We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
47
41
30
24
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
41
30
24
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv resortboat launchfull hookupsinflatable water parkpacked in like sardineslaundry roomnice sizecorona del marorange countyfashion islandclubhousebrunchcabanabalboagrill
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 173 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

this was our first time visiting Newport Beach Dunes Resort. It's beautiful and accommodating for any size trailer very site is same size 40L×25w except the beachfront site. Yes they kind of are packed in like sardines but it's worth it it's so much fun. They also have little Cottages to rent if you don't have a motor home or trailer you can also just use the beach for the day. They have many things to do at a price, such as paddle boarding kayaking inflatable water park and bike rentals. They have hot showers, bathroom, laundry room, Clubhouse, Market and swimming pool on site.. they also have family movie night Friday and Saturday nights on the beach. Every site has hookups such as sewer water and electricity some have concrete slabs some don't they all have picnic tables. it's very well-maintained and beautiful. yes it's pricey in the summer but very reasonable in the fall and winter. Don't let the price keep you away it's beautiful and fun for all ages. They also have a restaurant on the property and just a short ride or walk from balboa island which is shopping, beach, restaurants... we will be back....

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank dwm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Rick Vara
Director Of RV Operations

Sean Allen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Arrived for day use at 10:30am weekday. Men's bathroom handicap stall disgusting. At 1:30pm still filthy. Looked like it was not cleaned in days. Store has what you need but way overpriced. It was like being in fashion island. Rv spots and everything is on top of each other. Trash cans full. You would have to pay me to stay here. Every thing is a charge. Handicap day use had utility cart blocking pathway both on arriving and departing. Had to use entrance road to get to quests we were visiting. It was just dirty.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank hotdog5112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for your review,
Sorry it took a long time to reach out to you.
Please call me at 949-999-3103 to try us again.

Rick Vara
Director Of RV Operations

Sean Allen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

This is a valid review of the Dunes, as I lived there for over 6-Months. In regards to the park itself. It is very large and my understanding it is the only true RV park within 30 miles. It is decent for the area and close to everything you need in Orange County. There are many, many slots. The ones up front are mostly short term, weekly spots. This area is where you will hear noise, music, people streaming into the streets and crowded. People will actually put their chairs in the center of the street. Mostly on the weekends. when you go to the back is where you have the long term, full time RV'rs. It is very quiet for the most part. If you are here long term, stay in the first two lanes (streets) closest to the water. Most all the slots are the same size, depending on which section, yes a little narrow and unless you are on the beach front it is dirt. Go to Home Depot and get the rolls of outdoor carpet and you are set. Parking is tricky. Depending on the size of your Rig, you might be able to wedge your car in front of the trailer. There is a lot of parking spots in the park itself, but if people have two and tree cars, good luck. And this is where Security is truly not that great, as others have said. Many cars I saw had been parked in the same spot for over 6 months. In fact I saw two cars that had boots, and expired plates that have never been moved. Even though the management puts up threatening signs to tow vehicles in empty slots people still park in them. It happens everywhere. When we first moved in, two cars were in our slot, we had to wait for security to find them to move them, they were not real concerned. There is a large parking lot in front of the park that you can park extra vehicles and may be safer.
word of warning, if you are here May to August try to find a slot that is not under the trees! These trees bloom a sticky yellow flower that will engulf and stick all over it is a daily nightmare. It also has a sap that falls during the bloom that is on everything.
The beach is very un-desireable. It is a dirty pond. Use the pool instead, kept pretty clean, seems to close a lot for chemical issues. There is a laundry that takes credit cards not coins which is great. It is not maintained in regards to cleanliness on a regular basis, but doable. Machines break down a lot, but I had never had an issue getting one. There is a small general store on-site, careful $10 for toilet paper. But good when you are in a pinch.
Another issue, when there are events at the Dunes, which can be almost every weekend in the summer. Getting in through the guard shack can take time. I have waited up to 15 minutes because they only have one lane open. Not sure why they do not open the second lane that is there. They also have a guard gate on the east side they rarely use? Yup, it is a guarded entrance to get into the RV park. Good and bad. 4th of July you have to be sure you have everything you need and hunker in you do not want to leave the park if you are already there. They charge $50.00 for Non-residents to come in that day.
There is a Back Bay Bistro service a little shaky, but if you sit at the bar with Nick you will be treated wonderfully. They have a fabulous Sunday brunch worth the money and you can walk or ride your bike.
According to the park you can only live here 6- months and then you are required to leave for 7-days and then you can return for another 6-months. However! There was a trailer that we saw here for 6-months, ( we noticed the huge trailer 1 month before we actually moved in) then it simply moved across the lane, did not leave the park for the required 7-days. Was very frustrating to see that. As we had to leave for 7 days.
In all, it is a pretty good RV Park if you live in the back. Yes, it is over the flight path of the airport, but after awhile you don't really notice it. You can also walk across PCH to Balboa, and Fashion Island is less than 2 miles away. They have several cabins on-site. I have never been in one. They recently added a few more as well.
water is included in the site cost, you pay electric.

Room Tip: Stay away from being under trees
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Rick Vara
Director Of RV Operations

Sean Allen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

My husband and I, who are both healthy seniors, stayed in a "cottage" at the Newport Dunes RV resort with my sister and her husband. The Dunes is a very nice, very expensive, resort in an ideal location when staying in the beautiful area of Newport Beach. It was fine for the most part, and suited our needs, except for the grossly inadequate, painfully uncomfortable sleeper sofa in the cottage. The unit is advertised as being able to accommodate 4 adults with a queen bed in the bedroom, and a sleeper sofa. The mattress on this sleeper was barely more than a sheet covering hard, poking, torturous, uneven springs. I ended up taking the bottom cushions from the sofa and lining them along on the top of the mattress to provide some protection against the springs, creating an awkward surface to try and sleep on. My husband and I did not sleep a wink all night in this poor excuse for a bed, which only leads to a wasted day the following morning. We both agreed we would have been better off sleeping on the hardwood floor. This was not an inexpensive reservation, and we were terribly disappointed at the poor quality of the sleeper sofa for our stay. I suppose it is possible that children could be accommodated in such conditions, but certainly not adults who expect to at least have a comfortable bed provided when making reservations at one of the most expensive RV resorts in the country. We expected much better from such a property, and it would behoove the management to invest in some decent furniture for the cottages.

Room Tip: Bring a RV and enjoy the comfort of it instead of renting a cottage. But be prepared to spend as much as you would for a hotel room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank iluv2gowithu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for your review,
Sorry it took a long time to reach out to you.
Please call me at 949-999-3103 to try us again.

Rick Vara
Director Of RV Operations

Sean Allen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time!
The parking was easy, we brought our grill and had a beach picnic. The cabana we rented provided shade then we rented a and paddle board, brought kayaks and enjoyed the protection of the bay. The store provided any thing you might have forgot and really good soft serve ice cream

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Rick Vara
Director Of RV Operations

Sean Allen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews