We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Short but Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Short but Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited for the first time to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas this summer. The resort grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are nice, and the hospitality is good.

Marriott cuts no corners in creating a great looking resort. I felt like I was in some small ocean side villa in Europe somewhere.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I like the full spacious kitchen that comes with each villa stocked with cooking ware and everything you would need to serve meals. Having a washer/dryer in our villa makes it very convenient to keep up with clothes, especially with kids and a reason to not have to pack so much clothes!

They had plenty of onsight activites for our family if we chose to do them. The pool was nice. I would visit Marriott Newport Coast Villas again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    462
    137
    55
    44
See reviews for
938
355
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at 1am and Daniel at front desk made us feel welcome setting us up for a great weekend. Room with full kitchen was essential for us. We had breakfast every morning. I slept on the sleeper sofa and was the best experience on a pullout sofa I have had. Great Job Marriott Vacation Club

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syd Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We got a great deal on expedia with this hotel so we didnt end up paying the full rate which was quite expensive. We stayed 7 nights here and it was amazing. The apartment was fully equipped... i was so excited to see a washing machine & dryer. The grounds are well kept and very pretty. The property is very large so you would definitely need to hire a car when in Newport. The apartment was very spacious and is close by Fashion Island & local restaurants. If offered the special rate again by expedia, i would definitely stay here again. The only thing is, on our second last day, the hotel offered a special to us which was stay an additional 3 nights for only $199.00 + tax (not per night but for the whole 3 nights) which was great but we couldnt do because we had a flight back to Sydney the following day. Our flight was departing at 10pm and check out was strictly at 10AM, so i was hoping the hotel could offer a free late check out OR even a special half day rate. I called reception and they said they could only offer half of the regular rate ($289 / 2 = $144 + tax) which would mean the late checkout would be 4pm. This kind of didnt make sense to us as they originally was offering us an additional 3 nights for $199.00 for the entire stay so paying $144.00 for an additional 6 or so hours didnt make sense and didnt decide to do the late checkout. We just left our stuff in our hire care and drove around for quite some time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelJ342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

For the price that you pay this place is amazing. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom villa that was huge and had very modern facilities at the top of the resort by the tennis courts. We were told that ours was a new villa and it was quite something. The resort has everything from 2 gyms, tennis courts, can't even count how many pools but a lot of them, b/ball court and putting green, bbq areas plus fire pits. Beautifully landscaped gardens with the most stunning views to the coast. Wanted to move in straight away. Couldn't fault any staff as they were highly professional and always smiling. We did have a car so that made traveling around to Luguna, San Diego and Disneyland easy. Great place for families or anyone wanting to go and relax and enjoy the amazing facilities and beautiful beaches this area has to offer. Overall I would give this place a ten out of ten for everything. Will be back next year for an even longer stay. Loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms by the tennis courts, gym and one of the pools are newer but really anywhere here would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberdudeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The resort is very nice, the grounds are nice, the rooms are very comfortable.
Not as clean as i would expect for this kind of resort. The carpet should be replaced. I love the salt water pool. We had to call to schedule for the room to be cleaned, it's not just on a scheduled day. No restaurant, so we had to use their pricey market to buy our food if we wanted to stay on site for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my first stay in a Marriott Vacation Club and maybe my last. Although the facilities and grounds are great the crowd staying with you in the Newport Beach club is awful.

+ Apartments: The apartments or as they call it ‘villas’ are spacious, clean and fit 8 people easily. They are equipped with decent appliances and cozy beds. From most patios you have nice views over the shore. Just try to stay away from the ground floors since I had the impression that these apartments are much darker than the ones on the upper floors.

+/- Grounds: The Marriott has several large pools with small tide pools. Some of them are stunning and very inviting but since they are packed with families and their kids you won’t find a quiet area to relax. Those looking for a relaxed day at the pool should rather stay in the Pelican Hill Resort. They won’t find any quietness at this vacation club.

In addition to the pools you have two fitness centers, several tennis courts, a putting green, basketball court, and a spa. I didn’t see the tennis courts, but the putting green was messed up with sand and toys…

On the grounds you have a restaurant that unfortunately closes around 9pm and is more a beach bar. In addition there is a market place where you can buy some snacks and supplies for your vacation.

+/- Service: The concierge service was wonderful and we were given a discount card and several info sheets about the club’s activities, restaurant recommendations etc.
When I requested a different apartment after checking into our assigned one I was able to switch without hassles to a top floor apartment.

Our stay came with the catch to attend a Marriott Vacation Club sales pitch. As I learned every guest gets an invitation and I encourage everyone to think twice before signing up for it! It takes 1.5 hours and if you do not sign up for a time-share the sales person’s friendliness get some scratches. Besides they try to take you for a fool.

Just in case you love the area of Newport Beach, Crystal Cove or Laguna Beach and are looking for a nice place to stay I recommend looking into the Crystal Cove Cottages or hotels in Laguna. If you prefer a luxurious stay take a closer look at the Pelican Hill Resort.

By the way from the Coliseum Grill at Pelican Hill you have a stunning view over the coastline. And you get outstanding food at the Bear Flag Fish Company on the Balboa Peninsula and Crystal Cove, at Nick’s in Laguna Beach, and the Summer House in Corona del Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

nice villas about a 10 minute walk to newport beach very child friendly big pool but there are no eat here at the resort but you have a kitchen in your room make sure you see the sunset down at the beach

Room Tip: a view of the newport beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing