We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the land of Oz to paradise.”
Review of Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balboa Inn
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Dodge City KS.
1 review
“From the land of Oz to paradise.”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Granted folks from Kansas are not use to oceans of water. Our stay here was the perface experiance. We wanted to stay near the beach and we found the perfact place. We were able to walk (less than 100 yards) to the beach to experiance the most beautiful sunrise. The rooms were very comfortable and nastalgic,the beds were soft, and with the ocean breezes coming in the window everything was perfact. Folks that complain about the facilites and the neighbors need to go back to the hilton with thier noses in the air. If you want to relax at the beach this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgeCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    37
    51
    91
See reviews for
63
103
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We booked the $199 room. It is not the one shown on the website by any means. Really shabby. I don't mind old; I don't mind small; I don't even mind not-remodeled-in-a-long-time. But the furnishings just weren't nice. Moreover, it was very hot and seemed that it probably wouldn't cool down at night. The old rooms simply need a little facelift. HOWEVER, when I spoke with the manageress on duty, she agreed to upgrade us. If we hadn't been upgraded, I think I would have felt ripped off. It was the most expensive hotel in the area. Granted it's at the end of the pier, so it is going to cost more.
I'd definitely stay again. I loved the old-fashioned feel of the place, the breakfast out of doors with a view, and the kindly staff. All in all, a very nice stay.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bixto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We just came from this quaint hotel right at the end of the pier, we had a great time and loved the room, very clean and charming. Staff was very welcoming and helpful. We loved the atmosphere and the view was great! We will be back for sure!! and recommend a suite.
MP & JT
Santa Clarita, CA

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MPT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is the NOISIEST hotel I have ever stayed in. The charming, open patio areas on the ground level and second floor are pleasant to sit in and chat during the day -- but people continue to sit and chat and yell and run up and down the stairs ALL NIGHT. Just when you think you're going to drift off into an exhausted slumber (I'm talking 3:30 a.m.), someone else goes by yelling for his friend, or galloping up the stairs. Granted, there was a high school reunion when I was there -- but still, you would think even they would go to bed sometime -- or that at least the hotel management would tell them to go into their rooms and be quiet. Further, it is HOT. No A/C, just fans, which means the windows have to be open, which prevents any escape from the constant noise. Oh, and if you want to use the internet, it will cost you $25; costs $28 per day to park at the hotel. Go down the block to the 24-hour municipal parking lot for $8!

Lovely location, great food, shopping, beach -- but restful? No way.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshamydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We made the mistake of believing what was shown on the website for how the rooms looked. WRONG. The rooms on the website are part of the "new" hotel of which there are a very very limited number. The hotel rooms in the old part of the hotel are beat up. Cracked tiles, very noisy, and hot! I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Very very poor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotifyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

The noise from the bar across the street was bad enough, but when night management does nothing (except make excuses) to keep other guests from partying and swearing right outside your window till 3:30 in the morning; that is inexcusable. We had to call and complain 3+ times several of the nights we were there. Our room/bath was in need of major updating and very overpriced for what you got. We booked this hotel because my daughter planned her wedding/reception on sight and we thought it would be convenient. A good number of our wedding guests’ booked rooms also. They were just as displeased about the noise a condition of rooms. Although the wedding was lovely (wedding coordinator/staff helpful) I really expected a much classier place for the location and price of the room. The huge challenge on the wedding day was parking for guest. Although all arrived at least one+ hours prior to the wedding, several could not find parking till after the ceremony was over. We love the Balboa/Newport area and visit family/ friends there frequently, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLifeHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Great location at the foot of the pier. Easy walk to the beach, or the interesting shops and restaurants in the Balboa area.

However....
It's perhaps the noisiest hotel we've ever stayed at. You have to understand the architecture. The brochure shows the new, airconditioned, sealed window wing of the hotel. With a price to match. The older, original building has no A/C. But that's not a problem with the cool sea breeze right? Nope. With windows only on one side, there's no way to get airflow through the room. The only cooling is with the windows wide open.

Don't try to nap Sunday afternoon. Loud band in the bar below. Don't try to sleep at night. Loud patrons in the bar below, and from the bar across the street. Don't try to sleep late in the morning. Street sweepers and trash trucks at 6:00 AM.

Beds comfortable, but furniture in disrepair. Drawer missing, desk drawer front broken, cracked sink in bath. Oh, and $10 per day for internet access? Give me a break!

Continental breakfast outside, in the elements, on tables that haven't been cleaned in forever.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but not on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday night. If you want the location, you pay the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
987 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Property: Balboa Inn
Address: 105 Main St, Newport Beach, CA 92661-1397
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing