We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN ON EARTH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Newport Coast, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is a beautiful park. We were overwhelmed by the location and how much there is to do and see. There is a paved bike/walking trail right alongside the park that goes all the way around the back bay (miles of protected land.) We spent many days bike riding to the beach, around the bay and on Balboa Island. We hardly used our van, even riding to Trader Joe's for groceries. There is a marina attached as well, where you can rent kayaks. We loved paddling out of the Back Bay through the harbour and out into the ocean where we regularly saw dolphins, seals and sea lions.

The facilities and grounds of the park are impeccably kept. The check in staff were professional and courteous, as were all staff members we encountered during our stay. We left our van door open, draining the battery. The security guys came right over with a battery charger and boosted our van for us. Now that's service!

We love this park and were constantly looking at each other saying, can you believe this? Heaven on earth sums it up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    29
    21
    29
See reviews for
96
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The location is great but not worth the hassle of the staff. Be prepared to pay extra for everything. Even though we had 2 hours free parking, the parking staff was so rude to us on the way out and they made us pay the full amount anyway. We were so offended we never want to go back if that is how they treat their paying customers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenjen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

From Friday afternoon when we arrived until Monday when we packed it up, This Camp ground was one big PARTY!!! It was filled with Glamis families and friends.....So if you are looking for a family friendly party place ...look no more!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mn8hisluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My family and I were there through easter. We had a wonderfull time. The amenities are amazing. The sites are well equiped and well maintained. The staff is incredible. That is a definite plus. They make you feel right at home. My children can't wait to go back and enjoy the movies on the beach throughout the summer. I do recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a relaxing and beautiful vacation spot. The sites are a bit pricy but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guccigirl164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

My family and I, which includes an infant, 10 yr old and 15 yr, all stayed at the "Dunes" and had a wonderful experience. The resort is huge and very well maintained. There is something to do for all ages, even during the winter months. My boys loved playing bingo on Saturday evening and winning a nice Newport Dunes Blanket!

I've camped at many locations, but this has to be one of the best. Where else can you camp on the water in beautiful Newport Beach? Close to Disneyland and all the major So Cal attractions. If you stay there, make sure you visit the Back Bay Bistro, which is located on the property. Awesome Sunday champagne brunch and great happy hour. You can escape the kids for a bit and walk over there for some food and beverages (on the water I might add) and not even have to leave the resort!

I highly recommend this resort....Your family will love it!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hbdaddy_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed at the beachfront cottages at Newport Dunes Resort and were incredibly impressed. The staff went out of their way to make sure all 6 cottages were located next to each other. The rooms were comfortable, and perfectly sized for a weekend get-away with lots of children! The resort grounds were clean and well-manicured. The staff was pleasant and always eager to provide assistance. We will gladly stay here year after year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I've been going to Newport Dunes for over 20 years. There is so much to do there and its beautiful and relaxing. I live 20 minutes away and try to go there as much as I can in the summer and/or year round. I love to rent the kayaks, go to the beach, eat brunch at their restaurant, go boating and I've rented their cottages too. Everything is very convenient.

It's great for the whole family. When our daughter was young we would spend many weekends at the Dunes, you can pull your car right up to the sand and unload the toys, rafts and beach gear. There is a playground, beach, pool, snack bar, showers, fire pits, movies on the beach weekend nights, the list goes on. You can also ride your bikes along the back bay which is beautiful.

I highly recommend visiting Newport Dunes, you'll fall in love.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnfromIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
581 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort

Property: Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Address: 1131 Back Bay Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-7405
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV resort located near Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Dunes Waterfront Hotel Newport Beach
Camping Newport Beach
Newport Dunes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing