We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sure it's Aloft, not W but still fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Silicon Valley
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sure it's Aloft, not W but still fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Was worried when I booked this hotel, comments I read made this property appear questionable and Dumbarton bridge traffic for an early meeting is always potential for a missed meeting. Happy to say, both the hotel and the bridge worked out great.

The good: Had a large corner room, more like a suite, with fridge, sink and microwave in the seating area, huge flat panel almost a room divider and great king size bed. Food was continental in the lounge, also fine. Service was great, from check in to food service staff is great.

The not so good: Room has been updated, but bathroom for example is showing a bit of wear, tiles loose in the floor and the hinged bed headboard "Wings" didn't work on one side blocking access to the AC socket behind. A minor point, lamps aren't slaved to the wall switches, you're running around turning on/off lamps in the room.

All in all, would I return? I'm apt to say yes if I'm doing meetings in the Palo Alto area, the drive time in was great.

Room Tip: I don't think road noise is really an issue for any rooms given it's distance from the freew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback of our new Aloft hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that it worked well for your early meeting. Thank you for your patience as we work through the updates being made to the new hotel. We hope you choose us again for your next business or leisure trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    82
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
51
47
11
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork , Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've stayed in this Hotel a few times before. This was when it was the W. It's now changed to the Aloft. While it has had a bit of a renovation ( a bit brighter than the previous decor) nothing really has changed. The two plus points for me would be the Bed ( I love the Bed & I always sleep well ) and the complementary WiFi. Plastic Cups in the bathroom ?? No personal toiletries worth talking about , just soap and those shampoo/bodywash dispensers in the shower. On one of the nights they forgot to clean my room, I was back late and had to arrange for fresh towels. You would think would be one of the basic services a Hotel would be expert in ( not missing a room clean ). Also, when I checked in I was given my Key and Room Number. When I went up to my room my key would not work. I tried many times. When I made the trip back to reception I was told I was given the wrong room number. Again, I would think giving out correct room numbers is what a Hotel should be able to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GERFCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Aloft bed and complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. We will share your review in our next team meeting with housekeeping and our front desk. Thank you for your understanding as we work through the changes of switching brands from W to Aloft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Starwood hotel was a W until recently changed into their new Aloft brand. It's been slightly remodeled with a juvenile decor trying to attract 20-somethings. The rooms are identical to the W with a different colored bench and couch, kitchenette and comfy bed, nice bathroom (very small shower but decent sized tub). However, at the W you can expect a bathrobe, several sets of towels, nice toiletries, glasses made of glass, an honor bar w/nice selection of snacks (& condoms) and competent service. Aloft's room had no trash can, no menu or info. about the hotel, no mini-bar or snacks, dead batteries in the remote, plastic cups in the bathroom, no robe and only 2 sets of towels. We asked them to deliver plates/utensils, wine glasses, regular drinking glasses and two extra sets of towels. It took them 5 trips to get it right, once they delivered wine glasses with chipped rims, once only two bath towels instead of a full set (incl. washcloth & hand towel.) No apology came from the management. The furnishings and carpet are showing wear (they were when they were a W but this was supposed to be remodeled.) We are members of Starwood's frequent guest program yet nothing extra or upgraded was offered as they do at their other hotels. In summary, the new place is a downgraded hotel, 3.5 stars if the service was working well. We're very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Aloft is a select service brand that celebrates the individual and gives you freedom to control and customize your travel adventure to fit your personal style. Although different from the W’s full service amenities, the customer service you receive at Aloft should be comparable. We apologize for your service experience, and we’ll be discussing your comments in our next team meeting. Thank you for your patience as we work through the kinks of opening a new brand. We hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont
7.2 mi away
Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Silicon Valley

Property: Aloft Silicon Valley
Address: 8200 Gateway Blvd, Newark, CA 94560-8000 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Silicon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Silicon Valley, a hip hotel where youll be steps away from major tech corporations. We offer easy-breezy access to natural wonders and wine country, and each of the areas international airports is about a half-hour away. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Silicon Valley - Newark Hotel Newark
w Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing