We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Newport Coast Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marriott Newport Coast Villas”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great Time! We vacationed at the Villas the week before Easter, which was spring break for all of the families there. The place was sold out but pool still wasn't too crowded. The location was very nice, it was between Laguna and Balboa Island. If you are looking to be on the beach this isn't your place. The resort sits up on the bluffs about 1/2 mile from a state park but no beach within walking distance. The resort does offer a parking pass for the state park and a free shuttle to the beach, which is nice. But if you want the true feeling of socal go about 20 minutes north to Huntington beach and watch the surfers! Being on the bluffs the resort is hilly but offers a shuttle around the property. Rooms were nice and beds were great! We traded our timeshare week within Marriott and will do so again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Pacific are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetsatisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    492
    147
    57
    46
See reviews for
1,021
382
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is our second time here, and it is beautiful, but still not on the top of my list. The grounds are really nice with all the pools, hot tubs, BBQ grills and games, but the weather has not cooperated. Both times we were here it has been foggy and cold. We have friends who live 5 miles in at Back Bay and it is sunny there.
The 4 o'clock check in is firm, without exception. If you get there earlier, you can hang out at the pool or pool bar until 4. We bought groceries at Albertson's in Corona Del Mar, which is a little pricier than other grocery stores. We had a chilled bottle of wine we enjoyed while waiting.
Try very hard to get a top floor, the floors are thin and the stomping family above us sounded like a herd of elephants. It was too chilly to hang out on the lovely patio, but on a non foggy day it would be a relaxing place. The patio does have a outlet, so you could listen to music if you plug in your speakers.
There is free wireless internet and it is a good strong signal. All the appliances are good, the flat tv screens in all the rooms have all the channels and the living room has a dvd player. You can rent dvds at the market near the lobby. My favorite was the gym. Entertainment on all the machines, great free weights and weight machines. Walking up Newport Coast Drive is another excellent way to get good excercise,and I don't mind the cool weather when I am chugging up that hill.
There is shopping and great beaches around, if it just would be sunny.

Room Tip: Hope for a sunny day and get a top floor so you don't hear anyone walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyfreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Arrived at the Newport Coast Villas on Friday the 13th during a torrential downpour..... That was the only negative thing at the beginning which no one but mother nature can change. Which indeed the next day the sun, blue skies and beautiful views were abundant and pretty much stayed like that for the rest of our week. This was our second visit to these villas and hope there will be many more. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the ocean. Very spacious, clean and efficient unit. The grounds are amazing and all the amenities are superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenG822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Maybe I was a misfit at this property because it is simply not a business traveler's place. You cannot expect somebody to come at a place like this with work on mind. But that's exactly what I did LOL... This place is so picturesque and beautiful that you gotta be here on a vacation with family, sipping juice in the balcony overlooking the Pacific ocean and just do nothing.

Stay here is so costly that unless you're a Timeshare member, you just have to be super rich to book your stay here. And you don't get a world of amenities when you stay here. Its just basic, or maybe, even less than basic (like towels dont get replaced unless you ask). But this property is so popular just because of its location and setup.

Service is a little slow because of the sheer yardage over which rooms are spread out. Talking about the room, we had a 2-bed unit was was just marvelous. The bedrooms were in different corners of the unit so there was no disturbance or any intrusions. There were 2 good bathrooms as well. Parking/Internet is complimentary and good. Microwave, refrigerator, kitchen setup is well done.

Strange thing is popular restaurant chains dont deliver here, so its imperative to either use the hotel restaurant or drive down for whatever you need.

Honestly, I could not make full use of the entertainment options because of the primary purpose of my visit. Maybe, it could be better next time when I go on a vacation there.

Room Tip: Bedroom near the corridor has a huge glass window which kills noise insulation. People walking outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chintan_AKA_CeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Probably hard to beat the location for this property, as it sits on a cliff over looking the Pacific ocean! I had tried to reserve an ocean view room over the Easter weekend, but only got a first floor location that had a partial view. Unfortunately, if you are on any floor with someone above you, the noise of footsteps, running, and bouncing balls can get quite annoying. Not sure why they didn't insulate these rooms better. The rooms were very large (family of 5 had plenty of room). However, the appliances were not updated, seemed a bit strange as everything else seemed to be in good working order. We stayed in the 4800 building which is a little farther from the main reception area. When booking, take a quick look at the map of the property to see where you will be located. We found that you must be prepared to do a bit of walking to get back and forth. They do offer shuttles, but a bit inconsistent. The pools were nice - I liked that they had plenty of towels available. I do wish, they had more food offerings available. We hit up Crystal Cove and CDM, which are both very nice beaches. We did get the timeshare presentation, which lasted about 2 hours, as opposed to 90 minutes and was a bit awkward when we respectfully said no. Bottom line, this is a very nice resort, but a few improvements would make it outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest level when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is amazing. The location is superb, facility is huge, has much to offer for families. Definitely a 5-star resort with all the amenities. Day camps for kids, teenagers, 3 pools, basketball court, park, putting range, arcade, excellent fitness center, food.

The rooms are amazing. We had ocean view balcony, 2 bedrooms, very roomy with full kitchen and washer and dryer.

Nothing bad to say about the facility itself or amenities. The only negatives is that is is busy with lots of people, pool gets crowded and parking can be challenging at times.

Staff was great and helpful.

Locally there is a Vons (Safeway) up the road and close by a Trader Joes to stock your in room kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazz99Spokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have now stayed at the Marriot the past six Springs and just realized that I have never reviewed this fine resort. My parents own a time share here and so it has been a gathering place for my family over the years. I have never had a bad experience at this place.

The units themselves are very comfortable and accommodate a large number of people. There are two full bedrooms and two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. There is a pull out couch in the living room that can sleep two more. Over the years the Marriot has worked to keep the rooms up to date and looking new. They are all now equipped with large LCD TVs in both bedrooms and the living room. They bedding is top notch and the master bedroom has a jacuzzi tub and large shower with double shower fixtures. The most incredible part of the rooms however are the ocean views. We always request one of the top two floors which allows for incredible views from the nice open air patios.

The property offers many activities to keep all members of the family occupied. There are three pools in the main Poole complex and two smaller pools elsewhere on the property. The main pool are also has a full service outdoor bar and music provided during the afternoon. Additionally there are ping pong tables, pool and shuffleboard as well as large chess boards. All of these help keep the kids occupied and engaged. Just inside the pool area is a teen club and game room.

In addition to the pool areas there are a couple different weight rooms, a Starbucks, an outdoor basketball court, tennis courts, a putting green and barbecues all over the property. Like I said, activities for everyone. The Marriot is surrounded by the Pelican Hill Resort golf course next door, there is a discount for guests of thenMarriot, although it will still be one of the most expensive rounds of golf you play. My brothers and I played there a couple years ago and it was like no other round of golf I have played. Every hole had incredible views of the Pacific Ocean. If you don't want to pay as much the Marriot offers discounts at many of the other golf courses in the area.

The only downfall to the place is that the food options on property are limited. You can eat poolside at the bar and there is a small deli/pizza hut in the lobby. Other than this all options are off property. This is ot really a ig deal as there are literally hundreds of excellent food choices within twenty minutes of the hotel.

You will absolutely not be disappointed if you spend time at thuis fine resort.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and third or fourth floor units.if you have kids ask to be closer to the park/ ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMovie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing