We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If Beauty, Serenity & Courtesy has a name, it got to be "The Resort at Pelican Hill". This was our (me & my wife) first stay here and we are glad we came here. The rooms/cottages were huge looking over the hill. The rooms and elegant decoration and a lovely fireplace. Having coffee at the balcony was a blissful experience.
However what made our stay was the friendly and courteous staff. We really liked the conversation that we had with all the staff.
The breakfast served in the rooms were awesome especially the muffins.

Another thing to do is the trip around the Golf course which is supposed to be one of the finest in the world.

I wish the massage session should have been longer :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are carefully well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulS679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    173
    112
    51
    60
See reviews for
419
433
32
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this hotel as it has become one of our favorite places to stay. Our main reasons why we enjoy this property so much are because of the large and beautiful standard rooms, the unique layout of the hotel, and the pretty setting.

The rooms, called bungalows, are pure bliss and provide a very attractive and relaxing environment. Besides being very large, they are comfortable and come across as more homey than a standard hotel room. Perhaps it is the limestone fireplace, light wood cabinetry, or vaulted wood beamed ceiling that makes you feel you are in a special place. An equally sublime bathroom of pure luxury and space should also be noted. These features combined with a cohesive soft color palate create the perfect retreat. To top it off, large well-made sliding glass doors open to a spacious private patio. Ours came with two lounge chairs, a large umbrella, and a table with two chairs.

We like that the bungalows are set on four different streets in charming clusters and rows. The architecture is very attractive, as is the landscaping. It makes walking to the Coliseum and the main building a pleasant stroll. It is also nice that you are able to park nearby your room. It all makes you feel like you are staying in our own little private villa on a grand estate, and not at a standard hotel or resort.

The rest of the hotel is also wonderful. The Coliseum pool is very cool and fun to swim in. The restaurants are all very nice and visually appealing with good food. The gym is decent sized so that a full workout can be achieved. The spa area is great, especially the hot tub which is located in a tiled room that reminds us of a mini Grand Central. All this, plus Wi-fi in your room, is included in your room rate with no additional fees.

Service overall at the hotel is pretty good, but falls somewhat short of the outstanding service we have experienced at other hotels of this caliber.

Our past stays have been at less busy times at the hotel and the increase in the amount of guests did affect our stay a little. Our room was not ready until just before the official check in time of 4pm. The next day we returned to our room at 3:30pm to find that maid service was not done. A phone call was made and within fifteen minutes the service was provided. As mentioned, the patios are private but noise and smoke from neighbors can travel your way. A new feature at the pool is rafts that seem to be collected by young children that use then use them as diving boards. The pool is very large so it should not really stop you from enjoying the pool, it is more of a safety concern that the hotel should reconsider. There is no adult pool here, and the kid’s pool is nice but what child would want to be in a separate pool when the Coliseum pool beckons.

One more note: the bungalows seem to come in only two categories: garden view, and ocean view. We have never been disappointed with our location, but the views in each category seem to vary to a fair degree. There really should be a third middle designation.

Regardless of your placement, you are still at one of the most attractive resorts around and staying in a room that we personally find as one of the best we have ever come across.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Highly recommend this amazing beautiful resort. The food is exceptional and they even have an inhouse geleto laboratory, spectacular ocean views and exceptional quality food. You dont want to leave Pelican Hill

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blink99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to Pelican Hill and I am as amazed if not more so. The thing that I find so amazing has got to be the staff. Upon check in Pauline was so friendly and made me feel welcomed back, Jon the manager went out of his way to ensure all of my needs where met, by introducing me to the staff that would be available to me and making me aware of their names, I truly feel like family when I come to Pelican Hill. I have to recommend that if you happened to journey to the coliseum pool the manager Jameson will treat you like royalty, and last but not least I have to mention Betty at the front desk, she has got to be the most outgoing and enjoyable person to be greeted by when you walk in the door. So if you are not already convinced about staying then I hope my review has been helpful for you in making the right decision. Enjoy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgtsizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

if you want to just "chill out", then this is your place! very relaxing, excellent amenities, first class service. Spa was first class. Rooms were spacious and linens were top quality. Great nearby restaurants if you want to leave the resort. We loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mycuzinviny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed for 4 nights at Pelican Hill and it was a wonderful experience. Breakfast buffet is amazing! Team members are absolutely delightful. It was wonderful spending the entire day at the Coliseum pool on Saturday.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMizani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second time to stay in the North Villas. Please see my other review. I will start off by saying, we very much enjoy this hotel, however, on this trip I found a few flaws. The first was the condition of our living/kitchen area rug. (room 621) The rug was very stained and NEEDS to be cleaned by a professional. The condition was disgusting. The other problem we encountered was the tv. The remotes had been switched around and the volume was not working properly. It was more than just finding which remote went to the right tv. Maintenance did come (at almost 9pm) and fixed the problem with the volume. Twice we had someone park in our garage, however we did not complain. It was easier to just park in the extra parking right across from the garages.

A crib was provided for our 2 yr old upon request. It worked out nicely. They provided the fitted sheet.

The colosseum pool has a very lovely buffet breakfast and you don't want to miss sitting by the pool.

Andrea's is Italian... make sure you order the mushroom risotta. It's fabulous.

Besides the few complaints mentioned, it's a great resort. I do hope management will read this and clean the filthy rug.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.9 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing