We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great ten minute ride from the island to the peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Island Ferry

Balboa Island Ferry
Book In Advance
$68*
and up
Beach Biking and Bites Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ten minute ride from the island to the peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've been taking the ferry since 1995 and still love it. It make the Balboa Peninsula faster to reach and vice versa. Balboa Island is easier to reach by person,bike or car.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 33Phil33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    290
    71
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An old fashioned way to travel between Balboa Island and the peninsula.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I frequently used this ferry as transport...always enjoyed it. Try the frerris wheel! Walking around balboa island was fun, the homes, large and small, werebeautifully kept, and all very unique. Makes you want to move in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sallybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Got to be done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For a few dollors you cut out loads of miles and you get to ride this historic boat.

A few wonderful pictures where taken on this short 5 minute ride, plus we got to have a balboa bar at the end of it. :-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DazCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Cost $3 in a car with 2 passangers. We got out of the car to look at the coast and boats. Three cars fit along with pedestrians and bikers. Very fast and convienient to take.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SacTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“walk,bike or drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Small 3-car ferry that transports across the main channel back & forth from Balboa island to the penninsula, family run for nearly 100 years. It's a mainstay of the Newport Beach experience. If the car line's not long, I always make a point of riding the ferry because it's such a rare experience in So-Cal. I'd be surprised if (once onboard) it takes more than 5 minutes to cross, but there's something about floating on the water surrounded by those gorgeous homes, the landmark Balboa Pavilion & other harbor boats that makes the brief experience special. Fares are nominal, one-way. Can exit the car while crossing. My kids always get a kick out of it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Island Ferry also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Balboa Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing