We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that Great”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Balboa Fun Zone

Balboa Fun Zone
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.95*
and up
Beach Biking and Bites Tour
Seattle
Level Contributor
317 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not that Great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We took a break from our week long Disneyland trip to visit Newport Beach, and stopped by the "Fun Zone". It was actually quite disappointing, as there wasn't much there with respect to shopping. The two arcade places there had old, worn games and not very many of them. In hindsight, I would have skipped stopping to visit this location. I can't recommend a visit by anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cohoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    69
    65
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovelock, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A FUN AFTERNOON”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great place to spend a few hours. Has numerous places to eat, an video arcade, a ferris wheel, and clothing stores.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Its small. The island is the star.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Check it out if you want to stretch the legs. There is a candy store for the kids. The ferris wheel was also a highlight for them. Also enjoy the homes on the water. The place even has a saloon if you need a beer. There are even a couple of arcades.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidHitchcock33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun and safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Taking my girls at night I felt safe and had a lot of fun.We found plenty to do and a wide variety of places to eat.The weather was perfect and parking was good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanDiegoTrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quaint & Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's not Santa Monica Pier or Santa Cruz Boardwalk. But super charming. Restaurants, souvenir shopping, arcades, boat rentals/ rides, ferris wheel. Plenty of parking. Go early. The meters also takes credit cards!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank azpam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Fun Zone also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Balboa Fun Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing