We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Comfortable hotel, with a very good staff. Some of the Furniture in our room could use a bit of an update, but not bad. The Manager does a nice job with munchies, beer & wine in the evening during the week. The breakfast bar has a little bit of everything & is well stocked. Terrific central location, close enough to the highway & with plenty of restaurants within walking (or a short drive) distance. The pool & exercise area are very well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STK2013, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

As General Manager at the Residence Inn by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, I want to personally thank you for making us your choice hotel. We appreciate your customer feedback concerning our room decor and breakfast/social amenities. In 2014, we will be doing a soft refresh on all guest rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your "Home Away From Home," on your next visit to Newark, CA.

Wishing you safe travels.

Sam Kelly
Complex General Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott
35466 Dumbarton Crt
Newark, CA 94560
T: 510-739-6000
F: 510-739-6606
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
14
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Newark to visit the headquarters of my company. I like the fact that I can walk to the office if I want but they offer shuttle service if you need it. The rooms have a kitchen so that I am not obliged to eat out every night if I don't want to. There are a lot of restaurants close by, and two supermarkets as well, very convenient!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLondon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STK2013, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

As General Manager at the Residence Inn by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, I want to personally thank you for making us your choice hotel. We appreciate your business and thank you for making us your choice hotel when traveling in Newark, CA.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your "Home Away From Home," on your next visit.

Wishing you safe travels.

Sam Kelly
Complex General Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott
35466 Dumbarton Crt
Newark, CA 94560
T: 510-739-6000
F:510-739-6606
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed here many times on business over the past 10 years. Going again in October. But please take note, the place is also filled with tourists. The staff has been wonderful on every trip. The breakfast is great and included! When I don't have time, I grab a piece of fruit, a hard-boiled egg and a bagel and run for the door. The people who staff the breakfast are polite and friendly. The front desk staff is wonderful too. Actually, I've never had a bad experience at this hotel. The pool is clean and the area is beautiful. I love my room (full kitchen) and I can shop at the grocery store right across the driveway to pick up some veggies, or wine, bread, cheese, whatever you want. It's as if everyone loves working there! This is a nice thing to see when you travel on business -- or vacation!

Room Tip: I like the higher floors, less AC unit noise and better view. Ask for floors 4 and above and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STK2013, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we know that you have many choices when making reservations and appreciate commitment to Marriott and your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence Inn Newark. If I can assistance in making reservations please contact me directly.

Sam Kelly,
Complex General Manager
Residence Inn/Courtyard Newark Silicon valley
35466 Dumbarton Court
Newark CA 94560
510-730-6000
samuel.kelly@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is close to Facebook and many other silicon valley businesses. There are PLENTY of activities in the area and it is a 20 minute drive to SFO airport or even Oakland airport. They have a good complimentary breakfast that lasts until 10 am daily and coffee all day long. There is a grocery store within easy walking distance, basically a few yards away and with the fully supplied kitchen you can cook your own meals if you care to not go out. There are plenty of restaurants around and many good ethnic restaurants as well.

Room Tip: Buy your own groceries at Raley's to save money on meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our experience did not get off to a great start when it took 15 minutes to check in because the lone staffer was dealing with a guest who did not get the rate he had requested while at least two other staffers sat in the nearby office talking. Once we got to our room, we found thread-bare curtains letting in light, a filthy air register with black soot on the ceiling above, peeling wallpaper and a latch to the bedroom door that was not working. For over $200, this place was a major disappointment.

The area around the hotel was not inviting, with few choices for dinner other than multiple strip-mall Chinese take-out places. The new Chipotle nearby was our best option.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
362 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I called the front desk several times and no one answered; and the calls always went into voice mail box. I went down and asked the front desk about where things were in the hotel; and they responded as I was bothering them. Quality of breakfast food was poor and the tables and the floor were very dirty. Rooms were outdated, although the exercise room was okay. I will stay at a Homewood or a Hyatt instead when I come back to the area next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has some history. Therefore do not expect very new and shining environments. Design of the guest room is more suitable for a family. It includes two bedrooms (this is what I got; not sure for the other rooms) and a kitchen + living room. Electric oven, dish washing machine, and refrigerator are equipped. It's good if you like to make your own meal in the guest room. There are a supermarket and a few restaurants nearby; convenient for daily life.

Simple breakfast is included with no much choice for the food. I experience one day without full cleaning in the room; but OK for the other days.

The price can be somewhat higher for a single traveller. But it's a good choice for a couple or a family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
0.8 mi away
Aloft Silicon Valley
Aloft Silicon Valley
#3 of 9 in Newark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fremont Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley

Property: Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
Address: 35466 Dumbarton Court, Newark, CA 94560
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley Hotel Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing