is as unwelcoming as some of the staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott'sNewport Coast Villas. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort so we would appreciate an opportunity to hear about your concerns and appropriately address them. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our family stayed here for about a week in February and it was just wonderful. The villas are normally time-share I think, and whatever extras they have they rent out. Pricing is pretty steep, but we came at a lull and so snuck in for a reasonable cost for a 2-bedroom, 2-bath villa.

The property is set so that it is overlooking the ocean from afar (not immediate access to the beach, but rather well across a highway, etc.)--but the way its setup makes you feel like you are right there. The view from our balcony was amazing, and you could see the sunset every night on the Pacific.

The staff were pleasant and overall the stay was very relaxing. Though it's super far away from access to LA, it's a great location to get away from it all, but not a great location if you want to "do" a lot of things in the Los Angeles area (because then you'd be driving A LOT every day).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Close to the most charming spot I've seen in the area, and this is my fifth trip in the last 5 years. Awesome beach access with a short healthy walk, beautiful breeze off ocean reaches villas. 2br Villas are perfect with kids and kitchen was very well equipped.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolantracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I thought I wouldn't like this so much because it's so far from the beach. Loved it!
Beautiful grounds! There is a shuttle to Crystal Cove and Laguna Beach every hour, so pretty convenient. The pool is gorgeous and we spent most of our time there. I think for kids, the pools don't have a whole lot of offer for being there all day-no pool features, but there are lots of kids club things going on. (we went without kids). so I think they are ok.

Unit was typical Marriott time share-nicely laid out. We unfortunately were on the busy street so it was super noisy! We had to move to the smaller bedroom. You DO NOT want one of these units. This place is huge! we were glad we were not way at the end, but they do have smaller pools at each end of the property for convenience, but no food services.

Pool Grille typical of most resorts (don't know why no one gets creative with pool bar menus)
We went over to Ruby's on the coast for an awesome burger/fries and view!

We definetely want to go back-it's like being in another world-loved it!
No maid service though, so that's no fun.

Room Tip: Do not get building that faces the street-I think it's the 3000
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruzrmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I came with my family for trip to south Califa and decided for Newport Beach as our base.

Hotel complex is excellent. Pool, jacuzzi, mini golf, playground, green everywhere.

Apartment was pretty comfortable also. We had a two bedroom, with jacuzzi, great and well equipped kitchen, balcony and main room with sofa. 6 persons could fit easily.

Hotel has a mini market where you can buy whatever you need during your stay. It serves light meals as well as Pizza Hut and Starbucks. There is a restaurant by the pool also.

I got an apartment that I could step in and out without passing by main building. I felt like having my own apartment in Newport. Exactly what I was looking for.

Staff great but not exceptional. The floor of main bathroom needed some minor maintenance. These are the reasons why I have not rated as five stars above.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joaopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here last weekend for a wedding. It is enormous, and beautifully taken care of. There are 2 bedrooms, a living room, full kitchen with granite and stainless appliances, a dining area, and balcony in every suite. Plus 2 bathrooms, one for each bedroom. Being a fitness buff, I was impressed with the gym, with many cardio machines with personal TVs, fresh ice water, towel service, and free headsets you keep. This place is gigantic, so if you are looking for quaint, this ain't it. There were not really any restaurants on the property, and to get to one required a drive. Nothing is in walking distance, except the beach, which is across the street (Pacific Coast Highway). The pools were all very clean and beautiful, and there is ping pong, air hockey, an arcade, and teen lounge for younger folk. Also, be warned, there are lots of kids and families around the pool, so not romantic if that's what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor. Our last day, we had a family with an overactive kid above us who ran bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikingchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We wer just there when the weather was unseasonably Beautiful. The villas are done nicely, not great, but surely functional. We thought the floor plan was excellent. Two bedrooms, separated by the living room dining room so that no one was close to you. Each had its own bathroom. It actually could sleep 6 to eight because of the pullouts. We booked it through their guest reservation, but someone told me you can also book it through VRBO.com and that would save you money. if you planned to eat in the villa, it was fully stocked with everything you need to make a meal. What we didn't like is they did not have a restaurant, just a place that opened at 11 at the pool. We also thought the furniture was dated and the towels were downright cheap and flimsy. But the location was oh so beautiful! Pools, courts, basketball, things for kids. We definitely would go back with our grandchildren next time. It was wonderful!

Room Tip: We very much liked 2226, no trees blocking your view and building 4100 or 4400.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,559 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,029 reviews
5.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
505 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $273 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing