We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mellow, convenient charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mellow, convenient charm”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Went here for a girls' getaway--we both needed some peace and quiet but didn't want to be out in the middle of nowhere. Found this place via tripadvisor, and the price seemed right and the location good. We were delighted with what we found. The cottages were cute: we stayed in Cedar and Laurel, each perfect for one or two. Loved the kitchenettes (no stove but microwave, fridge, sink, and table and chairs), everything was super clean, and the bed very comfortable. What we especially enjoyed, though, was to be found outside: the grassy courtyard area was perfect for sunning and relaxing. There are barbeques there, too, for the adventuresome grill chef. It was very quiet while we were there, so we got everything we hoped for. And with the quick walk to downtown, we couldn't have asked for more. I wish I could have taken one-half star off, though, for the notes posted around the cottages about charges for not washing dishes and making the towels dirty with make-up. I understand the innkeepers' concerns, but it made it seem a little like the nagging notes around my workplace about "my mother not working here," so...But otherwise, just perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We've been working hard to create a relaxing environment here on the property, and thoughtful reviews like yours help us to see that we are on track.
I do appolagise for the reminder notes in the kitchenettes and bathrooms. I hated puting them up, however, they have saved us about $3000 a year in damages. Those savings are passed along to our guests as we are able to keep our room rates low.
It was reaaly nice to see you girls enjoying the courtyard this beautiful spring weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
63
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Had a great weekend stay in the Maple Cottage, loved having the kitchenette and woodburning stove, so cozy and bed in bedroom was wonderful. Very cheery decorations. Will stay here again. Nice little walk to downtown across bridge.

Room Tip: Loved Maple Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura_NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Sometimes we're so busy that we forget to say Thank You to those who take time out of their day to write a comment here. Thank You! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great new discovery in the Nevada City area. The cottages are really cute cozy and clean, and affordable too. The proprietors are really helpful and friendly, and will also provide a most yummy breakfast for a modest fee, upon request. The only downside is the no pet policy, but when traveling without the pups, I will definitely stay here. It's an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for your visit and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a late review as my stay here was a few years ago (just discovered the tripadvisor pp today) but this is one cute B&B that I intend to stay in again. There were 4 of us sharing a cottage for 3 days and the cottage was lean and everything seemed well cared for.
Michael was very accommodating and everything was clean and quiet.
Again, this is a simple B&B so it may not be for those who expect chocolates on their pillow but the place is clean and quaint and for the 4 of us friends who stayed for those 3 nights, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraftyGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for remembering us on TA even after a few years have gone by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed for 3 days at this delightful Cottage style Inn. Everything in our place was clean & neat & all put together very well. The bed was very very nice to sleep on! Kitchen area not cramped & well stocked. Fresh ground Coffee of a excellent variety was in a crock jar waiting for you; as was coffee filter & maker! Your stay can include a fruit breakfast or a wonderful elaborate spread to start your day. Take the bigger breakfast , it is always five star! And well worth $12!
Innkeepers are very helpful & pleasant too. It is very close to old part of Nevada City also. All in all a very good place to stay.Comfortable, quiet, clean & pleasant!

Room Tip: Cottages vary in size, ask ahead when making reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyrocket21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Well, we just arrived and are staying in the "Apple Blossom" cottage. Too damn cute! Sharron is nice and inviting and her blueberry jam is great on crackers, can't wait for biscuits in the morning. the cottage is ver nice and clean and just a super atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabberjaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I, plus my sister-in-law, stayed at Piety Hill Inn last year. It was a great experience. The area is beautiful, the cottage was clean, comfortable, and well-decorated, and the hosts (Micheal and Sharon) were amazing hosts - they really care about the guests.. You get the experience that is totally missing from going to a chain hotel.

The cottage was for two and we were three. Micheal has these "bed-and-sheets-sets" nicely packed for portability, which made a great bed for the third person, again very clean and comfortable.

I had a chance to talk to Micheal and ask about the history of the place. He bought the place many years ago and spent a lot of time rebuilding and renovating. So it's no wonder why he's so passionate about the place and making sure that his guests have the best time. He ans Sharon went out of their way to make sure we got everything we needed. My wife's camera broke on our way - she's a pro and has a big DSLR camera, and Micheal even helped us fix it.

By the way - they make jam from their own fruit there, and they sell the jam.... Don't miss it! Very delicious.

I highly recommend the place. It took me a while to write this review since upon returning from the trip my laptop was stolen and I forgot about doing this, but I finally sat down and did it since Micheal really deserves a positive review. I wish him the best :-)

Room Tip: Review the room descriptions on the website, and then give Michael a call - he's very helpful in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasserkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Property: Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing