We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST RV PARK IN CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Reviewed December 4, 2012

They charge visitors to enter to visit and have a hourly fee while they are there. This is the worst rv park in CA. My family will never, ever stay here again and you shouldn't either. It is a mud hole with no room between rv's.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to follow up on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with reservations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in a premium large site (2323) and friends stayed in 2325. Overall we had a great time but found that the spots were quite small and on top of one another, just like a parking garage! Easy to get in and out of if you are new, but right next to your neighbors!!

We were also right across from the bathrooms, which were very popular in the early hours of the morning and late at night (never again!). Another negative, a family with 8 screaming kids having a birthday party moved in right next to us and were up at 6am (quiet hours are suppose to be until 8am - that wasn't happening). There were so many empty spots, I wonder why we were crammed in?

Positives: We rented a group bike for an hour and cruised around the park which was fun, the pool was looked great for kids, the bike trail is right there with easy access and they had cheap burgers on Friday night at Moe's!

You can also choose between small, large, preferred, select and beachfront and the prices change accordingly. There is a site map on the website. Permanent residents occupy the standard area of the park.

Would we stay again, probably yes, but in a different site for sure! and definitely during off season as I hear during the summer it's a mad house!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hello,
I want to thank you for your review. You have good suggestions and I will go over them with my staff. Please contact me when you would like to book again. Thank you again for your review.
Thank you.
Rick Vara
Director of RV Operations
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort and Marina
949-999-3103

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful rv resort right on the back bay. Nice size lots. I stayed on the beachfront this time. Very quiet and great view. Fifth row gets crowded so I suggest not to book there. Good wi Fi. Great bike path adjacent to park. sUP rentals and kayak rental. Nice area for swimming. Boat launch

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CCWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hello,
I want to thank you for taking the time for your review.
Our Beachfront sites are very popular and you can look forward to some more Beachfront upgrades in 2013. Please contact me if you have any questions or future needs at our resort.n. Thank you again for your review.

Rick Vara
Director of RV Operations
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort and Marina
949-999-3103

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thought we'd give this place another try after four years. Looks like things haven't changed. The staff is incredibly rude. The noise level has only increased and Newport Dunes just can't get it right. I thought this resort would have taken some advice from all the negative press they get, but nope, they continue to provide patrons with the same old disappointing environment. Dumpy Dunes!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank destinieschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to followup on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our family does not camp - but my sons elementary school hosted a Newport Dunes camping weekend. All the families camped on the beach in tents.

Why is this place great for the non-camping type:
1) Just hop in your car in the morning for a Starbucks right down the street
2) There is a convenience store on-site with lunch, ice cream, coffee, and everythng you need for comfort

There is no doubt this is an overcrowded location - the evenings can be loud. But if you are looking to have fun at the beach for a few days we thought this was great.

There was a playground close by. Lots of water toys that could be rented. Even pool access for those renting a RV space - we had access because we had friends renting an RV space. Never did find the showers - so good thing we were only there 2 nights and went swimming once. :)

A huge downside is that the parking area and beach camping area are far from each other - so you need a cart to help move all the stuff from your car to the campsite. They have some carts available for use - but the day we went it was super busy and those were hard to come by.

All in all - fun for 2 nights. I would agree that the RV spots are crazy expensive - but if you get beach front space it is kind of justifiable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. We are glade you had a great experience at Newport Dunes Resort.. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Look for your things, even watertoys were stolen. Showers are not clean, staff is not helpful. Place is very loud due to airport, next to busy highway. Sites are very small, no firepits, though you can rent them for an extra 35 fee per day(!). Never seen this elsewhere, definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to followup on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Other then the nice location, these were things that will prevent us from going back:

- Small camp site.
- Noise from airplanes and cars from close by freeway. We heard the restroom door slammed all night since our site was next to the restroom.
- The lagoon's water was muddy. There were 2 "end of storm drain" signs at the beach. Not sure if they were related.
- The pool was out of control! The hot spa posted sign "No kids under 12" but the life guards didn't bother to enforce the rule. Some parents in the pool throwing their kids around in the pool, I approached the life guard about this and she said that she will only stop it when someone got hurt!!! We left because we didn't want that someone to be our kid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunTrip98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Newport Dunes Resort. Thank you for staying with us. I sent you a personal email to followup on your experience.
Thank you again for your review and if you need any help with accommodations in the future please call me at 949 999 3103. Thank you
Rick Vara
Director RV Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,772 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
247 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,619 reviews
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort

Address: 1131 Back Bay Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-7405
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Newport Beach
Price Range: $65 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV resort located near Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Dunes Waterfront Hotel Newport Beach
Camping Newport Beach
Newport Dunes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing