We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old/restored Art Deco style movie theatre”
Review of Lido Theatre

Lido Theatre
Attraction details
Southern California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful old/restored Art Deco style movie theatre”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We live close, so we ride our bikes there and enjoy first run and/or art house movies. It's a small theatre - and I love the day glow fish on the walls, when the lights get turned down. A true "blast from the past"! There's even a Balcony area!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still cool after all these years!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I still love the Lido Theater. It only plays one film at a time, it has just a little box office and a funky little snack bar, but it is so cool inside with it's balcony, florescent paint on the ceiling and walls with fish swimming along and shells and sand. They always have the best movies there and it is actually pretty large inside so even when there are lots of people lined up outside there is usually plenty of seats to choose from inside. Clean, well managed, well taken care of, what more could you ask for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alwaystime4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A landmark!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Open in the 1930s this is a major landmark of Newport beach. Come watch Newport movie festival. I have watched some classics here and had a great time

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful theater, seating is comfortable, the décor is like going back in years past. Because of size they are limited to show only one movie at a time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank induscomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's a little piece of history right before your eyes. The seats are cozy and the movies are first rate. Go next door to the Woody's Diner for a delicious dinner before the movie or a cocktail after the movie. Have fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Theatre also viewed

Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Lido Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing