We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great People Watching”
Review of Javier's

Javier's
Ranked #4 of 503 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located along Pacific Coast Highway, just North of Laguna Beach with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. Join us for sunset cocktails & dinner on our oceanview patio. Join your friends in our vibrant bar for our wide selection of specialty margaritas, rare tequilas, fine wines, beers & cocktails. The bar is open nightly until 1:00am.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great People Watching”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Make reservations!! This popular restaurant is worth the wait. It is spectacular to see the decor, the bar area, and the waiting area. We had wonderful food, and great service. It is not a place for yound children, it is definitely a grown - ups place to play! Incredible margaritas!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    253
    91
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
422 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary Mexican restaurant. Quality, service and atmosphere in one package!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We -a family of five- arrived for dinner, and even though the place was clearly busy, every effort was made to get us seated very quickly. The food choices were plentiful-typical Mexican specialties, but the food manages to incorporate the flavors of Mexico without being heavy. Special requests are cheerfully attended to,service is prompt, and the atmosphere is clearly fun for the guest, and the waitstaff too, who serenaded two birthday parties with gusto!
All our menu choices came very well prepared and nicely presented.The place may be a bit more expensive than a run-of-the- mill Mexican restaurant, but we can recommend the establishment for the food quality and the atmosphere that makes it very suitable for informal family dining or a fun party get-together!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Although a bit pricey, this was a top notch restaurant. The atmosphere, the clientele, and the food was just perfect. From the portion size, to the temperature, to the timing between the appetizer and entrees - it was all spot on.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good scene decent trendy style mexican”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food wont dispaoint but its not authentic mexican.
This place is a rockin Newport scene. People watching is pretty damn good. We were in no uncertain terms disapointed by our food selection it was secondary to the scene. The pork pulled tacos were good as well as the grilled halibut. Taquito appetizer and guacomole were both filling. Drinks were plentiful and festive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmileyTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Being Mexican American I enjoy my Mexican food and nothing ever compares to home cooked Mexican food. When going out to eat Mexican Ive found that not every place taste authentic and here at Javier's I found that their food taste as Authentic as they come. Very delicious! All our plates were delicious and their Margarita pitcher was amazing. Great place. You won't be let down.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gloomiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Javier's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing