We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and restaurant ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pool and restaurant ”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable pool. Gorgeous. Service was impeccable. Staff was pleasant. The poolside restaurant was very good, prices were reasonable and the staff was again pleasant and very attentive. We were not staying at the hotel but the property and staff were impressive enough that we are convinced that this is a must-stay resort. We will definitely return for a real stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwillens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    193
    128
    58
    63
See reviews for
460
487
37
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

we recently stayed at the resort at pelican hill in one of the villas. It was everything you could ask for and more! we will definitely go back and stay for longer than a week.
The villas are beautiful, the clubhouse for villas is great and the service spectacular.

Room Tip: We were in the villas and seems any of those would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for four wonderful nights in mid-April. Everything was top-notch and we couldn't have been more pleased. As others have noted, the service is some of the best around; courteous, efficient, and friendly. And the entire grounds of the very large property were immaculately tended to - absolutely gorgeous.

Check-in was easy, and the front desk staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. We booked a Double-Queen, Ocean View Bungalow, #338, and were completely pleased. Decor was understated and elegant, high-beamed ceilings, fireplace, lovely lanai, bathroom had every amenity a person could need, etc.

The grounds were stunning and afforded ample space to wander and catch lovely views of the ocean. We didn't use the golf course, but it looked lovely. We did make extensive use of their beautiful pool,however. Because it is 3'6" deep throughout the pool, our kids could play around easily - yet adults can just as easily swim around without hitting the bottom. Once again, the pool service was excellent; the minute we arrived, there was someone there to find seats for us and lay out our towels cheerfully and efficiently. Their lunch and drink menu was also very good.

We ate dinner at the Coliseum Grill on two of our four evenings and were very pleased both times. Extensive and excellent drink menu, wonderful food options, and very attentive and friendly service.

I didn't (unfortunately) take advantage of their spa but from what I could tell from what I saw, it would have been a treat. I did use their exercise facility; it was clean and had a good range of equipment.

Although it looked somewhat far from Crystal Cove State Beach on the map, I easily jogged down to it one day - I believe it's approximately 3.5-4 miles.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a complete luxury get-away. I think it works well both for romantic escapes as well as family vacations.

My only suggestion would be to designate a space for, or altogether prohibit, phone use at the pool - it's the ultimate distraction when trying to enjoy a relaxing day in an amazing environment.

Room Tip: We did enjoy our bungalow (#338) as it had an ocean view (albeit somewhat far). We also liked that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 61Kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I were here for a business trip in late April 2014. The resort is beautiful and well manicured and has some of the friendliest & most helpful staff we've every experienced in the US. We had a bungalow room with a partial ocean view (if we stood on our toes on a sunny day). The beds were fantastic and even the resort provided shampoo, conditioner & lotions were spa quality. Food was very good, especially the Oreo gelato!
This resort is mainly attractive to golfers with wives who shop. Since we aren't big on either, there was a bit of travel involved for us to be able to get to a beach, sightseeing or finding more affordable shopping/dining options. However, nearby Laguna Beach and Balboa Island were the cure for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in December 13 for a few days with the family - sheer perfection and top class service. View from our apartment was stunning and facilities were excellent. One or two hiccups during dinner service but the hotel did everything they could to put it right, even offering to dry clean my brothers tee shirt which had accidentally had coffee spilt on it. Would stay here again and recommend it to all. Tip: definitely need a hire car to make it down to Newport Beach and day trips to LA which can take well over an hour despite the relatively short distance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Here for 4 days fora. Incentive trip courtesy of my employer. There is nothing but positive observations to provide. The surroundings are fabulous with views of the ocean, golf course and hills. Our room was luxurious and the service from everyone we encountered just over the top. Fabulous golf course, outstanding food, a wonderful spa with talented staff!

This was a real treat... I can't imagine anyone rating this less than 5 stars! Not an inexpensive place to be but if you decide to go for it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: An ocean view is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Loved every minute here!! Only wish I could have stayed longer!! Stayed in 2bedroom villa. Beautiful spacious luxury suite!! Pool was amazing, staff was do accommodating! This place does everything right!!!! Totally want to go back and enjoy the golf and spa on next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mzlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing