We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Silicon Valley
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel, knowing full well that it used to be the 'W' but is now the 'Aloft'. I've been to a few different W's in different cities, and have been impressed with them for the most part. However, I LOVED my stay here at the aloft. I was with my mum for my sister in laws baby shower in Fremont and since we live in Marin, it was easier to stay the night before closer to the shower. I'm so glad we picked this hotel. I am in the hotel business myself, so I find it second nature to 'nit pick' but everyone from the moment we checked in to we left was extremely nice and professional. We had dinner and some drinks at the bar; which for a Friday wasn't over crowded so it was nice to eat and drink but still hear ourselves think/talk. We were fortunate enough to have the wonderful Miguel serve us at the bar, who is by far one of the most polite, honest and enjoyable barman I've ever had the pleasure to converse with. He was super attentive and also very friendly but genuine too. Not to mention he manages to put up with people getting drunk and chatting his ear off about all kinds of stuff, yet no matter what, stays polite and always says goodnight with a genuine invite back whenever the guest will be back in town. Perhaps it's because I am in the hospitality business, but these little things are very important and make huge impressions on the customers you're serving. There was a lady at the bar too, I didn't get her name (my apologies) but she was very professional too and was kept on her toes working with a larger group of people at a birthday table.
The room was well priced for the size and amenities, it was spotless and I loved the 'Bliss' soaps they use. I wish I could've enjoyed it for more than one night. But if I'm staying over in the Easy Bay again, Aloft has my reservation for sure. Everything and everyone were fantastic. The food at the bar, the staff, the room and my only complaint is that we couldn't stay an extra night. Thank you to everyone at the Aloft in Newark Silicon Valley. Although I didn't get all your names, you were ALL very helpful and welcoming. You made our stay a wonderful one and we will be back. I can't help give out an extra shout out to Mr Miguel, for putting up with me and my mum after quite a 'few' drinks :) We crazy Scots women sometimes don't realise how annoying we can get after too much scotch. Haha. Thanks to everyone for a great stay.
Gail & Josephine :)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Gailama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hi!

We did used to be a W Hotel, but recently changed to an Aloft. Our redesign allowed us to be one of the most spacious Aloft Hotels.I'm glad to hear you had the pleasure of meeting Miguel in the bar. His personalized service makes every visit a special one. I look forward to sharing your compliments with everyone.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have stayed Ina least a dozen Aloft hotels, and they can be a bit stiff and plastic, though clean and modern. The Silicon Valley one, however is the least plastic, though more clean and modern - what other Alofts should be.

The rooms are huge, the dining area is larger and more comfortable, & the pool area cool and upscale.

But the rooms and bathrooms really make the difference. It feels like an upscale W, EVEN BETTER THAN SOME.

The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Location eh, but the property is worth the drive at its decent prices.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank CFRHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your loyalty to Aloft Hotels. I'm glad to hear we are your favorite out of all those you've visited. Our all suite property offers ample space for you to make yourself at home. On your next visit, stop by W XYZ Bar for a handcrafted cocktail.

We'll see you soon!

Best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is really well situated if you want to be close to the peninsula and also the east bay, this was the main attraction to me. Interior decor is modern and up-to-date, slightly crazy stock ticker in the lobby sets some kind of ambience but not entirely sure what. Rooms contain kitchens, but no crockery or cutlery so I think these a bit of a half thought out add-on, obligatory coffee maker functions fine however. A major omission is that the hotel doesn't seem to have a same-day laundry service, instead I was pointed to self-service laundry facilities which sometimes are great but simply something I didn't have time for this trip. I'd expect better at the price.

Overall, I would stay here again, but 100% because of the location which was ideal for the different areas I needed to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I'm afraid there must be some confusion as we don't offer a self-laundry service at our hotel. We would be happy to find you a dry cleaner nearby however. All of our suites do feature a kitchenette to fulfill your basic needs. If you need anything at all, just ask. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed one night in March 2014. Great hotel. Nice, clean, and large room. The fitness room was great. The pool super nice. A bit noisy in the lobby with loud music, otherwise great and would return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtattra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi there!

Thanks for staying with us! We are a great hotel in Silicon Valley and take pride in the service we provide our guests. If you ever have any issues please reach out to us. We will do everything we can to make your stay more comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Alexa W,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel from March 2 - 11. Beatuful facility and big room with king-sized bed, living area, and kitchenette. Great staff that aimed to please. Supermarket and restaurants 1 mile away. Great preserve across the street for running or walking.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi Robert!

We are perfect for extended stays because of our spacious rooms. The kitchenette is great for storing quick food items. If you're looking for something a more substantial, head downstairs and have dinner with us or grab a cocktail and some light bites.

See you soon,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently had to travel to the San Francisco area for a funeral. My cousin's husband recommended that we stay at the Aloft. It was a great hotel. Rooms were very big, lots of space for the wife and kids to relax. What made this stay even more pleasant, was the front desk staff, specifically, Jason. He was the one that checked us in. He was very professional and customer service oriented. He was having a hardward problem with his credit card reader, but he was very apologetic for the inconvience, even though it wasn't his fault. I was great to see someone take ownership of the issue and was very professional in our interaction!!! Great job Jason!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi Ron!

Thank you for the amazing feedback. We are glad to have hosted you through a difficult time. Our guestrooms are very spacious and offer the perfect amount of space for families to spread out.

I look forward to sharing your compliments with Jason. He is a huge asset to our team here.

See you soon,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This honestly the first review i've ever written. This place was gorgeous. Very modern, great staff, the amenities were so nice. The bar in the lobby and comfortable lobby seating really created an excellent networking atmosphere.
I came here myself traveling for business. Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: My view of the pool was nice, king size bed was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ham31499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello!

I'm glad you had such a great stay that we inspired you to write a review! We recently updated all of our spaces to become an Aloft Hotel but still have a bit of that W flair. Bar WXYZ is definitely worth a stop in. Networking is often easier over some food and a cocktail. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Silicon Valley

Address: 8200 Gateway Blvd, Newark, CA 94560-8000 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $124 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Silicon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Silicon Valley, a hip hotel where youll be steps away from major tech corporations. We offer easy-breezy access to natural wonders and wine country, and each of the areas international airports is about a half-hour away. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Silicon Valley - Newark Hotel Newark
w Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing