We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem among busy mall”
Review of Cafe Beau Soleil

Cafe Beau Soleil
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Beau Soleil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 507 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cafe Beau Soleil is french sidewalk cafe located in Newport Beach's prestigious outdoor shopping center Fashion Island. Stop in for Breakfast, lunch, dinner, or simply treat yourself to a cup of coffee and one of our homemade pastries. Cafe Beau Soleil received 2 awards "Best French Restaurant" in 2014 by the business association and "Best French Restaurant" in 2014 by the visitor bureau. Cafe Beau Soleil specialize in delicious and reasonably priced organic French cuisine with a California twist. Our cuisine is served in a relaxed and welcoming setting that you, your family and friends are sure to enjoy. Whether you are in the mood to indulge in something new or just a favorite dish, we promise that our distinctive menu and attentive service will leave you truly satisfied. No matter what the occasion, or your appetite demands, our friendly staff promises to make your dining experience a pleasant one.
Newport Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hidden gem among busy mall”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have lived in Newport Beach for 22 years, but we just discovered Cafe Beau Soleil at the Fashion Island Mall, the mall in Newport Beach. What a surprise to find in an unbusy stretch of the outdoor mall, a lovely french cafe. I have seen people having Sunday breakfast when I arrive at the mall early, but my hubby and I experienced a great meal for lunch in the outside terrace. Food and service great, menu amazing and they didn't rush you at all...I almost thought I was in Paris!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem of a cafe...”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We came on a Friday at 5, and we were one of 3 groups there - we came specifically for the French fare. We were not dissapointed - the special of the day was a quiche - wonderful cheeses, ham, asparagus, tomato - came with a small salad on the plate. It was very tasty. We had the sole almondine, and the fish was fresh,tender, and the sauces made it great. We also had the lamb shank - it was huge and tender. Crepes for dessert, and they specialize in crepes - we had the St. Germain with nutella and pears, and the Suzette. Both were excellent! Nice selecton of wines and drinks, freindly, attentive service - and reasonable prices. I wish it was closer - but it is our new favorite - and we didn't even get to the pastries!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
668 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Pleasant, low-key cafe in Fashion Island”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Cafe Beau Soleil does a nice job creating a cafe experience in Fashion Island. The menu is wide and offers some french-inspired treats. I had the charcuterie platter as an appetizer and was pleasantly surprised. We each had versions of the croque monseiur as appetizers. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I was not so impressed with the bread (either at the table or on the sandwiches).

The wine list is pretty big considering the size of the restaurant and includes a good range of both French and new world selections.

I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have often walked by this restaurant in Fashion Island but never tried it. A groupon coupon
Led us to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. My sole dinner was excellent and the scallops were very enjoyable. Nice, low key ambience and an excellent , friendly server and moderate prices .The whole experience exceeded our expectations and we will return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMaryIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“French Dining Without the Jetlag...”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

What a wonderful little place! The food is authentic and wonderful. I can't recommend one dish over another. We've been a couple times, and the server's suggestion has been right on.

The place is great for couples or small groups, but don't even THINK of trying to have a large party there, as the seating won't allow it.

Dress code is casual, as it's located inside the Fashion Island mall.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beau Soleil also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Cafe Beau Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing