We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Class Pool Party at 4pm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I arrived during an afternoon pool/drunk/naked feast. If my kids would have been along I would have come UNGLUED. We left at 4:30 to go to an early dinner only to see women walking around in lingerie in the parking lot with no thong/bra on. When we got back that evening, there were people in the parking lot drunk/ almost naked and obnoxious. In the bar.......it was hooker/gang scene. In the lobby, men were harrassing middle aged women checking into the hotel. My husband went running the next AM only to see people passed out in their cars. I guess I thought this was at least a 4 star hotel. Low class events should be not be happening in ANY 4 star hotel. It was pure raunch and so embarrassing. The staff did NOTHING about all the drunk pick-up attempts on paying guests.

The room was OK but not fitting of an upscale hotel. No refrigerator or microwave. The breakfast restaurant brunch was OUTSTANDING. Enjoyed the fitness center also.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. The rif raf is not worth it especially if you have your family along. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tonya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro R, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments and thank you for the information. This was a private event that occurred and we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that such an event is not held at the Radisson Newport Beach. We pride ourselves on our professionalism and strive to be a hotel that corporate travelers enjoy staying at and that families feel welcome. Thank you.

Radisson Newport Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 749 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

LOCATION:
Had early flight and wanted a nearby hotel to John Wayne Airport. This hotel fit the bill. Room (and hotel) was very quiet. I liked the parking lot/entrance because it was open and roomy and this worked well because we had friends picking us up in two cars right out front- no problem.
STAFF:
Good natured valet. The front desk clerk lacked warmth-just did his job and with a bit of an attitude. Bartender was very nice and very helpful. Shuttle chauffeur took his job seriously- I think they could use a larger van, though, to reduce wait time...
ROOM:
Room was clean with comfortable sleep number mattresses, but the pillows were horrible- very unsupportive and I woke up with a sore neck. Elevators seemed unusually far from the front desk... Room hot and stuffy upon arrival on hot afternoon.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank THELUCKYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Clean and comfy rooms. Bathroom is rather small and old fashioned and the lights in there make it get really hot fast. Free Internet, but it does test your patience as it is extremely slow. Pool and hot tub are nice. Even though the airport is super close, we didn't notice any noise from our room. Beautiful displays of (fake) orchids, real shame they are not real, it would really add a touch of class. The lobby is kitted out with really nice furniture.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank PurdieParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here three times, finally writing review. Great pool and spa. Always clean. Quiet, despite airport proximity.
Rooms are nicely appointed.
Be sure to stay on Club Level (7th floor) for free breakfast and free afternoon reception. The breakfast isn't hot, but it's passable, and the reception in afternoon is nice. Also, the Sapphire (hotel bar) is fun.

Room Tip: Stay on club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A 3-star hotel by most appearances with well-kept grounds and decent pool; most (not all) of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and professional. However, if one can withstand the somewhat loud pool music and poor quality bed, you might find this to your liking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vacationer98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro R, Front Office Manager at Carlton Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at the Radisson Newport Beach. Hotel. I wanted to take the opportunity to personally apologize for any inconvenience you had during your recent stay. I am sorry that the quality of bed in the guest room were not satisfactory for you and for the loud music in the pool area. We do have an option to have a regular mattress or sleep number bed available upon request. I am sorry if this adversely affected your stay with us in any way. Again, thank you for choosing our Radisson Newport Beach hotel for your accommodations during your recent stay in Southern California, and Orange Couny.

Sincerely,

Leandro Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in Newport Beach for a wedding. We stayed for 2 nights and were on the 10th floor in the East Tower. The room was reasonably priced and very comfortable. They bed and bedding were very nice. The room was well appointed with a desk with plenty of power outlets and wi-fi service is included at no cost. The pool area is large and furnished with lots of tables and chairs. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is very good, near the 405 freeway and right next to the airport. Also a short drive to Fashion Island with lots of restaurants. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food offered.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My room was on the third floor. There was a hum all night long, as if someone in an adjacent room had left a faucet running. I was unable to call and complain because the internal phone system was not working in the hotel. I could have used my cell phone but chose not to get out of bed and find the sheet of paper which had the outside phone number to use for the hotel. The annoying hum finally stopped at 6:21am as if someone turned it off. The room was clean.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the third floor. It's right above the hotel equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,030 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4545 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2022 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Newport Beach)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $152 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carlton Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing