We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Clean but Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is clean and the service is good. Lobby was decorated nicely with Christmas decoration. Our room was clean and we had everything we needed: water, coffee, tea,... .

However, the windows were single pane and we could hear outside traffic in our room. Considering that this hotel is located near the airport, management needs to change the windows for guests convenience. I'm not sure if all rooms have this problem but room 410, which we stayed, was not quite at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaKa1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 754 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had an early am flight and chose to stay in this Radisson because it's so close to the Orange County airport. Got in late and had no problem registering. The room was small, but clean. No noise problems. Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I got married in Radisson New Port Beach. We had a cut caking ceremony. They did not serve our wedding cake to our guests after the ceremony. I send e-mail to their management about my complaint no reply back. It is a wonderful ball room but poor service quality.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Oggi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting our Radisson Newport Beach, to host your very special event during this past October 2012. We realize the significance of this special occasion, and take this role very seriously! Again, thank you!

We were very pleased to receive your note, 17-days after your event, sent to our Sr. Catering Manager, that summarized your excitement, and sincere appreciation of the handling of your event, stating “everything was great!” .

Thank you for taking the time to send this personal note of appreciation.

Moving forward to yesterday, December 17th we were genuinely surprised, and disappointed that we were notified through Trip Advisor, there were service concerns with your wedding event.

Obviously this conflicts with the letter of appreciation that was received from you, just 6 weeks earlier that stated your obvious satisfaction.

I trust we would agree, after our recent conversation, and the very detailed note sent to you, that outlined occurrences that took place during your event, which included having your esteem guest wait up to 3 hours for your arrival from your ceremonial wedding picture location, this would and did adversely impact dinner service, as well as limit the usage/consumption of the planned ceremonial wedding cake due to guest leaving the event.

Again, thank you so much for selecting our Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, to host your very special event, and our hopeful that we will have the great opportunity to serve you, and your family, once again, in the future!

Sincerely,
Robert Leck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I echo everything that michellemoore2792 said. EVERYONE at this hotel has bent over backward to make my trip pleasant. I was here on training for a new position, coming from the Washington DC area, and will definitely return to this hotel as opposed to another just for the quality of "care" they have.

South Coast was pretty impressive. It's Christmas time and they had a really beautiful display surrounding Santa....worthy of pictures! Ate at Zeda's, I think it was, right at the main entrance. Pretty good food, good service from a young guy named Matt.

The evening front desk people were super friendly also. They went above and beyond helping with my flight arrangements, printing my boarding pass, etc. They also set me up on two occasions with taxis from a company owned by a gentleman named Sam. Rafi, one of his drivers, (from Lebanon), was awesome and personable. Also a gentleman from Greece - cant recall his name. Easy ride and fair price.

Can't comment on the pool...never made it there, but the workout facility on the second floor was more than adequate- clean, towels and rarely busy.

Tiffany's restaurant was a huge surprise! I don't usually expect much from a hotel restaurant. Again, I echo Michelle....Jose and all the waitstaff were totally attentive and helpful. Food arrived within a really good amount of time and was delicious!!!!! Couldn't believe it! Far exceeded my expectation. Do not drink, so didn't not experience either bar, thought indie peek my head in.

I'd say that people wouldn't stay here to go to the beach. It isn't all that close, but this is a reasonably priced hotel with SUPERIOR service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The staff were the friendliest people ever and helped us with tasks such as ordering take out Chinese food and the cheapest way to get to Disneyland. The beds had a 'sleep number' device so u could tailor your bed to your liking. The free shuttles to the airport and south coast plaza were always prompt and the drivers always pleasant. It is not close to the beach but the staff are more than happy to arrange taxi's for you. Disneyland is pretty close too, and if you want to get there it is so easy to get the free shuttle to the airport and a shuttle there to take you right outside Disneyland for $10 each, so much cheaper than a taxi. The hotel restaurant buffet was wonderful, they even purchased strawberry jam because we asked for some and they didn't have any. If you do eat at 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' look out for Jose the waiter, the nicest man ever. The hotel pool was clean and there were always enough towels. Overall best hotel we've ever stayed at and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleM2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The breakfast trays are left all day (until at least 11pm) in the corridor for all to see. It's disgusting but I'm also pretty sure it's against a few regulations.
I got my free newspaper one day out of the 5 and had to call in every single night to get my breakfast card for the following day.
Service is great and food is good too. Beds are comfortable (but the sleep number thing doesn't work).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro R, Front Office Manager at Carlton Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with our Radisson Newport Beach Hotel. Additionally, thank you for taking the time to communicate your experiences during your recent stay.

Your feedback is extremely important to us, in our on-going efforts to improve upon our customer service and product delivery.

On behalf of our Hotel and Service Team, I apologize for falling short in our experience delivery, which included the timely retrieval of room service trays from our guest corridors, and consistent delivery of our daily USA Today to you, our valued hotel guest. We are committed to our on-going quality service and product delivery, and will utilize your input during our service improvement effort.

Again, I apologize for these concerns and for any inconvenience these may have caused to you and your guest.

As a token of our appreciation for your loyalty and for taking the time to communicate these concerns, upon your next reservation, we would like to upgrade your reservation to our Concierge Level, where you and your guest can enjoy deluxe accommodations, along with complimentary breakfast, VIP Turn Down Service, and use of our Executive Club Lounge.

Thank you again, for choosing to stay at our Radisson Newport Beach, and we are hopeful to welcome you the next time your travels bring you to Newport Beach, California.

Respectfully,

Robert Leck General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As others had identified within their reviews, do not be fooled by the title. The location could be in the next county, it is SO far away from the beach, in fact so far away from anything other than business parks. We was unfortunate to have stayed here over a weekend so relied heavily on the hire car to get us to civilisation. That was the first drawback.
The second was how tired the owners/chain had allowed this hotel to become. The fabric flowers were a giveaway, however as we progressed to our room and opened the door, our hearts sank. We were so excited due to the big milestone birthday impending, however the room, in fact the whole hotel was a let down.

-Noisy ice machine kept us awake most of the night.
-Bar on the ground floor provided with inattentive staff and lacking in some of our orders.
-Pool area unappealing (not too sure how they got the photos to look so good).

This really isn't a tourist hotel and our fault for not doing the research. Its best left for conferences and others who are not paying for the rooms. The staff, whilst pleasant, did not represent what we experienced in other hotels during our extended trip to the States.
Summary: Avoid and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro R, Front Office Manager at Carlton Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with our Radisson Newport Beach Hotel.

Additionally, thank you for taking the time to communicate your experiences during your recent stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us, in our on-going efforts to improve upon our customer service and product delivery.

On behalf of our Hotel and Service Team, I apologize for falling short in our service delivery efforts, that included inattentive service, unnecessary noise from an ice machine, and the neatness of our pool area. Please know we have shared these issues with our team leaders, and are committed to ensuring they are favorably addressed.

Again, I apologize for these concerns, and apologize for any inconvenience these may have caused to you and your guest.

As a token of our appreciation for your loyalty and for taking the time to communicate these concerns, upon your next reservation, we would like to upgrade your reservation to our Concierge Level, where you and your guest can enjoy deluxe accommodations, along with complimentary breakfast, VIP Turn Down Service, and use of our Executive Club Lounge.

Thank you again, for choosing to stay at our Radisson Newport Beach, and we are hopeful to welcome you the next time your travels bring you to Newport Beach, California.

Respectfully,
Robert Leck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,571 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,755 reviews
1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
5.6 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4545 MacArthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2022 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Newport Beach)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $133 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carlton Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing