We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful cozy cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

we have stayed at piety hill before and had to return .great breakfast.
nice clean rooms. the owners are very nice.
Very quiet place. great location near the quaint part of Nevada City. Nice shops , good food
any kind of food you might want.

Room Tip: we have stayed in the Amber room and Daphne , we like the Daphne room best. They're both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dinneenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thanks for returning to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B and thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

What can I say? Michael & Sharon go out of there way to make your stay special. The grounds are awesome. Sat out on our step and had coffee early in the morning with my new friend who was a cat. I never did ask his name :) I love that the coffee pot is in your room. Pick your breakfast time & it's in your room right on time. The breakfasts were amazing...spinach quiche, cheesey grits, sausage, homemade biscuits & Sharon's jelly one day & exquisite peach French toast, sausage & fresh fruit on day 2.
Sharon was most helpful with restaraunt choices, even though she wasn't feeling well that day :(
The Daphne cottage was just perfect for our runaway weekend.
You most definately can not go wrong with your stay here. And we've stayed at every B & B now in Nevada City. This is by far our favorite !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beapryncess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you. We truly appreciate your taking the time to comment here on TA. This gives our future guests a more realistic expectation of what Piety Hill Cottages offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a 1930s era "motor court" with about a dozen or so cottages. Each cottages is unique. All of them have been completely updated while maintaining the look and feel of travel in the 40s and 50s. The grounds are well kept and attractive with a number of outdoor tables for relaxing with meals, snacks, or just a glass of wine. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The breakfast can be served in your cottage or at an outdoor table, weather permitting. And the breakfast is absolutely wonderful (the morning we were there we had fresh fruit and peach French toast with fresh juice and coffee). All cottages have complete facilities with comfortable beds, living rooms, kitchens, showers, and flat-screen TVs. All have air conditioning and electric heating. Some also appear to have a wood stove for those who might enjoy that in the winter. We had a very enjoyable stay at this fine facility.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FireballNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank You so much for your glowing report of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is an OK place to stay. Fairly convenient to town (about a 1/2 mile walk that is pleasant) and the cottage was very clean. We stayed in the Maple Cottage and it looks as it does on their website - not fancy but adequate. As others have commented there are a lot of signs and a lot of rules and these sometimes make one wonder if you are actually very welcome. When we walked into the office to check in we were immediately reprimanded for not arriving at the correct time (we had driven from SoCal and had no way of knowing exactly when we would arrive which I thought I had made clear when I made the reservation). We were then asked if we were clear about all the RULES - you have to WASH not RINSE any dishes you use or there will be a charge! When I asked for an additional key I was told that there is a $50 charge if we lose the key so did we want to chance having two?!? We felt like every question was an inconvenience. The cottage was fine - nothing special but clean and met our needs - but I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LabMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, General Manager at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

I am truly sorry that this guest felt unwelcome, as that would never have been my intent and I had no indication that they felt this way during their 3 night stay. I thought I was being helpful in reviewing the registration form with them because they indicated that they had not had the opportunity to review this information in their confirmation prior to arriving. I apologize for this misunderstanding and my attempt at humor upon their arrival.
Every cottage has real dishes and flatware for our guests to use rather than the plastic throwaways usually found in most hotels/motels, so we do ask our guests to leave them as they found them, clean for the next guest.
The notes in the cottages are an unfortunate necessity. Those little reminders reduce expenditures by thousands of dollars each year. These savings are then passed along to the guests by our ability to keep our rates reasonable.
Sharon Mills, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Went here for a girls' getaway--we both needed some peace and quiet but didn't want to be out in the middle of nowhere. Found this place via tripadvisor, and the price seemed right and the location good. We were delighted with what we found. The cottages were cute: we stayed in Cedar and Laurel, each perfect for one or two. Loved the kitchenettes (no stove but microwave, fridge, sink, and table and chairs), everything was super clean, and the bed very comfortable. What we especially enjoyed, though, was to be found outside: the grassy courtyard area was perfect for sunning and relaxing. There are barbeques there, too, for the adventuresome grill chef. It was very quiet while we were there, so we got everything we hoped for. And with the quick walk to downtown, we couldn't have asked for more. I wish I could have taken one-half star off, though, for the notes posted around the cottages about charges for not washing dishes and making the towels dirty with make-up. I understand the innkeepers' concerns, but it made it seem a little like the nagging notes around my workplace about "my mother not working here," so...But otherwise, just perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review. We've been working hard to create a relaxing environment here on the property, and thoughtful reviews like yours help us to see that we are on track.
I do appolagise for the reminder notes in the kitchenettes and bathrooms. I hated puting them up, however, they have saved us about $3000 a year in damages. Those savings are passed along to our guests as we are able to keep our room rates low.
It was reaaly nice to see you girls enjoying the courtyard this beautiful spring weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Had a great weekend stay in the Maple Cottage, loved having the kitchenette and woodburning stove, so cozy and bed in bedroom was wonderful. Very cheery decorations. Will stay here again. Nice little walk to downtown across bridge.

Room Tip: Loved Maple Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Sometimes we're so busy that we forget to say Thank You to those who take time out of their day to write a comment here. Thank You! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great new discovery in the Nevada City area. The cottages are really cute cozy and clean, and affordable too. The proprietors are really helpful and friendly, and will also provide a most yummy breakfast for a modest fee, upon request. The only downside is the no pet policy, but when traveling without the pups, I will definitely stay here. It's an excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thanks for your visit and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nevada City hotels
0.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 6 in Nevada City
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Harmony Ridge Lodge
Harmony Ridge Lodge
#6 of 6 in Nevada City
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range: $74 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing