We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel right near downtown and reasonably priced.”
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Solana Beach, California
1 review
“Cute hotel right near downtown and reasonably priced.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a nice stay in Nevada City and was able to walk downtown to get coffee in the morning. I love the area too, it's really beautiful with nice trees and traveling to Nevada City makes you feel like you are going back in time to a time when life was more simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    82
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
74
161
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A friend and I just needed a get away without getting away! This is also the first place we recommend for friends visiting from out of town. It gives you the real Nevada City experience; funky, fun, friendly and super cool. Original art and attention to detail make it extra special. If you want boring corporate hotel, this isn't for you. If you want a travel gem in the heart of a beautiful town filled with artists, musicians, chefs, and creative spirit, you will love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

WE stayed at the Outside Inn recently and loved it! We really love how close it is to downtown. The room was so clean. The Inn is in a quaint neighborhood that is safe and quiet. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeningabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while in town for a wedding. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. I really appreciated the attention to details -- like an ample supply of coffee creamers, some little chocolate bar snacks, lots of info available on local attractions and places to eat, and friendly staff. The price was also highly competitive, and it's ~ 10 min walk to shops/bars/restaurants in Nevada City. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a twin bed located in a alcove (River room, maybe more?), in addition to a queen, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyBaker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The decorations and room themes are a cheezy veneer over a cheap roadside motel with tiny, minimally-renovated bathrooms, and cheap furnishings. Rather than feeling like guests and eliminating stress, staff made us feel like we were an imposition. The back door to my room outside wouldn't lock. The front desk was closed so fearing for my safety as a lone female guest, I slept in another room that night with other family members. After telling the front desk clerk about the issue in the morning, there was no apology for our discomfort and we were "fortunate" that they would not charge me additional fees for staying in my family's cramped room. The clerk then droned on about a 72 hour cancellation policy and informed us that they would still charge full price for a room that I could not use even though the room was unsafe for a lone female guest, and they had no one in the office who could address the issue at the time. We never felt like guests; very sad to be treated this way given that our family and friends rented most of the motel that weekend. Will never stay here again. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoomGuest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutsideInnNevadaCity, Owner at Outside Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
The Outside Inn has a long history of very positive customer satisfaction, we are disappointed that we did not meet this guest’s expectations. We strive very hard to address any issues that our guests may have when and if they are brought to our attention There is someone on staff 24 hours, we are sorry that you did not contact us to help you with your fears at the time. Our guest safety is of our highest concern, the Outside Inn confirmed while the guest was here that the lock was indeed in working order. Again, we are sorry you are disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at the Outside Inn. Erin was wonderfully helpful both before and during our stay, even allowing us to borrow a vaccum cleaner to seal our vaccum seal bags for our long haul flight to Australia. This Inn is cute, clean and funky with a fantastic location within easy walking distance to downtown Nevada City. It features eco-friendly habits and each room is uniquely decorated. Ours was the Single Track Suite which features a kitchen which had everything we needed to cook a lovely meal both nights. We cannot recommend the Outside Inn highly enough. Thank you Erin and Karen for your lovely hospitality, and genuine warmth. We look forward to coming and staying again.
Mark and Amber.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusUsa0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nevada City is charming, and this little Inn was a superb and convenient overnight stay. So good, in fact, that I decided to stay an extra night and upgraded rooms. The rooms are very nicely decorated and everything worked. The service was friendly, quick, and helpful. Would easily recommend a stay here to anyone - and next time (there will be a next time) I'll take more advantage of their links to adventure and wellness offerings in the area.

On a sidenote, I needed to make a stop on my way to another destination - and chose Outside Inn because of the free WiFi and recommendations here - and the WiFi was very fast and it was easy to find the password and connect.

Room Tip: Loved all of them - and stayed in the river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evo_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
383 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
144 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
127 reviews
23.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Property: Outside Inn
Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing