We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint no frills kind of place”
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay for a birthday night away. We stayed in the Celestial Room and loved the decorations, especially the glow in the dark stars on the ceiling. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but the location of the Inn and how clean it was, was worth it. A helpful tip, make sure you make reservations at a restaurant because we unfortunately didn't and couldn't find a place to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rmo95470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've stayed at Outside Inn twice now and have enjoyed it both times. The staff is great and the renovated rooms are charming and cozy. I highly recommend visiting Nevada City and staying at the Outside Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahoe2Maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Outside Inn is a renovated motor lodge from around the 1930's and the owners have done an amazing job of renovation while maintaining the original charm. I have now stayed there 3 times (most recently in the Autumn Room)and enjoyed each stay. The rooms are characteristically small (life was overall smaller in the 1930's) but they are fitted out with everything you need (teas, coffee, mini fridge) decorated sweetly and very very clean. The grounds have been landscaped beautifully also, with brookside seating and picnic tables and chairs for outside eating or a glass of wine by the brook. There is also a laundry room. The Inn is only a block from town and makes a nice walk to and from downtown Nevada City, looking at the beautiful Victorian homes en route. This location also ensures it is very quiet. There is a pool for summer which is a great addition as it does get pretty warm in the summer months at this elevation. The only caution i would give is that these are very small accommodations so if you get a bit claustrophobic in small spaces this might not be the spot for you. Overall i would recommend the Inn to anyone looking for reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, historic lodging while visiting Nevada City.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureenCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Charm, personality, comfort...but enough about me, this hotel is great too! Jokes aside, when I brag to everyone I know about how great Nevada County is, this hotel and their blog about local attractions is always at the top of my list. You can tell when the hotel team you're working with enjoy what they do and this team is no exception. The rooms were comfy and clean, the staff had great recommendations on fun things to do and they treated us like gold. There's a reason they sell out quick, so if you're even thinking of visiting the area, it's best book your reservations now.

Room Tip: Visit the front office for their wall of trail guides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GetawayGirl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We live in Chico and try to go to Nevada City at least once a year for a weekend get away. We always stay at the Outside Inn because it is affordable, clean and a short walk to downtown. It's not fancy, but nice with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the "Single Track" room and the "Paddler's Suite" which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I were so excited to win the Nevada City Giveaway Contest sponsored by the Outside Inn! We'd always wanted to stay there, so we were really thrilled to have the opportunity. We enjoyed everything about it so much and will definitely plan on coming back to stay there again. Erin is really warm and friendly and made us feel so welcome. The location is absolutely perfect: a short walk into town ~ and yet, situated far enough away, that it is completely quiet at night. The little stream babbling away, trees all around, clean rooms, each with a different theme - and very friendly staff. Other highlights in Nevada City are Matteo's (for good food and music), Ike's Quarter Cafe (delish), South Pine Cafe (also delish), New Moon Cafe (romantic & wonderful), The Parlour (vintage clothes) and The Grey Goose (unique clothes & gifts), The Miner's Foundry for dancing & music! We are looking forward to going back so we can head over to "In the Kitchen" and do some hiking, as we ran out of weekend! If you are looking for a truly magical place to stay and to explore, you will really enjoy the Outside Inn and Nevada City, CA.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lislu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the. Outside Inn for 10 days in the Paddle room. The staff was very helpful and the room was great for the length of my stay. It was great to have the lichen & setting room. Iwould recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range: $79 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing