We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shrimp EVER!!”
Review of Rockin' Baja

Rockin' Baja
Ranked #39 of 507 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Balboa
trail, BC
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp EVER!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went here to watch the Super bowl after Running the Surf City marathon..... and without a doubt they have the best bucket of Shrimp I have ever tasted!! They also serve a great pitcher of margaritas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexicanbound5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    57
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I had lobster tails, and wow they were delicious! The staff was great and very attentive. Fun place !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped our bike ride to have lunch at Rockin' Baja in Newport. The food and presentation was great. My kids had burgers and quesadillas and loved them. My husband and I ordered the lunch menu. For about $15 you get a starter, main dish and desert. We heard that you can get special deals on your birthday too. Great fun place. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KGNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome casual dining”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Right across from the Newport Beach Pier, this place exceeds your expectations. Very affordable dynamite food. The "bucket" menu is superb and will have you coming back for more. Everything we have tried on the menu has been excellent. The drinks are generous and well made. The staff friendly and fast. Crowded during the height of summer, but worth it. Parking can be a challenge, but then again, you are on one of the nicest coastal areas on the planet. Come eat an hour before sunset and then watch mother nature paint the sky from the pier. They have a large area upstairs for larger parties. We brought our international group of 15 there and they loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melvmfa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Our favorite king crab”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the fourth time my wife and I had lunch here when we were in California. We shared the 2 lbs. king crab at lunch and it was every bit as good as we remembered it. For $50 for the two of us, it was as good as it gets.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rustyztwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockin' Baja also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Rockin' Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing