We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tuscan village in s Cali.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Tuscan village in s Cali.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying here while accompanying my fiance on business. While its predominantly a family oriented resort I had plenty of privacy by one of the resorts 3 large pools. Each pool area offering its own kiddy pool and Jacuzzi. There are plenty of bbqs for your use, and loungers to read a book, a firepit overlooking the cliff and ocean is a nice touch. Too many amenities to list.

Our 2 bedroom suite made even us ( seasoned) world travellers giddy. Stunning kitchen, living room with dining room, 3 flatscreens. Even down to the cute bath towel dog that greeted us on the master bed, where we were pleasantly surprised to see a Jacuzzi tub for 4. Only downside was lack of jets. It is very apparent this is an upscale time share resort, book ahead or you will not find vacancy.

While there is a pub on site we didn't make use of it, the marketplace offered great goodies such as freshly made salads, soups, sandwiches, pizza, Starbucks to name a few. Laguna beach is a 10 m drive away and offers fantastic dining!

Everyone was super nice and very acvomodating! Including allowing a very late checkout despite being 100% full.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    482
    145
    56
    46
See reviews for
989
369
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed here for the first week of April over our spring break. The location of this place is perfect. Easy access to everything. We didn't have an ocean view but the building was pretty quiet so that was nice. I have the feeling that timeshare owners and people taking the high pressure sales tour get the nicer views and rooms. Still for around $230 a night we had a spacious 2 bedroom apartment. The pools were nice and they had a lot of great amenities for kids. I probably wouldn't recommend this to people without children. There is no restaurant or bar except for the one during the day that is poolside. Overall, it was really fun staying here and we will be back again.

Room Tip: It doesn't hurt to ask for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0neboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

The last four nights of our trip, we decided to have some down time away from the amusement parks and city for the kids (4, 17 months) This villa was perfect. No real ocean view, well, we saw a glimpse over the trees but no biggy for us as we are from hawaii and see the ocean everyday. The rooms were huge, the kitchen was perfect, loved the dbl head shower in the master bath! Housekeeping was great, lots of activities for kids, however the weather was really crappy when we were there so didn't get to participate in anything. But we enjoyed the quiet downtime. Having a washer and dryer in the room was awesome as well as we could do all our laundry before heading home. Trader joes and other markets within short distances. Fantastic, will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimochii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

After traveling cross country, Jacksonville to LAX via Dulles, we killed a couple of hours to arrive at the designated 3:00 PM check in time. Drove up to the curbside check-in kiosk and started the check in process. Informed our room was not ready, they would call us. 2+ hrs later after several trips to the reservation desk, we received our key. My wife was told that they had tried to call us several times. Strange we never received any calls, and I confirmed they had the correct number on my first trip to the reservation desk (line was only 6 people on that trip). We didn't get our requested top floor, we did get a third floor room with a herd of noisy elephants above us. The sound transmission through the floor/ceiling is terrible.

We finally got settled and crashed only to be awakened by noise from above.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_in_Yulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was a great place to sleep. We were gone from early am to late night to anaheim, hollywood and la. We didn't experience any of the timeshare amenities. We requested a quiet villa and it was. We had a view of the trash dumpster area. Again this was only a place to sleep. The bed was comfy, as well as the pillows. The masterbedroom shower has two rainshower heads. Luv them. Flatscreen tvs in both bedrooms and the livingroom. The kitchen was beautiful. No ant problem here, maybe because we closed our food containers. Liked the free usa today outside our door during the week. Under ground parking was nice with the elevator. Didn't see security, but we felt safe. At checkin the timeshare sales guy tried the pressure squeeze for a tour. I replied with a firm no thanks. We received a discount dining card for the area. We used it at tommy bahamas. The on site marketplace prices are outrageous. In newport beach, just a few mins away is Albertsons with much lower prices. Will return for just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Completed exceeded our expectations. We have stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels that did not leave us as satisfied. With a daughter and son (10 and 12 year old), we decided it was important that we found accomodations for our Spring Break trip with a little more room than the typical resort hotel room. No only did we have the perfect amount of room in our Villa, but the kitchen gave us the flexibility to not necessarily eat out every meal. We spend the first couple days of our trip a Disneyland (Grand Californian), which was great. But, the time spent at the Marrriott Newport Coast Villas allowed us to unwind from the theme park craziness. The resort has excellent pools and outdoor activities that our kids absolutely loved. They are still talking about the poolside ping-pong and life size chess board! Perhaps the only downsides to the resort is that there is not a true restaurant on the premises - only pool-side fare or pizza. This was not a major issue for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Came down for a quick 4 day vacation with my girlfriend and her parents. In general I was very impressed with Newport, CA all around. Driving through Newport's main street will command a lot of attention in the way of cars. It’s a high class area with a lot of money behind it.

The resort is very well put together and has a great feel to it. The grounds are very well kept and it seems like a lot of thought went behind the design and landscape.

We had a two bedroom villa situated closest to the ocean but without much of a view. The room's are of great size and feel just like a two bedroom apartment. All the furniture is well placed with the couches and chairs being really comfortable. Unlike a lot of hotels Marriott has included 3 40-42 inch LCD LG's with plenty of HD channels. The rooms and bath rooms are like any other Marriott, clean, updated and comfortable.

The problems (minor):
I consider myself a pretty care free person when it comes to my room. I want what is advertised and I mostly give decent ratings and reviews as long as everything is enjoyable. Nothing different with this one but a couple of things.

1) Our room had ants in the kitchen. Although I'm not really bothered by the incident I cannot say the same for someone else who will have this problem. It’s not the most serious problem but will be a headache down the road.

2) Noise. If your bedroom is by the door be prepared to hear outside noise. Kid's running, people talking while walking by, room service carts ect...Again, not a huge problem but it could get really old if you are in an area with a lot of rooms booked.

3) Pillows. This is a general jab at the hotel. Find some better pillows. I usually sleep really well in hotels but found the pillows here frustrating. Extra soft...No ding on the overall of the hotel though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gp7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
3.1 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Property: Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing