We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Not Ask For More From A Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
nbtraveler09
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could Not Ask For More From A Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

I stay in Newport Beach 250 days out of the year on various business projects. I choose the Radisson Newport Beach for three reasons; excellent service, excellent service and excellent service. I never worry about a thing when I stay there. The entire staff is knowledgeable, welcoming, and accommodating.

If you plan on being in the area, do not miss this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    216
    130
    65
    34
See reviews for
164
120
51
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Very conveniently located to Santa Ana airport, so don't be surprised you hear the airplanes. Good reasonably priced breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueZeeQueSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

This hotel seemed to be reasonably priced and in a good location in Orange County, which is why we chose it for our 1 night stay in the area. Initially it doesn't look too bad, it's not a five star hotel by any means, but it was "average" as far as cleanliness is concerned, and the standard room was not bad.

We were excited to sleep in the supposedly luxurious "sleep number" adjustable bed- and were EXTREMELY disappointed. This was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in, and there was absolutely no way to adjust it to a comfortable position. It felt like a slab of wood with an air mattress on top of it. We aren't too picky when it comes to a bed, and this was terrible.

If you don't mind the most uncomfortable bed you've ever slept in, this hotel is not too bad!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAISY00700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

I stayed at the Radisson NB for three nights for work and had a different experience than my last trip there in May 2008. This time I got room 813 in the East Tower, so farther from the airplane noise but also a long walk from the lobby. The room was fresh and looked relatively new. Only complaint with the room is that the water temp was very hard to control. I had to fuss with the shower every time to get the temp right, and I don't think it was due to user error.

I had breakfast all 3 days in the restaurant as it was included in my rate. Food and service are both fine, but it's overpriced. If you're not getting it for free, the Bruegger's and Starbucks down the street may be of more interest to you. As for the location, it's convenient for business folks, but I'm guessing that you can find better if you want to be near Fashion Island, the beach, etc. Finally, parking was fine and the shuttle from the airport was prompt with a nice driver.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed for three nights. We were surprised by the rudeness of the staff, the lack of service, and the absence of promised amenities.

For example, we checked into a club level room, which comes with continental breakfast and cocktails. However, the hotel had decided to close the room offering the breakfast and cocktails for the weekend. We were given coupons for drinks/breakfast downstairs in the lobby. However, the bar was full and there was no place to sit down. And when we presented our breakfast coupons at the Tiffany restaurant, we were told they would not accept our coupons there but to go instead to an open room where a large breakfast buffet for visiting sports teams was being served. This was despite the fact that our coupons stated we were to eat at "the Tiffany" restaurant. After a 5-7 minute wait there in line, the hostess informed us that our coupons were of the wrong color and that we needed to return to the Tiffany restaurant. She was rude and insistent about this.

The next morning we went to the room for the continental breakfast at 8 AM. There was no coffee and no attendant. We phoned the front desk. Coffee was delivered 5-7 minutes later.

There was no wireless access in our room, despite the fact that the front desk told us there was wireless access in all rooms. We were directed to the "wireless provider" in Atlanta to troubleshoot our problem. However, two different laptop computers did not have wireless access in our room, making it unlikely it was a computer problem.


The lock on the inside of the door was missing a piece, making it impossible to double lock the door from the inside. The management said the hotel was in the process of redoing the locks.

The digital lock on the safe did not work after the first day. The management offered no response.

One of the elevators in the main building was not working most of the time during our stay, making for lengthy waits for the elevator.

The bed in our room (king size) was very soft. The hotel offers sleep number beds, but they are not available in all rooms. A friend who had reserved one was not given a room with a sleep number bed. She checked out after one night because of the bed quality.

All in all, a very disappointing experience.

  • Liked — Easy access to I-405 and airport
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sojourner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

I used the Priceline, Name your own price feature for this July 4th weekend stay. We got the room for $100/night, and according to Priceline, this is a 3star hotel. When they say Newport Beach, it is the very north end of Newport and you are not near the water. Like other reviewers stated, you are one block from the airport. Our room was in the Tower Building on the 5th floor, and we had a view of the airplanes taking off.

While the room was non-smoking, the hallway reeked of smoke smell. Inside the room, it was nice. The bathtub was a bit dirty. There was only decaf coffee for the coffeemaker. But other than that, the room itself was nice. Both at check-in and check-out, other guests seemed to have problems with their bill or rooms, but we didn't experienced that.

The hotel is located in a business area, but is close to the freeway. You are not far from shopping centers.

  • Liked — Proximity to freeway and shopping
  • Disliked — Airport view
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mochamomBrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

I have been staying at this hotel approx. every three weeks due to work related business. This hotel is centrally located and about a 5 minute drive from the Orange County airport. Watch out as the name sort of tends to lead people in believing that is right in Newport beach. If you are noise sensitive and do not like airplane nose, stay some where else. The airport shuttle service is always practical and reliable. Check in is always quick and easy and the food is very good. While the rooms are clean, the decorations are not the modern even after one of the towers was completly refurbished. I personnaly like the A/C in my room really cold and I noticed that the A/C systems in the old tower are not as efficient as the ones in the newly refurbished tower. In all good affordable hotel with a few issues.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A/C system in old tower.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dansladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4545 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing