We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice hotel; located conveniently near John Wayne airport with free parking. We had a room with 2 double beds but were told we couldn't add a roll away bed. The front desk staff (particularly Andy) was very helpful and relocated us to another room with a king bed and a sofa bed. The king bed was huge and extremely comfortable! The sofa bed was not nearly as good but served its purpose for the 2 nights we stayed there. The free internet was a plus but the connection was really slow at times. Many of the Radisson hotels offer a free continental breakfast but sadly, this one did not. There were also some nice eating places close by but because the hotel is in a business section, don't expect to find them open later than 8:00 or 9:00 pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    218
    131
    66
    34
See reviews for
166
122
52
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

During my stay at the Radisson Newport Beach my family and I experienced a security issue when a man entered the bar at the hotel in a state of inebriation that created a dangerous situation for everyone. There were not many people in the bar, but the man was a young muscular guy who could easily have caused significant harm to anyone in the bar. I was enjoying some wine with my family and the man continually harassed and approached other guests. When I left the bar to inform the front desk I was told they already knew about it and that the person who could handle it could not be located. After a second trip to the lobby to demand action and tell them I was calling the local police still no one was available to deal with the situation and provide security for the guests. Finally a waiter from the restaurant talked the man in to leaving just before two other gentlemen arrived to address the issue. My family and I felt threatened and this property was entirely unable to respond to a real security issue. I hope the hotel has taken action since that incident to make sure security is readily available at all times. Otherwise I cannot recommend this property due to the security concern.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear JH Tuck,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with our Radisson Newport Beach Hotel during your recent visit.

We truly value our Trip Advisor reviewers and appreciate your feed back on your experience during your stay!!

We are very appreciative of your comments regarding, the perceived delay in our responding to a guest disturbance in our lounge area on the evening of your visit. We have investigated this issue, and resolved it. We do apologize for you and your guest having to be present during this incident, and having the unfavorable feeling and perceptions that you took away from it.

Please know that we take the security and safety of our guest, as well as our employees very seriously, and have a zero tolerance policy towards these types of occurrences. We also realize for any minute that elapses, feels like eternity, our on-going training of our team, includes response times and being cognizant of this time.

We are committed to delivering a quality guest experience, which includes our safe and secure environment, as you could see by our numerous positive comments from prior guests of our hotel, we take the quality of service and product delivery, quite serious. Your comments assist our improvement efforts. We apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused to you and your guest.

In closing, again thank you again, for choosing to stay at our Radisson Newport Beach, and sincerely apologize for any of these issues that may have caused any inconveniences!

Upon your next confirmed reservation, we would like to upgrade you and your guest to our Club Level where you would be able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast for two, complete with afternoon appetizers, served in our VIP Club Lounge, this also includes our signature VIP evening turn-down service.

We are hopeful to welcome you the next time your travels bring you to Newport Beach, California.
Respectfully,

Robert Leck, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and wanted a change from the Anaheim area. The hotel was easy to find and was next to the John Wayne Airport which means you do get l aircraft noise but that stops after about 9:30 pm until approx 7 am the next day so not really an issue. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and it was no problem for us to check other rooms as we were not completely sure about the first room we were allocated. The pool area is a modest size but we never found it too busy. However it is clean and pleasant and the loungers are comfortable although some of then needed their covers replacing. The rooms are ok and similar to ones we have stayed in other hotels in and around this area, not huge but clean and comfortable. We upgraded to a club room and got free continental breakfast and snacks at night. One complaint we had was one of the elevators was out of services for at least 3 days of out stay which sometimes meant a long wait to move between floors. Otherwise a good quality hotel with nice facilities.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room to get free breakfast, drink voucher and snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsmCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After almost 2 weeks in the US and nothing but fantastic hotel experiences that have included 5 star to your 2 star Quality Inn's this hotel is by far the WORST I have ever experienced.
I am not sure if the other reviewers even stayed at this property, it was because of the comments and the fact 5 people could be accommodated I made the choice to stay here!
Firstly the room was like a prison cell, dated, small, noisy, 2 beds for 5 people? Really? If you could even call them beds.......HARD as rocks........my husband had a better nights sleep on the 5th bed being the FLOOR! Not to mention the astronomical PRICE.
Also expected a fridge, NOTHING.....had to call reception to be told oh yes they are complimentary...we will send one up???
There was absolutely NO positive to this stay.....where is there to eat, also mentioned in a previous review, there was an abundance of choice....completely untrue, we drove for miles before desperately settling for a barely edible pizza.
Being a Travel Agent I have had the privilege to experience many hotels in my lifetime worldwide.......this one will go down as well under par.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Brownsters,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with our Radisson Newport Beach Hotel during your recent visit.
We truly value our TripAdvisor reviewers!!

We are very appreciative of your candid comments regarding, having to request a refrigerator, as well as accommodations for a "5th Guest".

We apologize that you were under the impression that each room had a refrigerator, as we ensure that each advertisement or online portal, that it states that these items are available on request, which means these items are limited to those who first arrivals, who request them. This obviously includes the need for roll a way beds, or sofa sleeper bed.

I am sorry that among the 12 restaurants within 150 yards of the hotel, as well as our own Tiffany's Award Winning Restaurant did not present a fare of our desired preference.

We are committed to our on-going quality service and product delivery improvement efforts, and as you could see by our numerous positive comments from prior guests of our hotel, we take the quality of service and product delivery, quite serious. Your comments assist our improvement efforts. We apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused to you and your guest.

In closing, again thank you again, for choosing to stay at our Radisson Newport Beach, and sincerely apologize for any of these issues that may have caused any inconveniences!

We are hopeful to welcome you the next time your travels bring you to Newport Beach, California.
Respectfully,

Robert Leck, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this property on July 4th. Got upgraded to the top floor (club level), the rooms are nice and it's really close to the airport. One thing I didn't like was the small bathroom but everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZachNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently stayed the night at this hotel because it was close to the beach. It is not right on the beach but only minutes away. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The value was great too. We got a good AAA deal and free parking. The rooms are a nice size. We have never figured out how to use sleep number beds so you might want to ask before you go to your room. The room was very clean and the grounds were nicely kept. The pool was fun and a good size. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel service was outstanding and very clean. Room was average but bathroom was nice and spacious. It is next to the airport so you do hear a lot of planes. Also, it is 10-12 minutes from the beach so you will need a car. Pool area is large and towels were always restocked. Front desk was very helpful when asked for directions to nearest pharmacy, they printed out directions so it was easy to understand!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4545 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing