We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a kick”
Review of Brats Brothers - CLOSED

Brats Brothers
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brats Brothers is a gourmet sausage grill and German restaurant in Newbury Park. We offer a variety of traditional and exotic bratwursts, an array of tasty side dishes, wiener schnitzel, spaetzel and a huge selection of premium beers.Our bratwursts include pork, beef, veal, chicken, turkey, ostrich, duck, buffalo, elk, alligator and kangaroo. We source our products from award-winning small business providers, ensuring we only serve the best available. Brats Brothers loves offering specials off our menu to highlight great seasonal items. Our beer selection is vast and includes many German and European selections, like Spaten, Paulaner, Hofbrau, Erdinger, Fraziskaner, Chimay and many more.Our restaurant is truly a unique setting, reminiscent of the inside of a tent at Germany’s famed Oktoberfest in Bavaria. It truly ads to the quality food and beer we serve.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thanks to our children who live nearby, we enjoyed a fun dinner at Brats Bros.You don't find German food everywhere. Most of us had the Sampler plate which gives you a taste of four different sausages. The different Mustards and Ketchups are fun to try. The sauerkraut was a hit. The warm German Potato Salad was a bit disappointing. I was expecting a more vinegary taste. But overall the food was quite tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrooklynDodgers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland R, Owner at Brats Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

A fun dinner with family is always what we're aiming for—so glad to hear you guys had a great time! You're right about the lack of German food around here, but we're glad to bring a little taste of it to Newbury Park. Sorry to hear you didn't love the Potato salad more; however, we make it as traditional as possible. Perhaps I'll talk with the kitchen about kicking it up a notch. We wouldn't want anything tasting bland! Hope to see you and your kids back in again soon.

Til next time,
Roland Radler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very fun place to visit for a good time. The food is good, the beer is fine quality, and the crowd is fun. Not the typical restaurant you would see in Newbury Park, but it was needed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland R, Owner at Brats Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We're so glad to hear you love coming in to see us, Justin. Typical is the last thing we're aiming for, so it's nice to hear you say we're anything but that! That said, we'd love to see you in soon for a bite.

Cheers,
Roland Radler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My German friend Thomas came with my son and I for this visit one afternoon. Had a great time. The brats are incredibly tasty, the warm sauerkrauts are delicious, as are the assorted mustards. Great beer selection. Super fun decor. Would love to come back at night. It is always a packed parking lot here. A fine addition to Newbury Park dining options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GaryMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland R, Owner at Brats Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thanks for the encouraging words! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal and had an all-around excellent experience. Hope to see you for dinner sometime soon!

Cheers,

Roland Radler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a fun restaurant with very good German Food--Bavarian Style. Great Brats with a wonderful variety of meats, great sides, great beer, live music -- which can be a bit loud at times--but then so are Munich Beer Halls-- but still fun. The Goulash was delish and perfectly seasoned. The red cabbage was excellent as was the cheesy spaetzle side. The sausages were fresh and well seasoned; very tasty. I grew up with German Food and prepare German meals in my own household, as well as having traveled through Germany, Bavaria, and Austria eating the food. I liked it and heartily recommend it for lovers of German food and Oompa Band /Beer Hall fun. Informal seating and family friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YAYASister70128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland R, Owner at Brats Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Coming for a German food aficionado, your compliments really mean a lot. The next time you're craving a taste of Bavaria, you know where to find us!

Best wishes,

Roland Radler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first time and we thoroughly enjoyed the live band...made for a warm atmosphere. The place was packed...unfortunately, we didn't have a reservation but did end up sitting along the windows at a counter...and they ran out of some brats. However, food was good and loved the curry ketchup.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AroundTheWorldLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland R, Owner at Brats Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thanks for trying us out! I'm glad you were able to find a spot without reservations. We can get pretty busy during peak hours but always try to accommodate walk-ins. Happy to hear you enjoyed your meal, too! The next time you return, we'll hopefully have all the sausages you were interested in sampling.

Cheers,

Roland Radler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brats Brothers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing