We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience! =)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My second very pleasant stay at Piety Hill confirmed that the first was no fluke. Took a different room this time (Walnut this trip, Apple Blossom last trip) and found it to be just as lovely, homey, and unpretentious.

The host and hostess obviously spent a lot of time and effort to create unique and comfortable accommodations; clean, welcoming, and filled with character.

The grounds are well kept, well appointed, and pleasant to spend time in.

The proprietors are responsive and friendly; we needed a late (11:00 pm!) check in, and they had the room prepared and heated, waiting for us, with no complaints or extra charges.

Plus, the food was delicious, down to the in-room coffee!

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were traveling through the area and had 5 people (2 adults and 3 teenagers) and didn’t want to rent two rooms at a hotel and then spend the night watching our kids try to sneak past our room. So instead we rented the White Birch cottage (sleeps 6) at Piety Hill. Check in was fast and easy. We called earlier in the day to let them know we would be arriving late. We arrived around 10:00pm and were greeted by the manager who showed us the way to the cottage and helped us settle in. The cottage was clean and everything worked fine. The cottage was very spacious and accommodated the 5 of us easily – no complaints from our teens. We didn’t order a breakfast since we wanted try some of the restaurants in Grass Valley but after seeing other guests dinning outside on a beautiful California day we wished we would have had breakfast at our cottage. I would happily stay at Piety Hill the next time I’m in Nevada City – but the next time I would order breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aperio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I was expecting a stay at a bed and breakfast type inn. That being said this is far from what I expected. The room was small and very out of date, and not all that clean. The room was advertised as having a kitchenette it had no sink other than in the bathroom I thought a Kitchenette had a place to wash your dishes, given the fact that when you stay here you must wash them or you will be charged. The innkeeper would turn the air conditioning all the way off, every morning when they cleaned the room making it really hard to get the room cooled back off late in the evning. The television was small, and the remote control would not work it. The shower and other plumbing fixtures would barely trickle, so it would take an extra long time to get clean in the shower, or several extra flushes to flush the toilet. For a place that was concerned with conserving (IE: Towels, Sheets, and Electricty) you would think they would get toilets that would flush on the first try and showers that could be taken in a short amount of time in order to waste less water. When we travel we always look at sheets and comforters for stains or other issues before laying down in the bed. The bed here seemed clean, and it was comfortable, but every morning of out 3 day stay we woke up itching, and have had bumbs on our legs and back for several weeks after returning home. Was expecting a relaxing retreat where we would be pampered, and the Piety Hill is not the place for that.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2009

92% of our business is generated through our website, which is quite descriptive as to the type of property we offer for your leisure stay in Nevada City. We ARE NOTa victorian style Bed & Breakfast. We were built as a "motor court" motel at the hieght of the depression in 1933. Luxury was not an option back then and that is part of the charm that makes up Piety Hill Cottages today.
This guest choose our smallest, least expensive room for a three day stay with a "no breakfast" option. All of our rooms are very clean as I check them myself with the same 22 point checklist that housekeeping works from(and then some).
We provide dishes in each cottage for the convienience of the guests that choose a no breakfast option and, like any condo that one would rent where these are supplied we ask that our guests clean them (dishsoap and towels suplied in each room) before checking out, with the exception of this cottage (Amber Cottage) due to the fact that it only has a sink in the bathroom. We collect and clean all of the dishes that we deliver to the cottages with breakfast as well as any used dishes from the Amber cottage.
When a guest leaves the air conditioner on full blast with all the windows open we will certainly turn it off when we enter to perform housekeeping duties.
The television is small (13"), though most folk don't watch much TV when visiting Nevada City as ther is so much to do in this area. I do have my eye on flat panel prices and will replace the smaller TVs. We don't know that a remote control's battery is dead if we are not informed of such during your stay.
There is some poison oak in the foothills and this guest spent 3 days hiking the area.
Our beds are clean and comfortable (I have slept in each of them to put myself in the shoes of the guest). NOTHING in our room caused this guest to have bumps that lasted several weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We booked only a week or so before we arrived so we were put in two different rooms. The grounds are lovely and the innkeepers have done a lot of work with the plantings to make the place look inviting and charming. The rooms, however, are a disaster. The first room we stayed in had a lumpy old mattress, a kitchenette with a frig from 1930-1940, and a bathroom my 6'4" husband had trouble managing in. All the lights had pull chains which either hit him in the head or tangled in his hair when he avoided them. The shower pipe came out of the wall at a spot under 5' and had an extension and low flow head which, instead of spraying as they do, dripped. It was impossible. The second room (Apple Blossom) was much larger and nicer although the air conditioning did not work nor did the toilet. The AC is not the biggest deal (although it was 97 outside) but the toilet was a pain. We informed the inn keeper in the AM. When we returned at night, he had neither fixed it nor did he call a plumber. When I spoke to him about it, he said that he would get to the hardware store sometime to fix it - obviously fixing it while he actually had guests in the room was not a priority for him. 2 nights without a properly functioning toilet for near the same price I paid for the Claremont Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hatasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2010

One man's disaster is another man's treasure. The guest comment books in this cottage has a positve comment rate of 99%, implying that most of our guests love this roomy king studio( Chestnut Cottage).
The mattress is fairly new and not at all lumpy as I have slept on it since this guest was here as a means to test their comments. There is indeed an ANTIQUE fridge from the late 1950's in the kitchenette which works very well and adds to the charm of this motor court that was built in 1933.
The bathroom is small (shower stall too) but efficient and I have since raised the showerarm to a height of 6ft and installed a new 40 gal. water heater. Pull chain light swtches were commom in the 1930s as this was more cost effective having just passed the peak of the depression.

The air conditioner in the Apple Blossom Cottage works just fine. This guest had it set to" Fan only" so the coolant never got circulated.
One morning they mentioned that the toilet was not flushing so while they were out for the day I checked it and found that the flapper chain had come unhooked from the flapper and this happened again that evening so I juryrigged it to stay and told them that I would replace the unit the next day when the hardware store opened, which I promptly did, no plummer needed.
You can satisfy some of the people......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We loved our cottage (Maple) and each cottage has a garage which is a nice touch. Very cozy, antique feel to the design of everything. The nick-nacks in our cottage were wonderful to look at all weekend long.
The location is great. We walked to downtown several times for great dinners, a wonderful chocolate/ice cream shop, and interesting shops.
Owners are so helpful and offer many ideas on what to do around the area. The breakfasts they served were AMAZING! Not your ordinary eggs+bacon here. Brought right to your cabin and setup for you on the table. (You can also eat outside at a couple of patio tables with umbrellas).
Grounds are cute, lots of greenery, relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelloMan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We had a wonderful stay in the Laurel cottage. We were charmed by the decor, the wonderful breakfasts, the friendliness and helpfulness of the innkeepers, and the peace and quiet at Piety Hill. We LOVED not sharing a wall with other guests.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

The last three times in 3 years we have been through Nevada City, we have chosen to stay at the Piety Hill Cottages..
Things we liked are: a very good hot breakfast and friendly hosts. Mostly private individual or duplex little cottages.
I am concerned about a few things that will have me looking elsewhere next time though.

Part of an enjoyable stay at a lodging is just walking around, sitting on the patio furniture, and enjoying the property/gardens, etc.
Last October when we stayed here we noticed peeling paint on various exterior walls of some of the cottages, as if they were being prepped for painting.
The cottages window planter boxes and the gardens out front were dead and sad looking.
This year we were here in early September and everything was exactly the same!
Weeds in the back area are engulfing that same old abandoned motor home too!
Also large and small cracks that need spackling in the inside rooms.

I am seeing just plain neglect here and hope this will not keep up because it can be such a cute, nice place to stay.

Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2008

We truly appreciate the concerns of our guests, especially returning guests. Piety Hill Cottages was purchased in a state of severe deferred maintenance and has had many, many improvements implemented since then with many more to come. Our inn is indeed being prepped for painting, however, we were a bit premature in the prepping and we had to get through the winter season because it was too cold and wet to paint. We then found that we were so busy redecorating the inside of the cottages for our summer season that painting the outside was put on hold until the fall season.
Window boxes were in full bloom during the spring and early summer, but the hot/dry weather withered many of them in late summer and the cold doesn't allow for them to bloom in the winter.
The motor home is not abandoned, just unused at this time and sits to the back of the property.
Piety Hill is indeed a beautiful place as many guests have commented. We look forward to many years of improvements and hope this guest and many others will bless us with their company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
145 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range: $74 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing