We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Poke!”

Bear Flag Fish Co-Newport Peninsula
Ranked #22 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bear Flag Fish Co. is the seafood wonderland we all long for on idle summer days, a fish market-cum-restaurant where brilliant slabs of tuna glint like rubies and the spindrift of crashing waves hangs in the air. It’s minimalism at its seafaring best — Bear Flag understands that often all a fish needs is a satisfying char and the salty rush of a beach breeze.- LA TimesThe Bear Flag Fish Co. pushes a healthy lifestyle that’s exuded from just about everything in their spot, including the food, the decor and the good looking people coming in and out.-FoodBeastSometimes good food is simply, simple. Its fresh ingredients create an effortless melody, the kind you find stuck in your head when you’re in the shower, or driving to work or when you’re cleaning up around the house. -OC Register
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
271 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best Poke!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved the ahi poke. Added more spice on the side to get a good kick to it. My 7 yr old ate most of it. His best he had ever had and I agree! Even beats the ones we have tried in Hawaii. The grilled salmon and clam chowder was very good too. The ceviche was okay compared to real purevian ceviche. The tables are big and other is about 6, so everyone just shares or at least we did. Expect a line during lunch time. Worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    45
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent fresh fish!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Got off plane hungry and found this spot. Great fish tacos-- next time I'd like to try the poke. Long lines and not much seating. Friendly staff!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chetboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh seems like a lame term for such outstanding food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are in Newport, CA, you have to experience Bear Flag.

Between the food, the people and the environment, we always make it a point to eat here (usually several times per visit). The food is always top notch and fresh. The place is small and it is not a secret any more. Plan to wait in line and be amazed with a wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaynes704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Fresh, but beware of the logistics!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went here with a group of friends after getting word that it was worth checking out. The restaurant is on 31st street right when you get onto the Balboa Peninsula in Newport Beach, and is situated behind Rudy's Pub and Mama D's Italian Restaurant. It's kind of hidden when you're driving down Newport Ave., so be sure to look for 31st street and hang a left and their it is.

There's a small parking lot in front of the place, but be aware of where you are parked. Many places reserve spots for their customers and you might get towed if you park in the wrong place.

Walking in it looks like the seafood section of your local supermarket or a fish store down on main street. Mid century modern with tall windows and high ceilings with an industrial but practical feel. You'll see a lot of fresh fish on the counters that you can choose from. Also keep in mind there really isn't a lot of place to sit. There are two big wooden tables inside, but you'll see that it's limited. We just put out a couple of beach towels and sat on the grass (Astroturf) in the 'back' outside as do a lot of people.

But for all the trouble you might have finding the place and finding a place to sit and eat, it's all worth it because the food here is superb! Lines are common here, so be prepared to wait to order. You order up at the counter, and have a selection of tacos, burritos, salads, and other seafood goodies to enjoy.

The food here is really fresh, and you can watch as they cook your food right behind the counter. I recommend the 'Wahoo' for the tacos with panko (a breading type mixture) for your fish tacos. It's a treat that I know you will enjoy!

Overall, this is a great place that I know I will go out of my way to visit! However I feel that I will most likely just order it 'to go' and eat it at home or somewhere else, because it's just a bit of a hassle. But don't let that stop you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“grilled grouper on baguette like a dream”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Food was great. Wait was bad.
Also after we'd waited 35 mins (the 2nd visit: Ftiday evening) they told us they were closed and could only give us Fish Tacos. Luckily the Fish Tacos were suberb. And inexpensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grw1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Flag Fish Co-Newport Peninsula also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bear Flag Fish Co-Newport Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing