We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balboa Inn
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Balboa Inn for one night between Sunday and Monday. Great value for what we think must have been the best room. A corner room on the top floor overlooking the beach.
Probably the best room we have had for a long time.

I can agree with other reviewers that it is noisy if there are people on the street being loud.
Great staff. We will be back.
What we saw on the web site was the picture to the left. What we experienced was the picture to the right.

Room Tip: The staff showed us the room before we said yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoEngstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    36
    48
    88
See reviews for
62
98
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Centrally located in Balboa and recently refurbished. This is an older character property but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Traveling in off season earned us a rate that was more palatable the in high season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel and Lisa; the event planner, was extravagant, the hotel and Lisa were the best, we had the best wedding, nothing went wrong, all went smoothly. Lisa was more than helpful and the event went off without a hitch. She was the best and the venue was perfect. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had the best time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a beautiful beach wedding. Absolutely Perfect.....Perfection...thank you Lisa...better late then never with this review. Lisa you were the best!!!!!!Denise, mother of the bride

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here for the last leg (3 nites) of our 10 day Cali vacation. The location was great, but the cost was pretty high for the accomodations that we had. Bathroom was small, hallway floors always seemed to be dirty, the fridge looked like something that came out of an old dorm room and the carpet on the small patio needed to be replaced very badly. Need a few carpets on the wood floors in the room, they always felt gritty. Not the cleanest place we've stayed. Front desk staff was always helpful. We felt crippled with not having access to our car when we wanted to go get it and had to have the bell person always go back and get it from Valet, which meant the need for tipping. We did not know that parking was going to be $25 extra per day, probably didn't do our homework but that was pretty steep. No where else to park so really no choice but the hotel is making a killing off this deal. The little Mexican place across the street was fun and had great 2 for 1 Happy Hour deals. The $1 boat shuttle to Balboa Island is a must.

Room Tip: VRBO might be worth looking into as an alternative. There were a ton along the beach near this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruffierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a wonderful location and property. Desperately needs Anthony Melchiorri from the TV show Hotel Impossible to work his magic on this property. Thoroughly disappointed in my stay. The Web site is amazing. The hotel room I was given at first was atrocious. Filthy carpets, dirty bathroom. I almost called my corporate travel department to find me a different hotel. Instead I called the front desk, and shared my disappointment the dirty room. They offered me a different room, this one clean, but still nothing like the pictures on their own web site. With such a nice web site, they are raising their guests expectations far too high with their standard rooms. Love the location, but not this property. I will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceH_BizTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were in town for a wedding, and the happy couple were staying there, too. When we emailed the hotel about a wedding rate based on the couple's names, we never received a reply. That should have been the only warning required. We initially booked at the Bay Club, but found a slightly (and I mean SLIGHTLY) lower rate at the Balboa a week prior to our stay. We cancelled the Bay Club and reserved a "deluxe king room" at the Balboa.
The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. They were very friendly and we have not a negative word to stay about the staff. That being said...the website for the hotel (which I always check before booking through a third party) stated there was underground parking for guests. We could find no parking allotted to the hotel at all. My husband drove around in circles while I checked in and got information for parking. As it turns out, I was told guests either park catch-as-catch-can in a municipal lot or pay $35 daily for valet. The Balboa is literally yards from Balboa beach and pier, so the parking is a nightmare (especially on weekends) and the salt air eats up your car pretty effectively.
Silly me: I assumed the valet was the underground parking. Not so much. When we picked up our car from the valet the following day, it had obviously been parked outside all night.
The room looked nothing like that on the website (I've since realized the "room" they show is a suite),had no view of the ocean (though we paid for a deluxe room) but rather sat over the boardwalk surrounded by shops and bars. It was tremendously noisy. The elevator was filthy and in disrepair, there were ants scouting the bathroom throughout our stay, and the oldest known carpet was pulled away from the wall. The desk was battered and filthy and was finished off by an artificial plant that hadn't been dusted since the beginning of time. The heating/cooling system in the room didn't work, nor did the Jacuzzi jets on the tub. Standard cable and room service from 5-10 p.m. only. Based on what we saw of the hotel, we decided not to trust the cleanliness of the kitchen and dined elsewhere.
Stay ANYWHERE else.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillerDana33842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location-close to all the night life and the pier. Our room was clean and the balcony had comfortable chairs to sit and have drinks. The spa was clean. The continental breakfast was good and served in an area that was perfect if you wanted to hang out and talk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Little inn By The Bay
Little inn By The Bay
#16 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Property: Balboa Inn
Address: 105 Main St, Newport Beach, CA 92661-1397
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing