We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Pelican hill resort is the best everything there is perfect! I just loved it there i also liked their lavender and honey ice tea so i think pelican hill is a REALLY GOOD HOTEL! Pelican hill has so many facilities and there rooms are great the have so many lovely pools and great restuarants i really enjoyed it there!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    191
    126
    56
    61
See reviews for
448
481
37
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to PH on a corporate event but stayed an extra few days on our own following. The facilities are all above first class, and with the right bungalow, the views are magnificent. We thought the food, both at the events and on our own was well above average, but didn't always justify the price, but then that is often the norm at many of the high end spots throughout our travels. The staff was quite accommodating to all of our needs. However, unless you get a real thrill out of paying outlandish prices for mediocre services by snooty folks, avoid the Spa. But would we go back, absolutely, because the over all experience was a real treat.

Room Tip: Request something high enough to get a clear view of the water if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmj8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is far and away the best resort I have ever set foot in, and to date, the only five star review I have given in spite of having stayed at numerous high end resorts in Europe and North America. As I have stated in reviews prior, there needs to be an objective standard for overall excellence and the Pelican Hill is the archetype from my perspective.

I could have shot three rolls of film documenting the gorgeous detail of our 800 square foot room and the impressive and tasteful buildings that house the restaurants and bars. My girlfriend was ecstatic when she found the robes, bed linens and towels to be of the highest quality and we had our own private, outdoor patio.

Dining was a decadent affair every evening as we sampled the finest Californian vintages - one doesn't need to spend too much, but we were celebrating and frugality was not our priority. Meals were so good that we decided to frequent both of the onsite restaurants multiple times in favour of venturing off the property.

The staff were helpful and offered to drive me wherever I wanted to go, which was usually to the spectacular pool area, which was literally like nothing I had ever imagined.

We rearranged our trip to extend our stay, and although the whole world beckons, we dream of going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCYC273HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tesside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

had the pleasure of staying at Pelican Hill as part of my work.. Everything they do here is top notch. From the moment we checked in to the hotel we were treated so well. Everything here is grand and larger than life, without being really OTT.. The staff treated us with grace and kindness. They even picked something up from the hotel store for me and brought it to my room. The turndown service was beyond compare. Handmade chocolate, slippers .

We ate in the restaurant s and ordered room service the food was delicious .
. The shuttle was where we needed it when we needed it.

Travelling with children we used camp pelican and the children enjoyed the time and activities on offer, again as with everywhere else in the resort the staff were wonderful.

If you are looking for an amazing place, with a fantastic staff in an unbeatable location...this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boro86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've been a big fan of The Montage for years, but decided to try PH this time because I was going to be in Corona Del Mar and Newport Beach a lot.
I have to say I'm very surprised by all the 5 star reviews because our experience there was far from perfect. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could.
We went with a villa and the good news is that is was HUGE and very reasonably priced for the size. We could have easily shared it with another couple (or even two!).
The golf course view was nice, though I'd rather see more of the ocean (largely blocked by trees). I personally didn't like the décor - almost everything was beige or tan and kind of clunky - just not very attractive in my opinion. And surprisingly some of it wasn't in the best shape or of very high quality. A couple cabinets were dinged up, one of the shelves in the bathroom came apart under slight pressure, the curtains in the living room were so narrow that you couldn't cover more than about half the window. But by far the worst thing with the facilities was the horrible TV service which went out four times during our stay - once in the middle of a PPV movie. Extremely frustrating.
So while the size of the villa was 5 stars, the quality of the stay there definitely was not.
Service was very good if a touch hokey and forced.
Food in the restaurants was good, not great, and very expensive.
If the pricing is the same and you don't need to be in North OC, I would highly recommend The Montage over PH. Rooms, food, vibe, views and beach access are SO much better there.
But if you can get a great deal at PH like we did and/or you need the location, it's probably worth giving it a try. Many reviewers obviously loved it - unfortunately not I.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about your recent visit. Although I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our luxurious Villa accommodations, I’m disappointed to read that your overall experience did not meet your expectations and our goals.

Based upon the thoughtful feedback you have provided, I have taken the time to personally follow up with our Villa management team to address any imperfections you may have encountered during your stay. I apologize for any discontent you may have experienced while visiting the Resort.

As we continuously strive to heighten the guest experience throughout our Five-Star Resort, I want to thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you again soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The Resort at Pelican Hill twice in the past 12 months. Both visits have been outstanding experiences. The 2 golf courses are simply spectacular and the golf operation is first rate with fore caddies included with each round. The resort itself is beautiful and very well run. Rooms are in bungalow buildings that run along the ridge lines on the hills. The rooms are quite large and include gas burning fireplaces and large patios. I have eaten in all 3 restaurants and the food is consistently very good. My wife said the spa is top notch. This is a great long weekend get away spot particularly for couples and families. You see a lot of families here enjoying the large pool area. It is only a 15 minute drive from Orange County airport. This is a spot you will want to come back to again and again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wineandfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pelican Hill Resort is a perfect getaway for just a day or an extended stay. Conveniently located along the Pacific Coast between Newport Beach and Laguna Beach, it is a great base for seeing many of the sights of Southern California. It's a short drive to Disneyland and just over an hour to Los Angeles.
The resort itself is not located directly on the beach but across Pacific Coast Highway in the hills facing the ocean. The views are stunning from many of the public areas of the resort and the restaurants. What a pleasure to wake up to a beautiful ocean view from our bungalow. Now when you hear the word bungalow you may think of a rather small accommodation which certainly doesn't apply to the bungalows at Pelican Hill. The room is very large with high vaulted ceilings, an enormous bathroom and beautifully appointed furnishings. The entire resort is large. So large in fact that in order to move around the resort you are transported by complimentary shuttle from your room to the various facilities on the property.
The level of service at the resort 6 star. Everyone is beyond friendly and accommodating. A very warm welcoming feeling was felt throughout our stay.
The food is amazing!! Our dinner at The Pelican Grill was perfection from their signature cocktails to the last morsel of my filet mignon and crab tater tot.
I think the resort is best for couples or families who don't require a lot of activities to keep themselves busy. Great for golfers but the lack of tennis courts left me a bit puzzled and surprised for a resort of this size.
We are already looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: The ocean view bungalows are perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebB818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing