We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newyork in Newbury”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pickles Deli & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 87 Restaurants in Newbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Newyork in Newbury”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a great lunch in this restaurant/take out deli. Our waitress, Jessica, must be worth her weight in gold to the restaurant - she was enormous fun, helpful and efficient. With me not knowing the difference between pastrami and New York pastrami, Jessica brought me a sample of their most popular meats and the resulting corned beef sandwich on sourdough was excellent. All five of us had something different and everyone thought theirs was delicious.

Has anyone else noticed that some restaurants now fill the men's urinals with ice cubes instead of chemical blocks? Fine in Pickles where the urinals are at foot level but they could cause frost bite in the waist level urinals elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Deli Restaurant I've Ever Been To”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Pickles Deli & Restaurant
1940 Newbury Road Newbury Park, California I love this place! It is our 2nd time and not disappointed. Last time I had a meat & potatoes knish & a vegetable w/cheese knish which was delicious. This time I had a pastrami on fresh rye with lots of yellow mustard. My husband had a corned beef sandwich with spicy mustard. They serve a complementary plate of different types of pickles and the have a dessert & meat deli to choose from. My son loved the fudge brownie. I must experience type of place. They also serve breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1rmcbrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best deli in Newbury Park”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food, wonderful specials, experienced and friendly staff. This is a Jewish deli at its best. On par with Brents in Westlake Village.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice albiet "SPENDY"!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were told about "Pickles" by the desk staff at our hotel when we asked about "inexpensive, casual dinner"...? Casual it is, but it's pretty spendy $$....! The greeting, seating and service was pretty good, the food was really great ( cajun chicken wrap & bowl of soup 'o'day ) and fast delivery! These 2 items and 1 ice tea plus tip was just shy of $27...? We would have tried other items but couldn't see spending $14 each on sandwiches...!! You decide for yourselves...?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deputy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The food is always good here, although pricey.

We are always greeted, seated, and served promptly. However, once we finish our meal, we would like to pay and leave. NOT sit there in their uncomfortable seats waiting, sometimes up to 15 minutes, for someone/ANYONE to acknowledge us! Happens EVERY time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank npwpmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickles Deli & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pickles Deli & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing