We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Eve Freinds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas Eve Freinds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Got a great rate via AX Platinum, otherwise typical rates are to high. Great room "villa". Fireplace, huge bath, nice patio with table, loungers. Staff was great, not real flexible in restaurants as everything on xmas eve was prix fix only. Property is large and hilly, so expect to walk/hike, or call for shuttle. Great overall, although expensive for everything, but sometimes it is just worth it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    191
    126
    56
    61
See reviews for
448
481
37
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

every where we we go to was pretty enough to take pictures. it was so fancy and the staff was so nice. OCCASIONALLY, WE ENCOUNTER SMELLY SMOKERS. the food was good but small portion. it consider girl portion instead of men food portion. food is pricey. at the pelican grill, the y have a nice bar lounge with beautiful view. they have 2 giant tv to watch sport and live band music except the music band kept playing songs the average guest don't know so they either ignore the band or get up and leave. the band need to realize they need to play song that guest know and able to sing along or dance along. they were awful.

Room Tip: DON'T SMOKE ON the premise and stop wearing grandma perfume--YUCK. DO not wear bikini if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHAUSTER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Truly. Combine Tuscany and the Amalfi coast, open your eyes- and you'll find yourself at Pelican Hill...surrounded by European architecture, the expansive pacific..and palm trees.

What a property... What a view... What service...What delicious food...What lovely bungalows ~ complete with sumptuous beds... what a Spa.
What's not to love?!?!?!

If you'd like to experience the best of California (all of the above) and avoid the worst (traffic, crowds,smog, snobs) look no further, and book your stay at Pelican Hill.

Room Tip: Book a King suite bungalow with the best view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstandfifteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

we stayed here for a week in in June 2013 and loved it. The place is luxurious and the unit is impeccable. We saw 2 hummingbird just outside the back porch when we came in for the first time. The smell of the flower garden fills up the room in the morning. We were given oceanview property and loved it. Best pool we've been to. One of the rare occasions where we actually attempted to extend our vacation. Loved the trips to Laguna Beach and the rest of Orange County. Would love to visit this place again, and enthusiastically recommend it!

Room Tip: request for oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My second stay in the last year and everything was as perfect as the first time. Rooms are beautiful and large. Staff are friendly and professional. Amazing views of the Pacific and world class golf course. Restaurant was great. My two stays were business related, but this is definitely a place to plan a vacation in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibubrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hate to be a downer but I was not impressed today. Have been many times but today was kind of a bummer. Service was lack luster, slow and not really into it. No questions about what you might like to drink, no bread, food was very slow, no refills on water, no requests for any additional items needed, fish on tacos was hard and not tasty. Had to hunt down the waiter/waitress asked questions that seemed logical but seemed annoying to waitress. Valet was excellent and I appreciated that there was no valet charge but would have appreciated the same service and food at the Grill. Realizing that everyone in OC thinks they are "special" I was not asking for anything "special," just five star service for a five star price:) Better luck next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnie257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. While I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed the valet service, I am disappointed that your recent visit to the Grill fell short of your expectations and certainly our goals. Please know that I have personally addressed your concerns with the Pelican Grill management team, so we may continue to heighten the overall service experience.

I appreciate your gracious feedback and invite you to contact me directly, if I may be of personal assistance in arranging a return visit to the Pelican Grill in the future.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ridge, Louisiana, Usa
Level Contributor
246 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is an absolutely stunning resort with friendly, fabulous service. It is expensive, though so if you go be prepared for a rather large expense. But if you can afford this place, it is worth every penny. The pool area is magnificent and you overlook the golf course with the Pacific Ocean just beyond. The rooms, or bungalows as they call them are spacious, each with its own balcony and most with a view of the Pacific. Rooms are equipped with a coffee grinder, fresh beans and of course, a brewer. The only negative thing I have to say about the room is really about the throw pillows on the bed, and that is one of ours was very frayed at all 4 corners. Not exactly first rate. The rooms themselves are kept clean and beds are extremely comfortable.

There is an extensive fleet of Mercedes SUVs that are available for transport throughout the over 500 acre site. Just pick up your room phone and ask for a ride. Minutes later someone is there for you. They also offer a shuttle service to various nearby locations such as shopping or Crystal Cove Beach area.

We did not golf because of there was much rain during our stay but the course looks like one of the best around. The food was above average for a resort but the portions are generally large. Our first day we over ordered for lunch not knowing this and food was wasted.

One final note, the whole of this property is done in Tuscan architecture and done very well, almost too well. Everything is so very perfect, not quite like Italy but more like Tuscany on steroids!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with a view of the ocean. If you are a family, the Villas offer a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing