We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unclear package details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unclear package details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the resort a few nights ago and we booked a package that included "Spa Cuisine Lunch for two (2) at The Spa at Pelican Hill " We checked in around 3 and had a couples massage at 5:30. The following day we went to the Spa for our lunch but were told that we could not dine together and that the food would take 45 minutes to arrive. Apparently this "lunch" was meant to be consumed alone in the gender specific area. Some helpful employee saw what was happening and suggested that they feed us in the front waiting room together which was nice. We ordered 2 glasses of champage and a few snacks which came to $80. The lunch credit was $75 so we thought we would be charged just the balance. Upon leaving we found that they charged us the full $80. I called and they said they would take care of that. The revised bill now showed a charge of now $65 so I called back. Oh the champagene is not covered by the credit. Ok so can I come back and use my $50 credit? The answer was no. Maybe its a new program for them but it sure did not go smoothly. On top of that we had dinner in our room but they never came back to clean up so we had to move everything outside so we could go to bed. Still a very nice resort but I was surprised with the problems and lack of follow up when I made them known.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience. Your sincere feedback is appreciated, as we strive to provide the highest levels of service and exceed our guests’ expectations.

I apologize for the confusion you experienced about what was included in the Spa lunch. I have taken the time to personally follow up with our director of Spa, in-room dining and housekeeping managers to address the inconveniences you experienced. I assure you that what you experienced was the exception, and not the rule.

I would like to take the time to speak with you directly to discuss your feedback in more detail. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. Once again, I apologize that your experience was less than perfect, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Kind regards,

Santosh Kuruvilla
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    173
    112
    51
    60
See reviews for
419
434
32
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Please do yourself and your family a favor and stay out of this Hotel! I spend the weekend there with my family and spend over 2 grand on room and food and it was the worst experience of my life!
The management there is terrible, the people who work there are unhelpful and a bunch of liers!
We got items stolen from our room, we got our car keyed in a private parking lot and we were lied to about the check out time.
The property itself is nice, but the service and management is zero!!!!!
The hotel charges you an arm and a leg for everything you touch in your room. You feel like a prisoner and it's not kids friendly.
The food at all the restaurants in the hotel are tasteless and overpriced!
KEEP OUT AND SAVE YOUR MONEY FOR SOMEWHERE WORTH WHILE!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are Spaciuos, but because the service is so terrible the size of the room doesn't matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sam123456143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience with us. I understand your disappointment and am sorry to read about the unfortunate experiences described here. I apologize that your experience fell short of your expectations and our goals.

The safety and security of all guests and staff is Pelican Hill’s top priority. We interviewed the housekeeping staff and searched their lockers as soon as we received the loss report. We found no discrepancies in the interviews. Additionally, our security manager and front office manager were in constant communication with you during the investigation and advised you of the findings. We do not condone the actions you have detailed here, and I regret that what should have been an enjoyable getaway for you and your family left you disappointed.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your candid feedback. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message so you may contact me at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,

Santosh Kuruvilla
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I rarely if at all ever write reviews for a hotel stay. However, this was one of the worst experiences my family and I have ever had staying at such a prominent and highly touted resort.
The pool staff at the villa pool is too thin and not well managed. It took approximately 17 minutes to get water and then 12 more minutes to get someone to come around to take our order.... After nearly an hour of waiting on and off we ate our lunch. The food was marginal, we waited another 30 minutes for staff member to come by and clear our dishes. We tried to flag four different people down and finally had to get up and go tell them to come over.... We asked very kindly for water again several times and no one brought it to us... The pool area wasn't even that busy... It was a terrible experience. It's so unfortunate because it's a lovely property and when you pay the price to stay at such a nice resort you expect what you pay for and that was clearly not the case. Poor service. Poor staff. Poor food. Poor experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at the pelican hill resort for four nights and we absolutely loved it! Everything is beautiful and very well displayed. However, It is hard not to order food and drinks by the pool and at the resort restaurants, which seems to add up very quickly. Everything is very highly priced, and after just two fruity drinks by the pool we had a bill for $50. Other than that, our stay was flawless. The service is great and the pool is amazing. Though we did not use the golf course, it looked immaculate. There were lots of other kids and adults, and we made lots of friends. The food is overall very good and nicely sized portions. We could not have asked for a better place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am delighted to learn that you and your family loved your recent trip to Pelican Hill, and appreciate you sharing your thoughtful comments about the food, pool and service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I really enjoy the general location of this hotel. The rooms are large and well-appointed. The property is near the coast but not a walk down to the beach. There are shuttlees every hour.. There is an enormous pool with good pool service. Bkfst was great, albeit expensive for the buffet at $55 per person. Dinner at Colliseum was beautifull , we sat in a private cabana whichi was great, but two items brought to the table of 7 people had actually gone bad. Andrea's is better, more formal, but indoors. The spa is really nice, and I had a grewat massage with a therapist there.ONe thing to note, I book wiht Amex Platinum always. This hotel is does not give upgrades even if there is availability. I have stayed at least a dozen times and that has consistently been the case. So you need to book exactly the room type you want to be in. This time I booked within a day and the reservation agent told me that the Ocean View Bungalow would upgrade to a suite upon availability. I checked and there was plenty of availability when we checked it but they still did not upgrade. Just something to note b/cthe neighboring beach properites in Laguna have been more generous with the upgrades. Overall a nice place to stay with proximity to the best shopping and restaurants in Orange County.

Room Tip: Pay for what you want. They have not upgraded us in a dozen+ stays since they opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are thankful for your numerous visits to Pelican Hill, and appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback about your most recent stay. While I am pleased to read about your consistent enjoyment of your accommodations, as well as your time at the Coliseum Pool, Andrea and the Spa, I am disappointed to learn that your dining experience at Coliseum Pool & Grill was not up to standard. I have personally addressed these comments with our management team. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

WOW!! I had family visiting from the east coast and we traveled from San Diego to Catalina for the day. I'm not familiar with Newport so I asked a friend who lives in Newport to recommend a nice place for dinner with a great view for our guests. My family was blown away. From the moment we pulled up to the valet at the Coliseum Grill to when we asked for our check - I was VERY happy. In fact, I will return with my hubby to enjoy a weekend at this resort - I was so impressed. This is a top notch property worthy of all it's accolades in Newport. Our dinner was delicious!! service was very good. Mind you, we were not dressed to impress (long day of driving...) but we were treated like royalty. I wish I lived closer - I would come here every week!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Kara,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Coliseum Pool & Grill with your family. It is our mission to provide every guest with Five-Star service, and I am delighted that this was reflected in your short visit here. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband for a weekend at our Tuscan seaside village.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I grew up in Hawaii and was privileged to visit many of the exclusive resorts on the Islands. The facilities, staff and amenities at Pelican Hill are among the best I have ever experienced. The view of the Newport Coasts from our room was excellent and made morning coffee a joy. I highly recommend the massage, it is an excellent way to begin your vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Rich,

Thank you for sharing your gracious feedback about Pelican Hill. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the Resort’s facilities, staff, amenities and spa treatment, and have taken the time to thank our entire staff for making your experience excellent.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.9 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing