We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Sensational!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wow! Sensational!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I checked in for four nights and all I can say is wow! From the moment we entered the facility we were treated like royalty. Regardless of where we went or who we encountered, we were always greeted by name as if we were family.

The room, with a view of the Pacific, was perched on a hill just a short walk from the pool, restaurants, spa, workout facility, etc. The bedroom had a working fireplace, more than ample storage, work area with very large desk, and a bathroom with a window into the bedroom and out to the Pacific. Additionally, there was a very large and private balcony.

The evening we arrived was the day American Airlines had their computer outage and it took us 12 hours to fly cross country. Despite our tired and greasy look and still in our travel clothes, we were greeted like royalty at their top-level restaurant. The restaurant itself will be reviewed separately, but was outstanding both in terms of service and food.

We had the opportunity to sit by the pool one day, and again, the staff couldn't have been more kind, they were they when you needed them but scarce when you wanted privacy.

The concierge staff was also extremely helpful in recommending sites, beaches, restaurants in surrounding towns, etc. Not only did they make reservations, but they provided very detailed directions, and if needed, could arrange for transportation.

All in all, a wondeful experience and definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Since it's a rather large property, I would suggest you ask for a room within walking distance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    192
    127
    58
    62
See reviews for
454
484
37
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This resort is First Class all the way! Filled overly friendly staff ready to assist you with every move!
Location is at the top of the cliff so the view is amazing. The resort is just outside of Newport Beach...so it is a slight drive to town.. Need a car to get to restaurants n shops! However they do have plenty of drivers available with a great fleet of SUVs ! We opted for a villa instead of two hotel rooms..as It was less expensive than two hotel rooms. Amazing place!

Room Tip: Hotel reservations are so helpful..they ask a lot of questions about your trip to help get the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warehouse2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Tuscan-style property with amazing views and grounds is definitely a great get-away, with generally great staff. When we checked in and announced a special occasion, however, we were told pretty dismissively that there are no upgrades available without additional cost and that even if we were to upgrade, it would only be for two nights. And, despite it being around 5 pm, our room was not ready. After loitering in the lobby and seeing the breathtaking views, we decided to pay for the upgrade and be able to get into a room right away. We ended up being told we could get the ocean view for all three nights, but the whole check-in experience felt a little less than 5 stars. The ocean view bungalow room was well worth it though and the gas fireplaces are really awesomely cozy. Each room has its own entrance and the balcony is big enough for two chaise lounges and a table and chairs, which was spectacular.

A little bumpy at the concierge desk as well -- when inquiring about restaurants in a particular neighborhood in Newport Beach, the first concierge told me that he was printing a list of 40 or so recommended restaurants and would google the neighborhood. When I told him that I could do this myself, and that I was looking for a little more personalized a recommendation, he was fairly offended but did refer me to the other concierge staff, who did seem to have actually dined in Newport Beach before and were a lot nicer.

We dined a lot on property and would highly recommend the Pelican Grill near the golf course. It offered a good variety and the service was top notch without being stuffy. We got to sit on the patio with heat lamps and were given blankets, which was very fun and then were still able to eat "outdoors." We ate at the Italian restaurant as well, where overall the ambitious combinations outweighed the taste -- some strange pasta combos simply didn't play out well. But my friend's hesitancy to offer praise was immediately met with an offer to swap out the dish, which she did with some improvement in the dinner. The service was a bit stuffy, although very attentive. The views make the restaurant, though.

Room service was great in that we received a full table set-up service with every order and the food was very good. In-room Cuisinart Grind-and-Brew coffee makers were also a nice touch, although the coffee available to use was $10/bag, which started to approach room service costs for coffee.

The spa facilities were lovely and free to guests, including a large jacuzzi-type indoor pool that evoked a Roman bath. Really nice. My massage therapist was a little strange in that she seemed be going a mile a minute, even after I asked her to slow down, but overall it was okay for a resort spa. Having a spa "day" was worth it.

Crystal Cove beach was a nice excursion, with a tiny town and cafe area that was fun to visit. The shuttles were very convenient. Overall, a great get-away.

Room Tip: Pelican grill is best, ocean view bungalows are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very nice, the staff was unbelievably helpful. We stayed in a bungalow with a million dollar view. The one downside is there is only 3 restaurants on site so If you don't want to go out its not ideal.
Great big heated pool and semi private cabanas where you can relax. You can walk to Cristal cove or grab a cab to Laguna beach ($20) for a 10 min ride. Fashion Island if you want to do some shopping will also cost you ($20). In all a 5 star + hotel.

Room Tip: Other than a special view, all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena, CA.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Well ,we checked in and all was well .We are asked if we had been upgraded as we are Centurion Amex .They said nothing was available but if we wanted to pay more they could do it . We went to our Bungalow and it was nice but not great .Not what we thought we were getting .They lost 2 FedEx packages that they had signed for ,it took them a day and a half to find them . The next day it was cold and rainy ,we had booked a Cabana at $350 .We asked if they had heaters ,no .We asked if we could cancel .No, we had to pay as they require 72 hours notice to cancel regardless of weather .I guess it would be fun in a Hurricane !!!! After 20 minutes of back and forwards they did not charge us . Went back to our room and asked for Champagne glasses ,No . Later we asked for room service ,first they said they were to busy and would be at least 1 hour and we asked for something on another menu .No . So we tried to check out .They said we would have to pay for our whole stay as that is the rules .They did very reluctantly move us to the Villas which was great and the way to go .Yes the Resort is overrun with Kids and if you want quite time forget it .On our last day they drove us out of our Cabana and the staff would not ask the parents to ask there kids to use inside voices .They comped us a coffee to make up for the noise !! Great.

Enough of the negative ,The hotel has a lot of good things .Good food,great service and great views .The Villas are amazing and well worth the money.Yes it is all spread out and you have to drive a lot but not a big deal .I would come back to the Villas if they come up with a Kids pool .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank perryb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about your recent visit. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our Villas, but I am disappointed to read that your overall experience was less than perfect.

Based upon the comments you mentioned regarding cabana reservations, the pool and in-room dining, I have personally taken this opportunity to follow up with the leaders of each department. Please know that your feedback is a gift, as we continually strive to heighten the overall guest experience in every corner of the Resort.

I apologize your experience fell short of your expectations and our goals. I appreciate your candid feedback and kindly invite you to contact me directly to discuss your experience in more detail. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel staff are snobs and think you are above everyone else. Everything is also overpriced once you are at the hotel. The bungalows are nice but the resort is too spread out. The location scenic is nice but far from restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wilsonling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent experience with us. I am disappointed to read that your visit fell short of your expectations and our goals. At Pelican Hill, our aim is to deliver gracious, personalized Five-Star service to each and every guest.

I apologize that your experience was less than perfect. I appreciate your perspective and kindly invite you to contact me directly to discuss your feedback in more detail. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. Again, thank you for your candid feedback.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

There are very few hotels where you go and everything is simply perfect. This was our third visit to the property and again, flawless execution throughout all areas of the hotel. It was one of those gloomy weekends we have in Southern California in April. We had utilized the American Express Centurion package which includes the breakfast, spa credit, pool cabana and breakfast each day. We sat in our cabana and watched The Masters wrapped in towels. Our pool attendant couldn't have been more accommodating.

The rooms, as always, were perfect and so very thoughtfully put together. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the in-room internet worked well, we had a lovely ocean view and the fireplace helped warm up the room in the cool California mornings. We stayed in the 400 area of the resort (423) and the view is perfect from there. I've been up the hill a little more in the past and I would enjoy staying down in this area again.

The food in the restaurant is superb. We did the breakfast buffet which was full of great options - not overdone - but just great options people want for breakfast. Probably the best omelette station I have seen in a long time.

All in all, I can never say enough great things about Pelican Hill. People often ask what my one area to fix would be. This is a hard place to find something....but as I say with most hotels....get a really great shower head and I'll be a really happy "camper". For someone who travels extensively, this is the one item that most hotels miss.

Room Tip: The 400 area of rooms are very close to the ocean - probably from 415 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVFLDCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing