We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Italian!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fornaretta

La Fornaretta
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This out-of-the-way Italian gem is located in the heart of old Newcastle. Its tucked away into the old weights and measure building in old town. The restaurant is very charming, if not small and intimate. Have been here many times, last time took my daughter here before the daddy-daughter dance and the waiter was so nice. He fawned over us and made my little girl feel like a princess.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

When it comes to Italian food I am very picky as I grew up with grandparents who came from Italy and cooked Sunday dinner each week. A hidden gem in Newcastle is not only warm and friendly, the food here rocks! Try the Pasta Alla Norma or the Spaghetti Carbonara and you will not regret a single bite. The pizza are also to die for and Ihighly recommend whatever special they have of the evening. Make sure to try their house Chianti too and save room for dessert.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrDonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why haven't we heard of this place before? - six wasted years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went because our friends had bought a dinner for four at a charity auction. We asked the owner what was included, appetizers, salads, etc. His answer: "Everything but alcohol". We all had salads, mine was a Caprese, the others had a conventional sort of lettuce/tomato mixture. All were good. I had had one of the specials, tiger prawns and risotto. Great sauce, generous portion. My wife had the salmon and alfredo over pasta, a regular menu item. Again, very nice, with a light touch on the alfredo. The others had baby clams in a wine sauce, and Frutti di Mare. They ate every bite. Great service; great food. I will return. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave_fisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, Ca
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pizza is Awesome, Prices Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Man the pizza is awesome, almost a NY style......reasonably priced with good service. Not the greatest atmosphere for a night out but the pizza was great.....Tomato sauce with porcini mushrooms was good, halibut was fair....would have considered five stars, based on dinner quality, price and the pizza, if the atmosphere was a little better......did I mention the pizza was excellent? Service was excellent albeit a little slow due to it being busy and a Friday night....We'll go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best italian in Sacramento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

That is a big claim I know with Biba's in town but I will stand by it .
The food here is authentic sicilian cuisine and can not be beat.The eggplant parmesan the best I have ever had anywhere Caesar is a great host .This place is not to be missed. Worth drive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pwdrlabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fornaretta also viewed

 

Been to La Fornaretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing