We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy coffee shop with great desserts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Aroma

Caffe Aroma
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cozy coffee shop with great desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is such a cute and cozy coffee shop nestled in a strip mall in Newbury Park. The owner is very nice as well. They have all sorts of "chatchkes" I love the desserts, which I think the owner makes. They are delicious, especially the lemon bars. The salads, especially the tuna is good and so is the dressing. A bit overpriced and they could perhaps drop it be a couple of dollars. The sandwiches are nothing special. My favorite thing here is the coffee and desserts, and of course the atmosphere. It's definitely worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeyahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coziest place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Grab your favorite book and go to Caffe Aroma, those fairies, candles, the smell of coffee and pastries will transport you to a better state of mind. Hannah is the friendly barista . Have a talk with her you won't regret

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Localhappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Coffee House South of Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Cafe Aroma looks like a dive from the outside. It lives in a strip mall next to a grocery store and other local shops.
Once you step inside, however, you are TRANSFORMED. The smell of coffee and pastries waft through the air. The shelves are full of countless chachkis, salt and pepper shakers, porcelain fairies, and hand-made jewelry- all candy to the eyes. Nothing about it is tacky. It really is magical. The chairs and sofa inside are comfy and beg you to sit and converse with an old friend or curl up with a good book. The lighting is perfect.
The coffee is outstanding and fresh. The flavor puts Starbucks to shame. Because of the transformation from walking in, sitting outside on their "patio" on a nice day, seems perfectly lovely. I have sat there on numerous occasions with friends, family, and even just me and my ole dog. Each time it is special.
The prices are comparable, the service is friendly and efficient, and I could not recommend this place more. I would urge locals and visitors to support Cafe Aroma and enjoy some java and a treat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Break time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Who doesn't need a coffee break? This is a great place to sit, sip and savor your time in soCal.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank revajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great, cozy spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

Magical gift shop and cafe, great coffee (try the chai) and sandwiches. Beats the hospital/institution feel of starbucks.

Helpful?
Thank martinsfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Aroma also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing