We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super fresh sushi and authentic Japanese food I ever expericed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Yusho

Sushi Yusho
Ranked #22 of 87 Restaurants in Newbury Park
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super fresh sushi and authentic Japanese food I ever expericed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant since they opened at this spot over 10 years ago.
I like their super quality dishes and sushi, price and porportions, and services.
The fish is super freshi. Most of the Japanese folks are coming here for their food that makes me good enough to believe that their kitchen food is authentic.
Try their lunches too. The chirash, nigiri, and special sushi is excellent and I give 5 stars for their quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi Experienced !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was my recent choice to go to the Sushi spot that are so famous around town.
I was really thrilled to found a good sushi spot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEST SUSHI EVER.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

STEVE AND KENNY ARE THE BOMB! They're so funny and always keep us entertained. The food is amazing and my friends and I like to come whenever we are in town. My favorite sushi are salmon and yellowtail, and you cannot get more fresher or better tasting salmon at this place. Also, their grilled yellowtail collar, called Kama, is so juicy and tasty that I refuse to share with anyone else! Anyway, it's a MUST go, so bring your friends and eat your hearts out!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank TimYama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Great Prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

We eat here once a week if we can. The sushi is really very good and you get a lot for your money. The only downside is the service which is pretty slow because the owners try to run it themselves or with help that has NO CLUE about serving customers. They had a GREAT waiter a year ago (Danny) but he moved on to greener pastures and we found the place to be just too busy for two people to handle. It is a smaller space, maybe enough seating for 55 max. If they ever get a top-notch waiter or waitress in there, they will kick some serious restaurant behind! With that said, this is my sushi restaurant of choice and we will always return. Kenny and Steve are a kick so if you can sit at the bar, do it! And if you are on the run, they can make your food to go! So just try it already!

Great sushi and amazingly low prices!

Helpful?
9 Thank TravelAllMyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE BEST SUSHI BAR IN TOWN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

Join the family! Steve & Kenny, we love you! We always have a such a nice time while eating great sushi! How nice to leave feeling full and happy!!

Helpful?
10 Thank CA2thFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Yusho also viewed

Newbury Park, CA
Newbury Park, CA
 

Been to Sushi Yusho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing