We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B Near Nevada City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony Ridge Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was looking for a B&B that would accommodate 3-4 women in one room. Harmony Ridge was the perfect choice. We were placed in Room 6 on the ground level. It had 2 king beds in a very spacious and well-appointed room. The room was large enough to have a small kitchenette-sized table and chairs, refrigerator and microwave. It came with a private patio (overlooking the forest on the property) with a rustic wood table and chairs. The bathroom was very large and would accommodate a guest in a wheelchair easily. This was one of two rooms that would accept a pet. Our breakfast offered fresh scones, hard-boiled but warm eggs, bagels, cereals, yogurts, juices, fresh fruit, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all aspects recommending nearby walks and sights. Nevada City was about a 10-15 min. drive. We WILL go back there on our next excursion to Nevada City.

Room Tip: If you travel with your dog, ask for one of their pet-friendly rooms (Room 6 is one of two).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

My daughter got married at the Empire Mine State Park in Grass Valley. We rented all the rooms for some of our families and friends. Everybody just loved it and raved about the breakfast, the beautiful decorated and generous sized rooms, the setting and the Inn keepers. The setting is just beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mcegap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Really beautiful and peaceful setting, tucked back into forest of the Sierra Nevada foothills. Amazing grounds, including a great landscaped area and a large fenced in walking area as well. Centrally located to many things: only 5 minutes or so from downtown Nevada City, 45 minutes up the hill to the mountains, etc.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the morning breakfast was excellent. 5 Mile House restaurant next door (walking distance) was very good for dinner as well.

Very dog friendly which is always a huge plus.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bonk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were looking for a venue for my daughter's wedding that would answer her wishes for an informal, woodsy and natural background that was dog-friendly and my wishes for a 4-5 star comfortable gathering place for our guests aged18 months-80. Located literally on the edge of the Tahoe National Forest and equidistant,1.5 hours, from either Reno or Sacramento airports,Harmony Ridge Lodge answered all of our wishes and more. From the moment we arrived we all felt at home. Debbie and Jackie, who manage the facility, were there to answer any and all needs from an ironing board brought to your room to printing out boarding cards for flights. They were genuinely interested in helping to create the experience we wanted both while we were there for the weekend and in the planning stages. They also recommended the photographer, D.J. and caterer all of whom contributed to a memorably enjoyable day.
The owners have decorated the inside, including the guest rooms, with lovely artistic touches that somehow create a serene ambiance, while the grounds are beautifully landscaped with colorful gardens, orchards of peaches and apples and grassy areas with benches placed in strategic areas offering conversation or meditative areas.
As others have said the rooms are incredible and, as far as we could tell, sound-proof. All of them are spacious with comfortable furnishings in addition to beds and some are dog-friendly (throw a blanket over the hand-made quilts!).
I can't end this without mentioning the breakfasts which are delicious but more importantly make you feel as though you are being hosted in your best friend's home. Relax, chat, enjoy but by all means GO.

Room Tip: There is a handicapped accessible room which includes an ADA bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I recently stayed at Harmony Ridge for 2 nights for a wedding. The location was beautiful, right on the edge of the National Park. It was a quick (1.5 hours) and easy drive from Sacramento. The rooms were amazing - very comfortable beds, beautiful decor and spacious. I loved that my room had a window seat overlooking the forest, and each room came with a private patio. Breakfast, coffee and tea were provided, and there was an adequate variety of food, plus the home cooked dishes were excellent. The main lodge itself is beautiful and filled with some gorgeous pieces of art, many of which I overheard were made locally.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TaraB405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Relaxing environment, large tastefully decorated and comfortable room, healthy and delicious breakfasts, friendly staff. Harmony Ridge Lodge is everything I hoped for! This will be my go-to destination whenever I am in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sedona9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The first trip in June 2011 was wonderfully stress-free especially traveling with our "kids". There are so many places that are not dog friendly or don't offer grounds to run off-leash for good leg stretching exercise! We stayed in #5 and the room was comfortable for us humans and spacious for our four-legged. A lake right around the corner made the trip perfect so we had to come back in August and stay a little longer. Again we had a very nice stay at HRL. Will definitely recommend to our friends!!! Thanks so much to Jackie, Tracy, Deb and the kids: Levi, Kilo, Totty & Skippy who made both trips worthwhile!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiaRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
4.6 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
164 reviews
4.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 5 in Nevada City
128 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
414 reviews
8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Ridge Lodge

Address: 18883 State Highway 20, Nevada City, CA 95959-9191
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range: $104 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Ridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Ridge Lodge is a new ten-room Bed and Breakfast located in the Tahoe National Forest just outside Nevada City, CA. The lodge has an orchard and perennial gardens as well as hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Harmony Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing