We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property in the OC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
200 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in the OC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Pelican Hill is an enormous gorgeous property. It has a very opulent, posh feel from the moment you drive up. Most rooms seem to have fireplaces which I love. Bathrooms, bar and electrical conveniences are well set-up in the room with attention to detail apparent. It isa very spread out property which is nice for privacy. There seems to be a great set-up for golfers but tennis is 5 miles away which was disappointing. The three shops are really nice with great stuff - fun for some retail therapy when the weather turned foggy. Andrea is a great restaurant - five star in terms of food and service, and is actually fairly priced. Pool food service was weak - they got our order wrong but replaced it and room service forgot a few ingredients. I thought the hotel was expensive but provided a decent value for the money. The hotel is not that close to the beach and it seemed, which had some construction going on ( June 19th weekend ) which made the pool far more appealing and an easier option. The huge round pool is quite striking and has a distant but gorgeous ocean view over the golf course. There is a very nice spa and gym facility. I have to say two things kind of bothered us about the gym. They let our teenaged kids ( very experienced athletes who use gyms all the time) use the gym the first day and then said they could not on Father's Day Sunday which was a bummer, although they did let them rent bikes for $70 for a half day instead. The other strange thing is that they upcharge about 50% for "weekend rates" at the spa..never heard this anywhere in the world before and I have been to many top spa hotels. We opted to try this hotel over the top two other Laguna Beach resorts we have been frequenting for years. The other two have an easier flow between the spa and the pool. One weakness of this hotel is the spa is far from the main pool in a different building completely and there is not an easy flow between the two. Both of the other hotels we frequent have a lap pool with immediate access to the spa. Pelican Hill was nice to try this time but in the future I would probably return to the other properties if I was with kids as they have easier beach access and are more relaxed about teens using the workout facilities and just go to visit Pelican Hill for a meal or maybe return if we were just going as a couple for a peaceful, comfortable getaway.

Room Tip: book with Amex to get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you chose to visit Pelican Hill with your family and appreciate your detailed feedback.

Please allow me to provide an explanation of our weekday value rates at The Spa. As you discussed over the phone with Resident Manager Donald Stamets after this review posted, our pricing structure provides tiered rates during off-peak weekday periods. Most guests and locals find this to be a wonderful value for a Five-Star, Five-Diamond Spa experience. Our regular rates remain steady during weekends when our therapists and other spa professionals are in highest demand. We strive to offer the most competitive rates around our area – including the best value during weekend peak periods.

In addition to values on services and treatments, all Resort and Spa guests have complimentary access (no added Resort fees) to ample amenities, including the fitness center, Acqua Colonnade (with Roman soaking tubs, eucalyptus steam room and cedar sauna), men’s and women’s lounges, showers, vanity areas, lockers/ changing rooms, daily guided beach hike, movement studio and complimentary fitness classes.

I understand your level of disappointment regarding your family’s experience accessing the fitness center, which fell short of your expectations and our goals. Rest assured, I have met with the spa director to review your feedback and consider reasonable exceptions to our minimum age requirement moving forward.

Finally, I sincerely regret your unfortunate experience with in-room dining and poolside food service. I have discussed this feedback with our Director of Food & Beverage, as we continuously make every effort to heighten our service performance throughout each corner of the Resort.

In closing, thank you once again for your valuable feedback. It is truly a gift to us, as we strive to offer an unparalleled all-around experience and exceptional personal service for every guest, with the finest in facilities, services and values. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you at Pelican Hill. Please contact me directly if I could be of personal assistance.

Sincerely,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    191
    126
    56
    61
See reviews for
448
481
37
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I just returned from pelican hill. We were only there for 1 night and we can't stop talking or thinking about our stay. I booked a 2 bedroom villa and called to see if there was any chance we could check in early and the person I spoke with said they would do their best to accommodate our request. Only a short drive from San Diego we said goodbye to our 3 boys "under the age of 6" and headed north. We arrived at the villa checkin at 10:10am and were already blown away by how amazing this resort looked. Not only did they have our villa ready "unheard of to be able to check in at 10am!!" they also upgraded us to a 3 bedroom villa!! After a 5 second drive we arrived at villa 720 with our butler standing at the driveway waiting to greet us. Then it gets better. Is that possible. The villa. Oh my goodness. Amazing! Ocean view and the villa was huge and spotless and had everything we would have needed and more. The villa pool amazing, food and drinks at the pool also great. Dinner at Andrea's amazing! Every single employee that we encountered asked how we were and if we needed anything. So professional and super friendly which must mad our stay even better. We will be back maybe with the boys or maybe just another adult only visit. Thank you everyone at pelican hill for making our stay AMAZING!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happymesandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This was our third stay with Pelican Hill. As usual the stay was fantastic. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are quiet and so private. The staff are gracious, courteous and ALWAYS accomodating. My daughter is gluten free and the chef's and staff always do a wonderful job making fabulous food she is thrilled with. Our housekeeping was a little spotty this trip, but they were VERY busy. I would recommend the beaches in Laguna rather than Crystal Cove (the beach they shuttle too) as they are much nicer, as is Corona Del Mar (the restrooms are closer and not as many bugs). That said I have stayed at a lot of five star resorts and Pelican Hill is the best of the best!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sctsdlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I traveled to California and stayed at the Pelican Hill resort compliments of my job. Everything was amazing. I only wished that I had brought my partner with me, so that she could enjoy this peaceful and relaxing environment. We were greeted by the friendly staff and treated like royalty. The rooms were very spacious and decorated simply buy sleek and clean. The bathroom was like a dream. It actually had a window that opened up into the bedroom area and there were double sinks with more counter top than you knew what to do with. The views were awesome everywhere you looked, especially the one at the colliseum pool. There was a golf course that was perfectly manicured and of course you were right on the waters edge. The food was fabulous and again the staff was very courteous. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking to get away and treat themselves.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The design of the Resort @ Pelican Hill takes its cue from Andrea Palladio, great Italian Renaissance architect: classical forms, floor to ceiling marble and robust roman columns make it a 'grande scale' resort.

Liked the free front of bungalow parking and the resorts landscaping adding to the overall Med design with olive trees, lanes of cypress trees, vivid bougainvillea bushes and cotton tail rabbits, on commission to trim the lawns!

The bungalow's vaulted woodbeam ceilings and large gas-lit limestone fireplace add to the residential ambience of a Tuscan cottage.

We loved the tranquility of the golf course and ocean views from the private patio of our bungalow. The bungalows have overstuffed, deep couches and beds you simply flop into, with pillows menus and personal reader lights.

Mod cons include Bose audio sound system, a home cinema size flat screen 42 x 50 inch TV, MP3 port and super-fast comp. wifi will please those wanting to keep intouch while travelling.

Inroom supplies include gourmet treats from the ultimate luxury food brand, Dean & Deluca... midnight snack attack sorted!

The bathroom, the size of a one bedroom apartment, deserves a special mention: Marble walk-in shower, Kohler bathroom fixtures, heavenly Gilchrist & Soames guest supplies. Touches like the bath tray with book stand and wine glass holder is indicative that your every need has been considered. It is little wonder this is the #1 Resort in California as voted by Conde Nast Traveller Reader Choice Awards... It gets our vote!

Room Tip: Ask for 421!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SingleonSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

From beginning to end, our stay was flawless. The level of service is fantastic, the surroundings fantastic and the rooms are exquisite. Wonderful romantic getaway. We would go back tomorrow!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyatips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed in the south villas from may 22 to may 29,

the concierge arranged our transportation to and from lax, this went without a single issue. we stayed in the south villas which are very close to the villa clubhouse. we stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. the villas are very very clean. the decor was very nice and the views from the patio were outstanding. bedrooms are more then big enough and the beds are super comfy. kitchen was well equipped and made it very easy for me to cook up the kids something when they were hungary. loved the fact that they had a laundry room and garage to park the car. I had the hotel arrange a vehicle for us. could not have been any easier of a experience. the pool was awesome, clean and the water was the perfect temperature. The natural beauty of the hotel was unbelievable, very manicured grounds.

my only wish is that pelican hill resort put a playground in somewhere on the resort for kids of all ages

the hotel has some very fine details, they gave us baby soap that was all organic. they provided laundry soap and bounce sheets which is helpful with kids. Gave the kids some hot chocolate when they were at the pool complementary after the sunset which made the kids evening. simple details that have a large impact in quality and convenience of stay.

overall i encourage families to give this resort a try, they will not go wrong. we absolutely loved our stay and will be back this summer...hopefully :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing