We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in the mountains”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a late review as my stay here was a few years ago (just discovered the tripadvisor pp today) but this is one cute B&B that I intend to stay in again. There were 4 of us sharing a cottage for 3 days and the cottage was lean and everything seemed well cared for.
Michael was very accommodating and everything was clean and quiet.
Again, this is a simple B&B so it may not be for those who expect chocolates on their pillow but the place is clean and quaint and for the 4 of us friends who stayed for those 3 nights, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraftyGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for remembering us on TA even after a few years have gone by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    7
    10
    4
See reviews for
23
64
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed for 3 days at this delightful Cottage style Inn. Everything in our place was clean & neat & all put together very well. The bed was very very nice to sleep on! Kitchen area not cramped & well stocked. Fresh ground Coffee of a excellent variety was in a crock jar waiting for you; as was coffee filter & maker! Your stay can include a fruit breakfast or a wonderful elaborate spread to start your day. Take the bigger breakfast , it is always five star! And well worth $12!
Innkeepers are very helpful & pleasant too. It is very close to old part of Nevada City also. All in all a very good place to stay.Comfortable, quiet, clean & pleasant!

Room Tip: Cottages vary in size, ask ahead when making reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyrocket21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Well, we just arrived and are staying in the "Apple Blossom" cottage. Too damn cute! Sharron is nice and inviting and her blueberry jam is great on crackers, can't wait for biscuits in the morning. the cottage is ver nice and clean and just a super atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabberjaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I, plus my sister-in-law, stayed at Piety Hill Inn last year. It was a great experience. The area is beautiful, the cottage was clean, comfortable, and well-decorated, and the hosts (Micheal and Sharon) were amazing hosts - they really care about the guests.. You get the experience that is totally missing from going to a chain hotel.

The cottage was for two and we were three. Micheal has these "bed-and-sheets-sets" nicely packed for portability, which made a great bed for the third person, again very clean and comfortable.

I had a chance to talk to Micheal and ask about the history of the place. He bought the place many years ago and spent a lot of time rebuilding and renovating. So it's no wonder why he's so passionate about the place and making sure that his guests have the best time. He ans Sharon went out of their way to make sure we got everything we needed. My wife's camera broke on our way - she's a pro and has a big DSLR camera, and Micheal even helped us fix it.

By the way - they make jam from their own fruit there, and they sell the jam.... Don't miss it! Very delicious.

I highly recommend the place. It took me a while to write this review since upon returning from the trip my laptop was stolen and I forgot about doing this, but I finally sat down and did it since Micheal really deserves a positive review. I wish him the best :-)

Room Tip: Review the room descriptions on the website, and then give Michael a call - he's very helpful in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasserkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayward
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

What a wonderful surprise to find this inn. The individual cottage we stayed in felt so warm and comfortable. Probably could have stayed a week! Greeted kindly by one of the owners. Sitting outside in the patio, garden area after we settled in was heaven. Highly recommend the Piety Hill Inn!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I have visited Nevada City many times over the past decade. We've stayed in a number of different B&B's but have come to like the Piety Hill Inn the best. The hosts take care to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are always clean and we've never run out of hot water. The accomodations are like bunglows and your breakfast is delivered to your door. There is free Wi-Fi and television. Nevada City is a short walk away. We'll be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talbot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed here during our trip to visit family for Thanksgiving in the area on the recommendation of a family member and absolutely loved the place. It is walking distance from downtown Nevada City but is still quiet. It is setup well for convenient parking to each cottage with a gathering area in the center.

Be sure to pay for the full breakfast - it is well worth it. If you eat light in the morning, it wouldn't hurt to share a single breakfast for two.

We will be back in July for another family gathering and have already made reservations as well as enticed others to stay with us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaksplat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
383 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
144 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Property: Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing