We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't expect to be pampered.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't expect to be pampered.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I needed to stay in Orange County to get work done at a corporate facility for a couple of weeks and this is exactly the type of place I was looking for. To stay on Eastern Standard Time I just wanted to leave the hotel at 6 am, get my work done, return at 6 pm, cook a quick dinner and get to bed by 8. I didn't want to listen to kids splashing in a pool or karaoke singers in a hotel bar. One reviewer said "people who were staying here were the type of people that you don't want to be around". If you don't want to rub shoulders with working people who god-forbid might be wearing worker's uniforms and driving company vans then this is not your kind of place.

I found the front desk staff very friendly and ready to hand out extra cooking utensils or towels if needed, but there is no concierge. The room was clean when I arrived but you only get weekly room cleaning service. The price was right.

Room Tip: My non-smoking room on the third floor did not smell of cigarette smoke and I kept the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesEJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
James - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendliness of our hotel staff. We are glad that we could provide you with the positive experience you were hoping for.

We would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    26
    15
    24
See reviews for
20
21
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you want a no smoking room, make sure you get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. The entire 4th floor is smoking and I had a room on the third floor which smelled like an ash tray when I checked in. Totally disgusting. They said the smoke probably was wafting down from the top floor. Also, I got a handicapped room (which I didn't need) and the fold up seat in the shower had mold all over it. Gross. In addition, the refrigerator in my room did not work (they did fix it the next day) and the pots, pans, etc. were not in the room (you have to call the front desk and request them - ridiculous. Also the walls are thin and the people next to me would not shut the f^&k up! The only reason I am not giving it a 1 is because Sergio at the front desk was fantastic and went out of his way to do everything he could.

Room Tip: 1st floor only if you don't like cigarette smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBAat2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the smoking smell you encountered in your room and that the shower seat in your room was not properly cleaned. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we are retraining our housekeeping staff and are performing more detailed inspections of our rooms. We will also be working to ensure all areas of our hotel smell fresh. We were happy to read that Sergio did his best to take care of you.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will contact us directly, at laa@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The overall experience was poor. Please see the following: fish smell in the hallway, fire alarm went off a couple time, staff were not helpful, people who were staying here were the type of people that you don't want to be around.

Room Tip: Check out the residence Inn about 2 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy103010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Tommy - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation with the odor and service you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, we are working with our staff to ensure that we are being proactive and preventing future guests from having similar experiences.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. To discuss further, please contact us at laa@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Booked last minute... was not sure about the hotel... arrived late, but for the value it was just great!

I was able to get to my meeting at Newport Beach in just 5 minutes. Location is un-disputable... However, if you need service... do not expect any. What you pay is what you get. It is geared for a longer stay travelers or... whatever. Personally, it had a small kitchen - refrigerator, etc. were perfect. I had only 7 hours stay... including sleep time. Just left the next early morning - served coffee, choice of granola bars, muffin or... was great for my purpose. But do make sure to ask - if you want non-smoking room upon making reservation...

Room Tip: Ask for Non-smoking at time of reservation!!! Do not assume it is as I realized for the first time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munki888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Needed a place for just one night and chose this because of the proximity to the airport. And that is the only good thing about this hotel. Sheets were not clean and room was less than perfect. As it was only a night's stay, did not even bother to report.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ulagatraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here for five nights. They put us in a smoking room even though we requested non smoking. The entire floor (4th) smelled so bad from smoke that you had to hold your breath. Dogs were barking and the odors were bad. Windows to the outside were hard to open and badly needed cleaning. There is no maid service which we knew but is still a pain. The staff were very pleasant and the location is close to the airport. I would not recommend this place if you can afford anything else.

Room Tip: The whole place smells of smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blang311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
5.8 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Property: Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
Address: 4881 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-John Wayne Airport Hotel Newport Beach
Extended Stay Newport Beach
Extended Stay America Newport Beach
Newport Beach Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing